Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Cheap Mod: DIY AUX Input in a 2005-2008 Factory Head Unit

Reply
 
Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2012, 03:34 PM   #281
......................
Tillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shedTillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shedTillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shedTillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shedTillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shedTillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shedTillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shedTillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shedTillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shedTillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shedTillers_Rule is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Tillers_Rule's Avatar
Marines: Former Seargent
Name: Jeff
Joined: Mar 2008, #5418
Location: San Diego
Age: 38
Gender: Male
Posts: 799
Tillers_Rule's Tacoma Gallery
I picked up this adapter at Fry's for $4.99, my Galaxy S3 now works with my stereo. I didn't have to open up the stereo again and add/delete any wires, same two pin mod as the OP. Total cost of mod still under $10

  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:38 PM   #282
Benjamin Newman
Btnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBtnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBtnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBtnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBtnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBtnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBtnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBtnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBtnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBtnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBtnewman is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Btnewman's Avatar
Name: Benjamin
Joined: Apr 2011, #54950
Location: Grand Junction co
Age: 30
Gender: Guy
Posts: 2,065
Btnewman's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tillers_Rule View Post
I picked up this adapter at Fry's for $4.99, my Galaxy S3 now works with my stereo. I didn't have to open up the stereo again and add/delete any wires, same two pin mod as the OP. Total cost of mod still under $10

Cheater...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:38 PM   #283
Junior Member
Dirtbikerzap844 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2012, #93287
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Dirtbikerzap844's Tacoma Gallery
CD not working

I installed everything correctly as far as I knew. Using the original write up. Put the head unit back in. Nothing. Am and fm radio work but no cd or aux it'll just stay on the radio setting. I took it all apart double checked everything. Any tips?

Also, when won't load cd or eject. Says waiting when you try to load and says no disk when trying to eject.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:50 PM   #284
Don't give up here just yet
2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed2TRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
2TRunner's Avatar
Name: Chris
Joined: Jul 2010, #40980
Location: Around To Many People
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,996
2TRunner's Tacoma Gallery
So yeah....found this...

http://www.gromaudio.com/store/aux_a...e_adapter.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 08:27 AM   #285
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtbikerzap844 View Post
I installed everything correctly as far as I knew. Using the original write up. Put the head unit back in. Nothing. Am and fm radio work but no cd or aux it'll just stay on the radio setting. I took it all apart double checked everything. Any tips?

Also, when won't load cd or eject. Says waiting when you try to load and says no disk when trying to eject.
What cd changer do you have? 6 disk or single? There is a chance that something is jamming the mechanical portion of the head unit. That is my S.W.A.G. at the issue. You can't select a cd as an input if you don't have a cd in there and it sounds like it is not letting you load the cd because something is physically jamming it. I wish I could be more help but its been a long time since I had mine open so I can't really picture what could be wrong. You might search other threads that deal with cd jamming.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaker View Post
Yeah I have seen those before and you can actually get something similar on ebay for less than $50. Not a bad way to go. But when I did this mod I didn't want to wait for shipping or spend a lot because I was just going to replace my head unit anyway. I suspect the majority of the people who do this mod are already on the fence with replacing their head unit and they figure this is a cheap way to squeeze a little more life out of their old one. That way if they fail there is really no lose.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:02 PM   #286
Wheels With Moose.
NMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NMW 4x4's Avatar
Name: Walt
Joined: Sep 2012, #87462
Location: Presque Isle, Maine
Gender: Male
Posts: 192
NMW 4x4's Tacoma Gallery
Just completed this mod on my single disk, non-JBL. Works awesome! Thanks for the write-up.

  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:57 PM   #287
007Taco
Brian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrian007Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Brian007Taco's Avatar
Name: Don't ask!
Joined: May 2012, #78964
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Age: 31
Gender: Dude
Posts: 11,969
Brian007Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaker View Post

I am thinking of doing this. I don't want to do the soldiering method. How does it work? Do you need to take out the disks for it to work or does it take over like the soldiering method does.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:37 PM   #289
Senior Member
uscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the sheduscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the sheduscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the sheduscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the sheduscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the sheduscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the sheduscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the sheduscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the sheduscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the sheduscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the sheduscg2008 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
uscg2008's Avatar
Coast Guard: AMT3 kodiak 60T jayhawks
Name: coby
Joined: Nov 2009, #25537
Location: KODIAK, AK! originally from Huntington Beach, CA
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,675
uscg2008's Tacoma Gallery
Def going to be doing this
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 05:33 PM   #290
Junior Member
cavscout69 is on a distinguished road
Army: 3d ACR
Joined: Jan 2013, #95192
Location: ohio
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
cavscout69's Tacoma Gallery
so I finished my mod today, it took me two times because I followed both yours and sandman's (I used his usb wires and your instructions which ended up not working because of the extra wires maybe), and after the second go around it worked amazingly. The only issue I have now is, just below the indicator for 4x4 (the green light that comes on when you click over to 4x4) is a red indicator which matches the green one except it flashes. I unhooked my battery cable and am about to hook it back up thinking maybe a reset of the system will help in some way. Has anyone else come across this? I'm not sure why or how messing with the radio could somehow screw up the 4x4 but mabye someone else knows better. Would appreciate some input. Either way excellent mod and thanks for all the help!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:09 AM   #291
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavscout69 View Post
so I finished my mod today, it took me two times because I followed both yours and sandman's (I used his usb wires and your instructions which ended up not working because of the extra wires maybe), and after the second go around it worked amazingly. The only issue I have now is, just below the indicator for 4x4 (the green light that comes on when you click over to 4x4) is a red indicator which matches the green one except it flashes. I unhooked my battery cable and am about to hook it back up thinking maybe a reset of the system will help in some way. Has anyone else come across this? I'm not sure why or how messing with the radio could somehow screw up the 4x4 but mabye someone else knows better. Would appreciate some input. Either way excellent mod and thanks for all the help!
MY 4X4 light on my dash blinks until the 4X4 engages, have you tired going forward and backwards in your drive way. Other than possibly a short in the speed sensor wire I can't think of anyway the stereo could effect the 4X4 and I'm pretty sure that is a stretch, so my guess is you got something totally unrelated going on.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:04 AM   #292
Wheels With Moose.
NMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedNMW 4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NMW 4x4's Avatar
Name: Walt
Joined: Sep 2012, #87462
Location: Presque Isle, Maine
Gender: Male
Posts: 192
NMW 4x4's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavscout69 View Post
so I finished my mod today, it took me two times because I followed both yours and sandman's (I used his usb wires and your instructions which ended up not working because of the extra wires maybe), and after the second go around it worked amazingly. The only issue I have now is, just below the indicator for 4x4 (the green light that comes on when you click over to 4x4) is a red indicator which matches the green one except it flashes. I unhooked my battery cable and am about to hook it back up thinking maybe a reset of the system will help in some way. Has anyone else come across this? I'm not sure why or how messing with the radio could somehow screw up the 4x4 but mabye someone else knows better. Would appreciate some input. Either way excellent mod and thanks for all the help!
I don't have a TRD O/R, so I can't confirm, but I believe a flashing, red 4x4 indicates rear differential locker trying to engage. So, my guess would be that this is totally unrelated to your AUX mod.

Do you have a rear locker?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:06 PM   #293
Junior Member
cavscout69 is on a distinguished road
Army: 3d ACR
Joined: Jan 2013, #95192
Location: ohio
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
cavscout69's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by NMW 4x4 View Post
I don't have a TRD O/R, so I can't confirm, but I believe a flashing, red 4x4 indicates rear differential locker trying to engage. So, my guess would be that this is totally unrelated to your AUX mod.

Do you have a rear locker?
Yep that's exactly what it was lol I guess while I was in there trying to hook up some other gadgets I bumped into it. Hopefully didn't do too much damage
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 03:21 PM   #294
that non tacoma guy
OneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shedOneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shedOneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shedOneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shedOneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shedOneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shedOneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shedOneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shedOneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shedOneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shedOneJay is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
OneJay's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Aug 2009, #21728
Location: Blackhawke's big spoon
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 117
OneJay's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tillers_Rule View Post
I picked up this adapter at Fry's for $4.99, my Galaxy S3 now works with my stereo. I didn't have to open up the stereo again and add/delete any wires, same two pin mod as the OP. Total cost of mod still under $10

What is this? I'm going to be doing this mod soon, and the gf's GS3 will be used a lot. Sorry for my ignorance, but I've never really messed with audio before. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:56 PM   #295
Member
faller is on a distinguished road
 
faller's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2011, #52403
Location: Vancouver Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 35
faller's Tacoma Gallery
Just did the mod today. It was scary delving that deep into tiny fragile electronics, but it worked like a charm. I did the mod as per the O.P. directions and it sounds and works great. Right now I have a long male 3.5mm jack coming out near the cigarette lighter. Tomorrow when I am back home (with access to my own tools) I'm going to put a female jack where 1mrwatermaker put it.

Mods like this are why I love this site. This $6 mod makes my stereo function how I want it to. Otherwise I would be stuck using cds, an fm broadcaster for my MP3 player or purchasing a non integrated unit. Same goes for the thread on soldering the overhead display. Can't believe Toyota charges hundreds to fix that and it only takes half an hour and $0.001 in solder.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:08 PM   #296
Junior Member
lohrryan is on a distinguished road
 
lohrryan's Avatar
Army: Ch-47 chinnok flight crew member
Name: patrick
Joined: Apr 2012, #76930
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 15
lohrryan's Tacoma Gallery
i did this mod and when i put it back together the radio works perfectly i can put in a cd and eject it but it wont read a cd i tryed several of them it makes noise as if its trying to load but gives a error 3 any suggestions
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:18 PM   #297
scrub
terranova is on a distinguished road
Joined: Sep 2012, #86692
Location: Dallas, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 24
terranova's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by lohrryan View Post
i did this mod and when i put it back together the radio works perfectly i can put in a cd and eject it but it wont read a cd i tryed several of them it makes noise as if its trying to load but gives a error 3 any suggestions
Perhaps forget to plug in the data cable?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 04:53 AM   #298
Junior Member
lohrryan is on a distinguished road
 
lohrryan's Avatar
Army: Ch-47 chinnok flight crew member
Name: patrick
Joined: Apr 2012, #76930
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 15
lohrryan's Tacoma Gallery
Ok which connection is that and I will just double check them all
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:42 AM   #299
scrub
terranova is on a distinguished road
Joined: Sep 2012, #86692
Location: Dallas, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 24
terranova's Tacoma Gallery
It was a little ribbon cable. I missed it the first time I put my radio back together but remembered before I stuck it in the truck.

So I'm not familiar with how it would react if it's disconnected. I'm just hoping that it's that for you and not actually screwed up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 04:19 PM   #300
Junior Member
lohrryan is on a distinguished road
 
lohrryan's Avatar
Army: Ch-47 chinnok flight crew member
Name: patrick
Joined: Apr 2012, #76930
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 15
lohrryan's Tacoma Gallery
i know i but both of them back in on both sides of them when i put it together but they might have come out after that i will check and see
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Products Discussed in this Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring the aux input into an aftermarket head unit comatosed Audio & Video 12 03-09-2012 08:30 PM
Factory aux port used with an aftermarket head unit chaos316 Audio & Video 2 10-19-2011 01:33 AM
FS: Stock Head Unit 6-disc mp3 non-jbl w/aux input from '09 Amos Buy / Sell / Trade 6 06-22-2011 08:20 AM
Stock Head unit Direct Aux Input??? kyle39 1st Gen. Tacomas 3 10-01-2010 04:05 PM
WTB: Factory Head Unit with AUX IN taconinja Buy / Sell / Trade 0 02-01-2010 08:45 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.