Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Cheap Mod: DIY AUX Input in a 2005-2008 Factory Head Unit

Reply
 
Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2011, 12:24 PM   #21
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Nice pictures! Thanks for posting a lot of them too. What size drill did you use to make the hole for the input jack?

The mod was not that bad though was it? Even if you have never soldered before I don't think you would have too much trouble with it. I m just wondering if a lot of people reading this are intimidated by it because some of the pictures make it look a little advance/technical for the average joe.

Edit:
Quote:
Here are the RCH and LCH points, they are labeled on the "floating" part of the CD drive. I didn't want to solder the wires here so I followed them over the ribbon cable.
That looks like a better place to solder it too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:41 PM   #22
LRGRNR
Sandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Sandman614's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2010, #45273
Location: Boone, NC\Cary, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,699
Sandman614's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbconvert View Post
Nice pictures! Thanks for posting a lot of them too. What size drill did you use to make the hole for the input jack?

The mod was not that bad though was it? Even if you have never soldered before I don't think you would have too much trouble with it. I m just wondering if a lot of people reading this are intimidated by it because some of the pictures make it look a little advance/technical for the average joe.

Edit:

That looks like a better place to solder it too.

The drill bit was 1/4". The hardest part is remembering where the screws go, which on mine they were mostly the same screws. Either that or reading the silk screening on the boards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 04:09 PM   #23
Member
Packguy2 is on a distinguished road
Name: Mike
Joined: Oct 2009, #24501
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Packguy2's Tacoma Gallery
Has anyone else done this mod? I'd like to do it but I'm curious if it holds up long term and if there are any problems like shorting out, etc..
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 04:34 PM   #24
LRGRNR
Sandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Sandman614's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2010, #45273
Location: Boone, NC\Cary, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,699
Sandman614's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Packguy2 View Post
Has anyone else done this mod? I'd like to do it but I'm curious if it holds up long term and if there are any problems like shorting out, etc..
Shorting out, if your referring to the two audio sources being on the same line, is very slim. Audio signals are very low voltage.

The only risk of shorting is if you use gobs of solder or don't solder a wire well enough.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 08:58 AM   #25
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
As long as you are not completely negligent, you really can't go
wrong. You are only soldering two wires so it is unlikely that you can
over heat the board. Further more, you are not soldering a chip, or
anything similar, that could be sensitive to heat. I found this short
video on youtube that has some really good clips of how soldering works.
It talks about good technique and how to apply the heat, etc too. Don't
get caught up on all the hardware he goes over though. For example I use a
really cheap, single size tip, pin soldering iron which I purchased
from harbor freight for less than $5. Sandpaper works for
cleaning the tip and some small standard flux core solder wire works
great too. I hope this helps...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_NU2ruzyc4?version=3
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 12:19 PM   #26
Member
Packguy2 is on a distinguished road
Name: Mike
Joined: Oct 2009, #24501
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Packguy2's Tacoma Gallery
I have leftover wire from a set of foglights I bought. I don't know what gauge the wire is but does it need to be as thick as what's shown in the OP's post? Is there a minimum gauge to use?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 10:01 AM   #27
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Your fog light wires are going to be over kill. If you are looking for scrap wire I might suggest an old set of headphones.

You could also use an aux cable like this:



You will need one of these to plug in your device anyways, just buy two. Then cut off the ends of one cable and all your wires (left, right and ground) are there enclosed in one clean looking cable.

You could also just cut one end off and rout the other end (unmodified) to your glove box (or where ever). This would eliminate the need for a input jack mount all together. Instead of a female end that you mount to your dash or whatever you just have the male end routed to your glove box or center console and then plug your MP3 device directly to that.

Let me know if any bit of this is confusing you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:03 AM   #28
Member
Packguy2 is on a distinguished road
Name: Mike
Joined: Oct 2009, #24501
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Packguy2's Tacoma Gallery
I have an aux cable like that and I think I'll go the route of cutting one end off. I'm assuming the three wires inside are individually coated in their own rubber housing?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:20 AM   #29
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
T@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
T@co_Pr3runn3r's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12767
Location: <----------------->
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,737
T@co_Pr3runn3r's Tacoma Gallery
Cool stuff here........
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 10:10 AM   #31
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
I have an aux cable like that and I think I'll go the route of cutting one end off. I'm assuming the three wires inside are individually coated in their own rubber housing?
The left and right are, typically the ground is bare wire and is some times wrapped around the other individually insulated wires. If you go the rout of only cutting one end make sure to get some pictures of that as well and post them here.

I am considering re-doing mine by putting a female input on the back of the head unit. Then cutting one end of a aux cable off and wiring a second female input to that end (which will mount where I currently have it in the stock 09 dash I have). Then I will plug the end of the aux cable that I did not cut into the female input on the back of the head unit. The reason for this is so when I remove the head unit for whatever reason I can just unplug the aux cable from the back.

Quote:
I wanted to do this since I got my Tacoma! Thank you to both of you that have write ups here!!!
I know what you mean, it bugged the hell out of me that they didn't have a aux input in these stock head units.

My only hope now is that this mod will get enough attention that someone smarter than I will be inspired to figure out how to select the CD source without a CD in the player. It seams like a simple short would do it, but it would be a little western even for me to just start guessing on where I need to make that short... The only reason I was successful with this mod is because the circuit board clearly labels the left and right channel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 03:13 PM   #32
Have a coke and a smile and shut the f#%k up!
hogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shedhogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shedhogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shedhogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shedhogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shedhogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shedhogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shedhogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shedhogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shedhogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shedhogeyphenogey is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
hogeyphenogey's Avatar
Name: Dave
Joined: Jan 2008, #4318
Location: Chicopee, MA
Age: 41
Gender: Guy
Posts: 551
hogeyphenogey's Tacoma Gallery
If you strip down an aux cable, how will you know left from right to solder properly?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 04:04 PM   #33
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Check out this diagram from this wiki page here.



My only suggestion is to stick your ohmmeter and test which end corresponds to the diagram above.

Or you could just guess... as long as you are not playing some first person shooter where 3D sound is actually important it really doesn't matter IMO. But I am not a stereo buff so I might get flamed for that comment.

Here is how I see it: if the left and right channel was reversed you will still be able to balance your speakers from the head unit since that wiring is not reversed. The audio coming out of the aux left and right is basically the same. Some song have different audio coming from left or right but like I said before, unless you are watching a movie or something where left or right audio channels actually correspond to something happening on the left or right respectively, there really is no reason to care.

Someone please correct me if I am wrong, but chances are if you are watching a movie in your truck you already have an after market head unit with an aux input. Unless you are like me and you watch netflix on your iphone in your truck while your wife is driving .
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 04:59 PM   #34
Member
Packguy2 is on a distinguished road
Name: Mike
Joined: Oct 2009, #24501
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Packguy2's Tacoma Gallery
made the cut. one white, one red, and one exposed
Attached Thumbnails
Cheap Mod: DIY AUX Input in a 2005-2008 Factory Head Unit-photo.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:11 PM   #35
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
do you have an ohmmeter? can you do a continuity test with your ohmmeter. just match the open end of the cable with the diagram I posted above.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 04:53 AM   #36
Member
Packguy2 is on a distinguished road
Name: Mike
Joined: Oct 2009, #24501
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Packguy2's Tacoma Gallery
Don't have one. My neighbor is an electrician so I'm going to see if he can help me out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 03:03 PM   #37
Senior Member
ST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shedST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shedST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shedST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shedST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shedST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shedST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shedST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shedST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shedST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shedST3VE is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ST3VE's Avatar
Name: Steve
Joined: Jun 2011, #58595
Location: Bel Air, MD
Gender: Dude
Posts: 2,254
ST3VE's Tacoma Gallery
After this mod how do you turn it on? Does the head unit think it is playing a cd? And if it does think it is a cd do you still have the use of a cd?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 03:43 PM   #38
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Yes and yes. You select the aux output by selecting the CD player as the source. It works like this.

Normal Mode:
  • CD is in the player, user selects disc as audio source
  • AUX cable is unplugged
Result 1:
  • Head unit plays CD like normal
AUX Mod:
  • CD is in the player, user selects disc as audio source
  • Aux cable is plugged in
Result 2:
  • The head unit will appear as though it is playing the CD but you will not hear the CD you will only hear what is playing from the aux input.
Basically the instant you plug into the aux input and send an audio signal down the aux cable it switches the output audio from the CD to the aux input simple as that... If a CD is already playing and disc is selected as the source then there is no need to push any button on the head unit simply plug into the aux input and enjoy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 12:38 PM   #40
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
That would be interesting because who uses FM2? But I still think the disc source is the way to go. Look at a 09+ head unit. Aux and disc are the same button. I know there has to be a simple way to mod the head unit so you can activate the disc button with out a disc inside the player. I will definitely look into it but I need to free up some time first. I have plenty on my plate as it is now. Eventually I would like to do some more experimenting. But for now this mod is just what I need, a cheap effective alternative.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Products Discussed in this Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring the aux input into an aftermarket head unit comatosed Audio & Video 12 03-09-2012 08:30 PM
Factory aux port used with an aftermarket head unit chaos316 Audio & Video 2 10-19-2011 01:33 AM
FS: Stock Head Unit 6-disc mp3 non-jbl w/aux input from '09 Amos Buy / Sell / Trade 6 06-22-2011 08:20 AM
Stock Head unit Direct Aux Input??? kyle39 1st Gen. Tacomas 3 10-01-2010 04:05 PM
WTB: Factory Head Unit with AUX IN taconinja Buy / Sell / Trade 0 02-01-2010 08:45 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.