Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Cheap Mod: DIY AUX Input in a 2005-2008 Factory Head Unit

Reply
 
Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2011, 08:23 PM   #101
Member
yamabiker is on a distinguished road
 
yamabiker's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2009, #15616
Location: Utah
Gender: Male
Posts: 46
yamabiker's Tacoma Gallery
OK, a little slow I am. I went back through all of the pictures and my non JBL 6-disc CD is the same as the JBL 6-disc CD. I focused on the non JBL single disc and had the blinders on to the 6-disc. So FB, you did solder to the smaller points on the CD board. There is more separation between these two then those on the stereo circuit board. I am going to practice soldering a bit before I make the attempt.

Yamabiker
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 08:26 PM   #102
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
personally I wouldn't make that bet. It looks like on sandman's points the first wire in the ribbon cable is the RCH and the 3rd is the LCH. Double check that with yours. It makes sense that they are the same but I wouldn't just assume.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 11:00 PM   #103
Member
yamabiker is on a distinguished road
 
yamabiker's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2009, #15616
Location: Utah
Gender: Male
Posts: 46
yamabiker's Tacoma Gallery
It worked! I was a bit unsure until I plugged it in. Hope my solder joints with stand the test of time. Thanks for all the help FB.

First image, wires soldered onto board.



Showing with the black wire how I bent the solid wire end to solder it onto the circuit board. I used 22 gauge wire.


The finished aux input.







Yamabiker
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 12:56 PM   #104
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
I like the aux jack location. It is very similar to this one on ebay. Only the guy is selling it for $385...? I would be shocked if he ever sells one for that price... I know he offers the service for $50 bucks if you want to send him your head unit.

Anyways, I read his description on the one for sale on ebay it sounds like he modified his aux jack to play from the radio input and not the CD. This would eliminate the need for a CD to be in the head unit.

As soon as I get my new 2009+ head unit I will experiment with my old one to see if I can't find out how to tap into the radio channels.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 04:49 PM   #105
Senior Member
dan0 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddan0 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddan0 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddan0 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddan0 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddan0 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddan0 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddan0 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddan0 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddan0 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddan0 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Mar 2011, #52533
Location: swamplands of sc
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,364
dan0's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamabiker View Post
It worked!
First image, wires soldered onto board.

thats an awful lot of exposed bare wire
might want to cover it with something or redo them
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 05:01 PM   #106
wes mantooth ™
Joben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shedJoben7726 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Firefighter: I Babysit Adults
Name: Joben
Joined: Oct 2010, #45285
Location: Western PA/Va Beach
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,381
Joben7726's Tacoma Gallery
Great write up!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 08:43 AM   #107
Senior Member
poynter is a splendid one to beholdpoynter is a splendid one to beholdpoynter is a splendid one to beholdpoynter is a splendid one to beholdpoynter is a splendid one to beholdpoynter is a splendid one to beholdpoynter is a splendid one to behold
 
poynter's Avatar
Name: Tony
Joined: Jan 2011, #49454
Location: Somerset, KY
Gender: Male
Posts: 205
poynter's Tacoma Gallery
Finished this last night. This isnt hard at all and its only the 3rd or 4th time soldering something like this for me.
My volume goes down a bit when I switch to the aux from the CD that was playing. Not a big deal till you forget that its cranked up and switch back.
I may burn a blank CD just to keep that from happening.
thanks again!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 12:42 PM   #108
Senior Member
gottahot1 has a spectacular aura aboutgottahot1 has a spectacular aura about
Name: T.D.
Joined: Dec 2010, #47629
Location: Arizona
Gender: Male
Posts: 162
gottahot1's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbconvert View Post
... it sounds like he modified his aux jack to play from the radio input and not the CD. This would eliminate the need for a CD to be in the head unit.

As soon as I get my new 2009+ head unit I will experiment with my old one to see if I can't find out how to tap into the radio channels.

I bought the input jack (be careful, the Redio Shack guy tried to give me a mono input jack. Turd.) and some solder and can't wait to do this mod, but I'm waiting for updates regarding tapping into a source other than the CD.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 04:32 PM   #109
Junior Member
possom is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2011, #60717
Location: Houston, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
possom's Tacoma Gallery
Did the mod, it "Works" but i can still hear scratchy CD music in the background. Not really enjoyable.

Any suggestions? I had a hell of a time soldering to the board, maybe my connections aren't great there. Also used pretty thin solid wire.

I may try a blank CD.

Update: Burned a silent CD and all is good. This will do!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 06:49 PM   #110
LRGRNR
Sandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Sandman614's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2010, #45273
Location: Boone, NC\Cary, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 7,019
Sandman614's Tacoma Gallery
It's eating at me, that little bit of static between songs.. I might pull mine out tomorrow and see what I can do about changing the ground...

I'm thinking I'll move it off the cd player.


Please pardon any spelling mistakes or non-sensical BS. This message is sponsored by my iPod touch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 01:00 AM   #111
Junior Member
possom is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2011, #60717
Location: Houston, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
possom's Tacoma Gallery
You can download various lengths of silent tracks at the URL below. Use the longer tracks and you can minimize the time between songs(if i understand your comment). I'm very pleased now using a silent CD.

http://duramecho.com/Misc/SilentCd/index.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 04:58 PM   #112
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
I bought the input jack (be careful, the Redio Shack guy tried to give me a mono input jack. Turd.) and some solder and can't wait to do this mod, but I'm waiting for updates regarding tapping into a source other than the CD.
I just got my new 2009 JBL Head Unit in so I will gladly sacrifice my old one to find out how to tap into the radio input. I might need some time though, I am still trying to get the bluetooth components, i.e steering wheel controls and microphone, hooked into my new head unit. Once I figure that out I will get to work on probing around for a solution.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 12:33 AM   #113
Junior Member
maui_con3 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2008, #11826
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
maui_con3's Tacoma Gallery
Was it hard to get access and remove the aux input blank. I wanted to add a switch to the blank in the middle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 09:07 PM   #114
Senior Member
gottahot1 has a spectacular aura aboutgottahot1 has a spectacular aura about
Name: T.D.
Joined: Dec 2010, #47629
Location: Arizona
Gender: Male
Posts: 162
gottahot1's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbconvert View Post
...I am still trying to get the bluetooth components, i.e steering wheel controls and microphone, hooked into my new head unit. Once I figure that out I will get to work on probing around for a solution.
I don't know what you had in mind, but tacotunes.com has a module that takes your stock steering wheel controls and makes them useful in an aftermarket head unit. I wouldn't think you'd need anything like that if you're using another stock unit. Are the 09+ that different?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 10:26 PM   #115
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
I don't know what you had in mind, but tacotunes.com has a module that takes your stock steering wheel controls and makes them useful in an aftermarket head unit. I wouldn't think you'd need anything like that if you're using another stock unit. Are the 09+ that different?
The 09+ JBL units have Bluetooth in them. It is a totally separate project that I am working on. My truck only has the left hand side steering wheel controls and not the right hand side which controls the bluetooth. I thought if I made my own switches for the right hand side and wired in the mic it would be no problem but it is not turning out that way. I put up a few post on my build page if you are interested. It is not really going as planned though, so I think I am going to give it a rest and see if I can't find a way to tap into the radio input on my old stereo. Hopefully I can make that a quick win to motivate me into getting this bluetooth thing to work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:21 PM   #116
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Well I didn't figure it out but I got close. Check out this Link. I followed this guys direction but I could not find the audio processing chip in my JBL HU. I checked what I thought was every chip on the board with no luck. Seriously check out the link, it makes perfect sense I just need to find the audio processing chip.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 10:45 AM   #117
Senior Member
gottahot1 has a spectacular aura aboutgottahot1 has a spectacular aura about
Name: T.D.
Joined: Dec 2010, #47629
Location: Arizona
Gender: Male
Posts: 162
gottahot1's Tacoma Gallery
^^^^^^^^

I read the article and it sounds like the same possible issues we're facing with the hijack of the CD input; static or bleedthrough from the hijacked audio source. To me, it doesn't sound any better than the method you originally proposed. The only difference is that no CD is required with the stereo hijack.

I'm torn, I might just burn a silent CD and go with the original mod you posted. It seems that it's the method with the least likelihood for sound interference. One of my main concerns is that I'll get good clean sound from my mp3 player. Otherwise, it's not worth it to me - I'd rather get the GromAudio unit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 11:17 AM   #118
fbconvert [OP] fbconvert is offline
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
I guess I am little more optimistic. I have never heard any sound bleed through from the CD. I have my iPhone's volume almost maxed out and my HU volume usually around the 35 or 45. Each chip is different though so I am hoping to have the same/similar outcome when I find the chip on the radio.

But just having a blank cd sounds like the best option for anyone that is concerned. Especially if you have the 6 disc. I just want to figure this one out since I am not using the head unit anyways and if it does work with out over lapping the two sound sources then I think it would be a better option.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 01:44 PM   #119
Senior Member
gottahot1 has a spectacular aura aboutgottahot1 has a spectacular aura about
Name: T.D.
Joined: Dec 2010, #47629
Location: Arizona
Gender: Male
Posts: 162
gottahot1's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbconvert View Post
... I have my iPhone's volume almost maxed out and my HU volume usually around the 35 or 45.
HOLY CRAP! If mine gets up to 30 I think it's getting loud. I usually try to keep it around 20-25.


Quote:
Originally Posted by fbconvert View Post
... if it does work with out over lapping the two sound sources then I think it would be a better option.
Totally agreed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 01:57 PM   #120
Junior Member
possom is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2011, #60717
Location: Houston, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
possom's Tacoma Gallery
Today i noticed (not sure if new or just noticing) that with my ipod plugged into my usb charger in the car, there is some static. If I unplug it from the power it goes away. Anyone else have this issue and a fix? I assume bad ground maybe? Silent CD still working like a boss.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Products Discussed in this Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring the aux input into an aftermarket head unit comatosed Audio & Video 12 03-09-2012 09:30 PM
Factory aux port used with an aftermarket head unit chaos316 Audio & Video 2 10-19-2011 02:33 AM
FS: Stock Head Unit 6-disc mp3 non-jbl w/aux input from '09 Amos Buy / Sell / Trade 6 06-22-2011 09:20 AM
Stock Head unit Direct Aux Input??? kyle39 1st Gen. Tacomas 3 10-01-2010 05:05 PM
WTB: Factory Head Unit with AUX IN taconinja Buy / Sell / Trade 0 02-01-2010 09:45 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.