Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Do the 09+ JBLs fail like the regular?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-29-2011, 03:02 PM   #1
jspadaro [OP] jspadaro is offline
Senior Member
jspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Jim
Joined: Jan 2009, #12342
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,981
jspadaro's Tacoma Gallery
Do the 09+ JBLs fail like the regular?

I'm on my second radio in my 09 (toyota replaced the first one) and it's starting to fail again, randomly turning on and off. Anyone know if this problem persists in the JBL versions? I don't really want a new radio, I just want my current one to work!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 04:03 PM   #2
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
How did the other one fail? maybe its not the head unit but a wiring problem in the truck... I have heard of a poping sound that was cause by the new amplifier that was installed after the 09+ audio redesign. Toyota would replace the amplifier if the truck was still under warranty.

I just installed one in my truck as an upgrade to my 05 HU and it works great. I had to take mine in and out a lot while I was trying to figure out how the bluetooth system worked and one time I unplugged the back connector that contains all the steering wheel control wires while the radio was turned on . After I plugged it back in I had a momentary freak out because none of the buttons on the front face worked even after turning the car on and off . I then disconnected my battery terminal and waited a min or two before reconnecting it. Everything was fine and has been fine ever since .
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 04:11 PM   #4
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,295
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Mine works fine but I don't use it. You can't use a JBL unit in a non JBL truck anyway.

Look at Grom Audio for a better AUX input interface.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 07:09 AM   #5
jspadaro [OP] jspadaro is offline
Senior Member
jspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Jim
Joined: Jan 2009, #12342
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,981
jspadaro's Tacoma Gallery
I'm talking about the issue with 2009 radios, where they randomly turn on and off, like I said.

You can't install a JBL radio in a non-JBL truck? That's not what every post I've read on the subject says?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 08:05 AM   #6
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,295
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspadaro View Post
I'm talking about the issue with 2009 radios, where they randomly turn on and off, like I said.

You can't install a JBL radio in a non-JBL truck? That's not what every post I've read on the subject says?
If you have warranty take it in.

No you can't use a JBL unit in a non JBL truck or vice versa. The JBL trucks use a separate amp to power the speakers therefore the headunit has no built in amp.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 09:18 AM   #7
jspadaro [OP] jspadaro is offline
Senior Member
jspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Jim
Joined: Jan 2009, #12342
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,981
jspadaro's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by whippersnapper02 View Post
If you have warranty take it in.

No you can't use a JBL unit in a non JBL truck or vice versa. The JBL trucks use a separate amp to power the speakers therefore the headunit has no built in amp.
Ahhh, i see. Hmm. Could I put an aftermarket amp inline?

In any case, the thing is that I'm already on my second radio. I may just deal with it, it only turns on and off when its very hot outside and I don't turn the AC on. Still annoying.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 09:50 AM   #8
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,295
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspadaro View Post
Ahhh, i see. Hmm. Could I put an aftermarket amp inline?

In any case, the thing is that I'm already on my second radio. I may just deal with it, it only turns on and off when its very hot outside and I don't turn the AC on. Still annoying.
Well as far as I know the signal from the stereo to the amp is digital. I'm sure there is a way but probably not worth it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 09:55 AM   #9
jspadaro [OP] jspadaro is offline
Senior Member
jspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Jim
Joined: Jan 2009, #12342
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,981
jspadaro's Tacoma Gallery
lame. I wish toyota could have simply put in radios that didn't suck ass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 09:57 AM   #10
jspadaro [OP] jspadaro is offline
Senior Member
jspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Jim
Joined: Jan 2009, #12342
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,981
jspadaro's Tacoma Gallery
Btw, whippersnapper, gotta give you credit - the thread I was reading about installing a JBl head unit in an 05 taco was for 05 jbl tacos. You're right about the amp problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:04 AM   #11
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,295
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Even mine has a few issues. The sub enclosure rattles at times and the bluetooth ringer doesn't work. I know I have a call coming in because the music stops playing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:06 AM   #12
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
T@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
T@co_Pr3runn3r's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12767
Location: <----------------->
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,625
T@co_Pr3runn3r's Tacoma Gallery
Can't you just get an earlier version of the same one you that your truck came with that wasn't having those issues? Never saw much about hu issues until the 09s. Get an 05-08?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:07 AM   #13
jspadaro [OP] jspadaro is offline
Senior Member
jspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Jim
Joined: Jan 2009, #12342
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,981
jspadaro's Tacoma Gallery
I'd lose playing MP3 CDs, right? And presumably aux in. I may just deal with it, it's not nearly as bad as the first radio in it was.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 02:47 PM   #14
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspadaro View Post
I'd lose playing MP3 CDs, right? And presumably aux in. I may just deal with it, it's not nearly as bad as the first radio in it was.
Yep you would lose both.

I would check your connection in the back. If both radio are having a power problem when its hot or you turn on the AC that to me sounds like a short of some kind. You could check the connector housing and look for any place that the wire insulation might have been worn through. The problem may not be in your head unit.

Also in regards to your question about installing a JBL system, you would need the factory amplifier and a new harness not to mention the subwoffer. It could be done but a aftermarket system would be much easier. Unless you were able to pick up a JBL system for dirt cheap I probably wouldn't even consider it. But just so you know TW member Billyjoe has supposedly made a harness so you could install a JBL System in a Non factory JBL Tacoma. You could PM him for more information. I am just waiting to see a write on someone who has done it successfully.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 02:54 PM   #15
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,295
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbconvert View Post
Yep you would lose both.

I would check your connection in the back. If both radio are having a power problem when its hot or you turn on the AC that to me sounds like a short of some kind. You could check the connector housing and look for any place that the wire insulation might have been worn through. The problem may not be in your head unit.

Also in regards to your question about installing a JBL system, you would need the factory amplifier and a new harness not to mention the subwoffer. It could be done but a aftermarket system would be much easier. Unless you were able to pick up a JBL system for dirt cheap I probably wouldn't even consider it. But just so you know TW member Billyjoe has supposedly made a harness so you could install a JBL System in a Non factory JBL Tacoma. You could PM him for more information. I am just waiting to see a write on someone who has done it successfully.

He has an AC so no room for the sub behind the seats.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 03:01 PM   #16
jspadaro [OP] jspadaro is offline
Senior Member
jspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shedjspadaro is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Jim
Joined: Jan 2009, #12342
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,981
jspadaro's Tacoma Gallery
Well this all doesn't matter if I can't get the JBL installed my question is moot.

The on/off problem is a known problem on 09 radios. Please stop trying to diagnose it.

Thanks for the help guys.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
regular (05-09) VS LED (09+) taillamp question TacomaPrime 2nd Gen. Tacomas 19 10-12-2011 11:21 AM
WTT: 09+ regular headlights +$80 for my 09 smoked headlights blackhawke88 2nd Gen Tacoma Marketplace 12 04-22-2011 11:44 AM
09 Regular Cab Bench Swap paranoidandroid 2nd Gen. Tacomas 8 01-20-2010 09:00 PM
'09 regular cab - would JBL make a difference? ab-76 Audio & Video 21 10-05-2009 11:09 AM
Outfitting a 09 Regular Cab rigamarole 2nd Gen. Tacomas 5 08-05-2009 06:13 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.