Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Need help.. volume fades in and out with new HU

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2011, 11:42 PM   #21
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 8,218
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
Most head units have fuses on the back.....as well as the fuse from your fuse box inside the truck.

you check it?

Also, you said you checked all the wires, did you check ground? Unless you have a megger, you can't really get a solid continuity check. I would still replace the fuse and try again. You also need to verify there isn't something wrong with your remote wire. (+REM). Even if you can't turn on the radio, you can usually push a button to bring on the clock, verifying you have juice.

I can walk you through some troubleshooting if you want. I'll PM my number, shoot me a text tommorow. I find it REALLY hard to believe you fried your deck, especially if its fused like it should be.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 07:31 AM   #22
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is offline
"I'd Rather Live, Than Live Forever"
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 10,570
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
For the PM. Thanks man. It isn't fried after all. Lol I hooked it uo to the truck battey to see If It woukd even turn on.. It does. so it has to be a bad wire somewhere.. either power, REM, or ground. Which doesnt make sense. I hooked it all up to the wires like the instructions said. The ONLY thing I can think of is when I hooked up the headunit, Metra harness, and steering wheel control, it messed up the wiring somehow. I had three powers connected together, and four grounds. The fourth ground was from the trucks steering wheel control's. All the fuses check out. The h/u, the one under the dash, and the two under the hood. The one under the dash was blown, but i replaced It and It still doesnt work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 09:10 AM   #23
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 8,218
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
Replace the other fuses too, unless you metered them? They can blow and not be obvious. Either way, its clear that you shorted something out, so I would make it my mission to figure out what caused the short, or might still be. Otherwise you will be replacing fuses all day. Crossed speaker wires can do it to.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 09:35 AM   #24
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is offline
"I'd Rather Live, Than Live Forever"
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 10,570
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
I'm sure I crossed something. Maybe all the grounds and power wires overloaded sonething. I'll have to go through all fuses again. They all check out tho, so i have no Idea.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 02:21 PM   #25
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 8,218
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moose1988 View Post
I'm sure I crossed something. Maybe all the grounds and power wires overloaded sonething. I'll have to go through all fuses again. They all check out tho, so i have no Idea.
Offer still stands. TXT me if you need help. Go to your wiring harness and start touching each wire to with a meter ground. Make sure that everything makes sense. IIRC, there is no speaker wires in the JBL system up front. Only two signal wires. There is only 4 wires of concern if I remember.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 02:35 PM   #26
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is offline
"I'd Rather Live, Than Live Forever"
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 10,570
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
Oh I will man. Lol. Still at work tho. I checked all the wires up to the headunit with a meter and they are all good. I can plug the stock stereo in and it works too. So confused! Lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:48 AM   #27
Junior Member
Wildthing is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #101444
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Wildthing's Tacoma Gallery
I am having the same issue with my pioneer avh 8500... The sound fades in and out. Curious if you ever found anything or fixed your unit?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:53 AM   #28
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is offline
"I'd Rather Live, Than Live Forever"
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 10,570
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
Damn. Its been so long I actually dont remember. I THINK it was due to my jbl amp, and after removing that everything worked fine. Of you don't have the jbl system, check all your connections. Make sure you have solid power and ground.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 07:00 AM   #29
Junior Member
Wildthing is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #101444
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Wildthing's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks... I do have the JBL system. Driving along, sound just kinda fades in and out. Gonna go through wiring today.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 07:05 AM   #30
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is offline
"I'd Rather Live, Than Live Forever"
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 10,570
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
It HAS to be one of these 2 things. I just ready through this entire thread again, and I somewhat remember. I ditched the metra harness, and the jbl amp, wired the door speakers directly from the HU back to where the jbl harness was that plugged into the amp, cut and spliced into that with the speaker wire, basically just running the doors straight from the HU using new speaker wire and tying it into the trucks stock speaker wiring. Good this helps. I know its one or both of these as I don't have the issue anymore.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 07:21 AM   #31
Junior Member
Wildthing is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #101444
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Wildthing's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks Moose...
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: 2011 Silverado HU and 08 WRX/impreaza HU wrxRome Buy / Sell / Trade - Other 4 11-22-2011 01:46 PM
Need Sirius volume help! KevinH Audio & Video 3 06-25-2010 07:48 AM
radio volume ?? CtYankee 2nd Gen. Tacomas 12 01-21-2010 05:21 PM
How do I turn up my volume up??? rzimm001 Audio & Video 5 10-14-2009 02:03 PM
Volume. SR5TaComa24 Audio & Video 6 10-26-2007 11:55 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.