Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Need help.. volume fades in and out with new HU

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2011, 10:10 PM   #1
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is online now
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,041
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
Exclamation Need help.. volume fades in and out with new HU

Hey guys,

So I finally got to upgrading my stereo in my 09 DC with JBL system. Itsmy first stereo build/install. I built an amp rack and mounted the JBL amp and my 400w amp to it, then mounted my 10" sub in a truck box to that and put it behind the back 60 part of the seat. it fits perfectly and is solid. covered it all with black carpeting and trimmed the black plastic to fit around it. almost looks OEM. I then installed my Pioneer avh P4300 using the Metra JBL harness that allows me to use the jbl amp to power the speakers. it all works fine EXCEPT the volume fades in and out randomly. its not to the point of on and off, but more like a loose connection or bad wiring. I cant duplicate the problem though. it happens on its own. volume level doesnt matter, source doesnt matter. the only thing i can think of is either the Metra harness is bad or just not good to begin with, or the JBL amp isnt stable enough to power the new headunit. I double checked all my connections today. I cant figure it out. any help is greatly appreciated. hopefully i explained the problem well enough to get an idea.

Moose
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:12 PM   #2
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,288
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
I have heard of people having issues with the JBL harnesses. Try turning ASL off.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:15 PM   #3
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is online now
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,041
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
dude, was just gonna PM you.. lol how do you find my posts. haha.. its not the ASL. my new HU doesnt have that. and even if it was, it happens when im just sitting still. its a fade in/out like theres a bad connection. like the speakers arent getting all the power they need or something.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:20 PM   #4
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,288
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
I know some JBL interfaces require that you set the unit a mid volume before hooking up the interface. Try doing that or mess with the audio level control.

AUDIO LEVEL CONTROL
When using the TYTO-01 with radios that have a really high pre-out voltage or a
really low pre-out voltage, some adjustments may be needed.
To do these follow these steps:
1. Find the potentiometer at the 12 pin harness end of the TYTO-01 interface.
2. With the radio at a moderate volume, use a small screwdriver and turn the
potentiometer clockwise to raise the input signal or counterclockwise to lower
the input signal.

http://metraonline.com/files/products/INSTTYTO-01.pdf
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:25 PM   #5
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is online now
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,041
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
did that already. i actually had major issues when i first installed it. sounded liked crap and was distorted. realized i needed to adjust that potentiometer and solved the issue. sounds good besides the fading in and out. the only thing i can think of is either the harness is crap or the JBL amp is crap. im thinking the JBL amp cant handle the volts of the HU or something. im gonna have a shop check it tomorrow.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:27 PM   #6
Vivid Illumination
memario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
memario1214's Avatar
Name: Colton
Joined: Oct 2009, #23628
Location: MT recently relocated to Willmar, MN
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 12,919
memario1214's Tacoma Gallery
Mine does the same thing. On certain songs, the sound will attempt to fade in and or out and instead will cut. It's really ridiculous, yet I am hoping that when I finally get around to upgrading my sound that this issue will be solved. I have a feeling that the stock amp is to blame for some reason.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:34 PM   #7
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is online now
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,041
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
im thinking so too. i just want to know for sure before i bypass the amp and replace it and the wiring. it HAS to be that or the harness. ill try and record it tomorrow. its a very subtle fade in and out. like a wire isnt getting a full connection.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:37 PM   #8
Vivid Illumination
memario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
memario1214's Avatar
Name: Colton
Joined: Oct 2009, #23628
Location: MT recently relocated to Willmar, MN
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 12,919
memario1214's Tacoma Gallery
My whole thing is that it always happens on the same songs in the same places... Volume doesn't affect at all whether or not it is happening. The HU is trying to do something, and the speakers are doing something much different
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:40 PM   #9
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is online now
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,041
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
hmm. sounds like a different issue. maybe the format of the songs playing? like not good quality or something?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:44 PM   #10
Vivid Illumination
memario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmemario1214 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
memario1214's Avatar
Name: Colton
Joined: Oct 2009, #23628
Location: MT recently relocated to Willmar, MN
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 12,919
memario1214's Tacoma Gallery
My issue is the same as the one you described. I have tracked it down to certain points in songs. I have a decent setup on my computer. So I played the songs on my computer and found that when the song would try to transition and place emphasis in certain areas (front/back especially) is when I would get the cut outs in the truck. I almost assure you that we have the same issue. We have nearly identical equipment as well
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:52 PM   #11
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is online now
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,041
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
hmmm.. i havent noticed it in certain points of songs. could very well be though. it just seems like its so random and that its a connection issue. im hoping an installer can help figure it out tomorrow. i almost want to replace the JBL amp and just power the doors with the headunit, but thats ALOT of rewiring. if i could find a way to use the stock wiring to just go straight from the HU to the speakers, i would. but then again, it might not be that and be the Metra harness.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 11:26 PM   #13
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is online now
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,041
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
No. Not anymore. I replaced the stock one with my own and is powered by a seperate amp. Its not hooked up right now though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 10:32 PM   #16
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 7,557
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
I have the Scosche adapter and I had the same exact problems. For me it ended up being the RCA cables having bad contacts. I used my finger to press the edges in a little so they fit tighter. It came back like once, but haven't had a problem for years now.

Annoying isn't it? If all else fails, try cleaning the contacts with isopropyl alcohol (not rubbing alcohol) as well.

I remember I also had my fade/balance connections backwards at one point. Its been so long now, I don't remember if it changed anything, but I'd double check. My mind says it has nothing to do with it though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 10:39 PM   #17
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is online now
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,041
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
Awesome man. I'll check that tomorrow. I have been going over the connections like crazy. Moving them around and cant duplicate the problem. Its funny cuz on my old system, i had a bad connection on the sub RCA and it did the same thing, thats what i was trying to explain and refer to when explaining this. Fade in and out. I'll make sure the RCA's are tight and also make sure he RCA's are plugged in the right way (fade balance) I did switch them back and forth, not much changed. As long as they are connected in the right way, it should be fine. I hope It fixes it. Is hate to soend all this time and money, and it turn out sounding like crap. Or have to send it back to find out it was something else, etc. We will see.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 11:49 PM   #18
Senior Member
soljah111 is on a distinguished road
 
soljah111's Avatar
Name: Jon
Joined: Oct 2010, #45120
Location: Denver
Gender: Male
Posts: 245
soljah111's Tacoma Gallery
I have a Kenwood dnx710 and it did that when I first installed it. On my deck there was a crossover xover button that I turned off and it didn't do it again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 08:34 AM   #19
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is online now
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,041
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
No crossover button for me. I've gone through all the settings unfortunately.. it has to be what Brian mentioned. If not, its going back for another one.. the hatness I mean.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 07:11 PM   #20
Moose1988 [OP] Moose1988 is online now
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,041
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
Well, I think i fried the headunit.. I checked all my connections, plugged It in, and it doesnt work. Tested all the wires with a voltage meter and they are all fine up to the headunit. Not sure what I did.. but defintely pissed at myself. Last time I try and install something myself.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: 2011 Silverado HU and 08 WRX/impreaza HU wrxRome Buy / Sell / Trade - Other 4 11-22-2011 02:46 PM
Need Sirius volume help! KevinH Audio & Video 3 06-25-2010 08:48 AM
radio volume ?? CtYankee 2nd Gen. Tacomas 12 01-21-2010 06:21 PM
How do I turn up my volume up??? rzimm001 Audio & Video 5 10-14-2009 03:03 PM
Volume. SR5TaComa24 Audio & Video 6 10-26-2007 12:55 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.