Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Headunit/Equalizer Install - Need the Pro's!!!!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2011, 09:33 AM   #1
TegoXR [OP] TegoXR is offline
Senior Member
TegoXR is on a distinguished road
Name: Freddy
Joined: Feb 2010, #31941
Location: Ontario, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 116
TegoXR's Tacoma Gallery
Headunit/Equalizer Install - Need the Pro's!!!!!

Really need help on this one! This is for my '91 4Runner, currently has the Sony CDX-GT420U headunit, it only has a one set of pre-outs which is for rear/sub. Trying to figure out how to install an Alpine ERE-G180 equalizer, it has the INPUT, Front, Rear and Subwoofer inputs. How would I install this?

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:03 AM   #2
Senior Member
mattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2011, #51640
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 849
mattg43's Tacoma Gallery
If the rear outputs are full range, you should be OK, although not ideal. Simply fade the output to rear only.

Looks like the EQ has outputs for front/rear/sub (though you put input in your description above) so you should be good, as long as you dont want to fade when listening to music.

My next question would be why do you want an EQ? with that, you will have to run amplifiers, and if this is the case, why not sell the deck and the EQ, and buy a new deck that will do everything you need?

A quick Ebay look shows the EQ selling at over $200 recently...http://cgi.ebay.com/ALPINE-ERE-G180-...efaultDomain_0
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:08 AM   #3
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,290
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Well if the outputs are full range then you would need to add some splitters.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:20 AM   #4
Senior Member
mattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2011, #51640
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 849
mattg43's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by whippersnapper02 View Post
Well if the outputs are full range then you would need to add some splitters.
why?

The eq has a pair of inputs, L/R. The deck has a pair of outputs, L/R. If the output on the deck is full range, and you plug that in the inputs of the EQ, where does that splitter come into play?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:24 AM   #5
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,290
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg43 View Post
why?

The eq has a pair of inputs, L/R. The deck has a pair of outputs, L/R. If the output on the deck is full range, and you plug that in the inputs of the EQ, where does that splitter come into play?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TegoXR View Post
Trying to figure out how to install an Alpine ERE-G180 equalizer, it has the INPUT, Front, Rear and Subwoofer inputs. How would I install this?
No sure exactly how the EQ unit is set up or how the OP intends on using it but the EQ unit might keep each channel separate. So if you plug in sound into the front set of inputs he might only get sound from the rear set of outputs.

I do agree that a new headunit would be better.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:25 AM   #6
TegoXR [OP] TegoXR is offline
Senior Member
TegoXR is on a distinguished road
Name: Freddy
Joined: Feb 2010, #31941
Location: Ontario, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 116
TegoXR's Tacoma Gallery
I'm only running a mono amp with a subwoofer, and front speakers only.

Rear outputs of the headunit to the input on the rear of the EQ,
RCA from the amp to the Sub input of the EQ right?

Will I still be able to adjust the frequencies through the EQ for the front speakers?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:35 AM   #7
Senior Member
mattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2011, #51640
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 849
mattg43's Tacoma Gallery
Christian -
Per crutchfield, they only have 1 pair of inputs: http://www.crutchfield.com/p_500EREG...=detailed_info
Quote:
Pre-amp Inputs: A pair of gold plated RCA jacks (left and right) are provided to input the signal from a head unit.
I am pretty sure the OP mistyped there, and that is supposed to say outputs in the bolded section you quoted...

OP - Let me start with - I am not familiar with this deck.

After a brief look, it appears that this is designed to keep the internal amp going, even when the RCA outputs are used (not all do this, some turn it off, others have a setting to disable the internal amp). If this is the case, what you are describing is correct - RCA from the output in the deck to the input on the EQ, speaker wires from the deck to the front speakers.

RCA from the EQ output for sub to the input on your amplifier, and you should be good to go.

BUT - why? If the deck already has non-fading outputs for a sub, why mess with the EQ?


  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:38 AM   #8
TegoXR [OP] TegoXR is offline
Senior Member
TegoXR is on a distinguished road
Name: Freddy
Joined: Feb 2010, #31941
Location: Ontario, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 116
TegoXR's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg43 View Post
Christian -
Per crutchfield, they only have 1 pair of inputs: http://www.crutchfield.com/p_500EREG...=detailed_info
I am pretty sure the OP mistyped there, and that is supposed to say outputs in the bolded section you quoted...

OP - Let me start with - I am not familiar with this deck.

After a brief look, it appears that this is designed to keep the internal amp going, even when the RCA outputs are used (not all do this, some turn it off, others have a setting to disable the internal amp). If this is the case, what you are describing is correct - RCA from the output in the deck to the input on the EQ, speaker wires from the deck to the front speakers.

RCA from the EQ output for sub to the input on your amplifier, and you should be good to go.

BUT - why? If the deck already has non-fading outputs for a sub, why mess with the EQ?


I should be able to adjust the frequencies for the front speakers through the EQ correct?

The reason why for the EQ, like the fact that I'm able to adjust all the settings right there on the spot instead fiddling around with buttons on the headunit. And I only got it for 75 bucks...lol!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:58 AM   #9
Senior Member
mattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2011, #51640
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 849
mattg43's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by TegoXR View Post
I should be able to adjust the frequencies for the front speakers through the EQ correct?

The reason why for the EQ, like the fact that I'm able to adjust all the settings right there on the spot instead fiddling around with buttons on the headunit. And I only got it for 75 bucks...lol!

You can adjust frequencies for the front speakers ONLY if you are running an external amplifier. in the example described above you would only be able to control the subwoofer with the EQ.

To control all speakers you would need to run the outputs on the EQ to amplifiers for each speaker or speakers you wish to control with the EQ. It cannot change frequencies put out by the head unit directly to the front speakers.

More visually, to wire for the sub your wiring will be like this:

Head Unit -> Speakers
Head unit -> EQ -> Amp -> Sub

If you want to control all frequencies:
Head unit -> EQ -> Sub Amp -> Sub
+
Head unit -> EQ -> Speaker Amp -> Speakers
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 01:58 PM   #10
TegoXR [OP] TegoXR is offline
Senior Member
TegoXR is on a distinguished road
Name: Freddy
Joined: Feb 2010, #31941
Location: Ontario, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 116
TegoXR's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks a lot!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 Aftermarket Headunit Install alwaysat8k 2nd Gen. Tacomas 8 04-29-2012 07:59 PM
Alpine Headunit install sub issues mr smitty Audio & Video 8 01-17-2011 06:32 PM
Equalizer ant sway hitch vs. Resse Pro Series Trunnion weight distrubition Hitch SWTACOMA Towing 5 11-04-2010 12:58 PM
A/C Lights Won't Work After HeadUnit Install Lizard1080 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 02-24-2010 10:00 PM
Aftermarket Headunit Install Kit Issue PatheticJoe Audio & Video 4 04-16-2008 12:01 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.