Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

USA Spec PA15-Toy worked in 2006 but not 2008

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-09-2011, 04:51 AM   #1
dfasano [OP] dfasano is offline
Member
dfasano is on a distinguished road
Name: Drew
Joined: May 2009, #17123
Location: Albany, GA
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Posts: 31
dfasano's Tacoma Gallery
USA Spec PA15-Toy worked in 2006 but not 2008

I installed a USA Spec PA-15 Toy in my 2006 tacoma (JBL 6-disc) a few years ago and has worked flawlessly.

I sold my 06 and purchased an 2008 yesterday (half the miles of my 06 in case you are wondering why). Same truck, sound system, etc. However, when trying to install the PA-15 into my new truck, it did not have a slot big enough for the connector that is on the PA-15.

Anyone have similar problems. Suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:56 AM   #2
Half the strength of ten (microscopic men)
AeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shedAeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shedAeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shedAeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shedAeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shedAeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shedAeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shedAeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shedAeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shedAeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shedAeroCooper is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Apr 2010, #35400
Location: VT
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,687
AeroCooper's Tacoma Gallery
If I recall, the one I bought had 2 different connectors available. Maybe you can order just the newer connection kit?

As a side note, I Personally didn't like the unit at all and soon got rid of it. The volume never would go loud enough, and the functionality was always clunky. I put in an Alpine unit and it's MUCH better now. Well worth the extra expense.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 05:10 AM   #3
dfasano [OP] dfasano is offline
Member
dfasano is on a distinguished road
Name: Drew
Joined: May 2009, #17123
Location: Albany, GA
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Posts: 31
dfasano's Tacoma Gallery
I just checked my office for the box and seems I discarded it. Ill call the manufacturer and see if there is a different wiring harness.

I never had a problem with my unit. Volume will go as loud as you want it.

My buddy offered me his double din pioneer unit (05-06ish) with touchscreen and ipod connection but I personallly would like to keep the factory look. The truck has 2, 10's and an amp in place of the factory sub.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USA SPEC PA15 TOY JDeLuca Buy / Sell / Trade 11 02-10-2011 01:33 PM
USA Spec PA15 Toy BAT24 Buy / Sell / Trade 5 08-03-2010 01:13 PM
USA Spec PA15-TOY LS1Steve Buy / Sell / Trade 5 04-18-2010 08:56 PM
Fs: Usa-spec pa15-toy 64Wildcat Buy / Sell / Trade 9 01-01-2010 05:49 PM
Usa spec pa15-toy steveo830 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 04-29-2009 07:13 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.