Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Amp Setup Question?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2011, 10:47 AM   #1
flyby08 [OP] flyby08 is offline
Senior Member
flyby08 is on a distinguished road
 
flyby08's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2008, #7233
Location: san francisco
Gender: Male
Posts: 146
flyby08's Tacoma Gallery
Amp Setup Question?

Hello everyone in TW land i was having a thought that I wanted to see if anyone could help me out with their part experiences.

Currently in my taco I am running pioneer AVH -3200BT head unit with 4 Alpine type S speakers (6x9 in the front and 6-1/2" in the rear); and the speakers are running off of the head unit. I also have and 10" MTX sub running off a ch2 MTX amp that I have bridged at 280 RMS (this is a sub i had from a older subaru that i had)

Now i have been thinking about amplifying the 4 four doors speakers as well; what my questions is would it be better to get a new 4ch amp for the speakers and have to 2 amps? or to replace the 2ch amp with a 5ch amp and run the whole system off one amp? I not sure the pros or cons from either setup any insight you guys would be able to provide would be much appreciated.

thanks

ps. please let me know if you need more info on the system that would help you answer the question.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 12:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
lbridges will become famous soon enoughlbridges will become famous soon enough
Air Force:
Name: Lee
Joined: Mar 2011, #52434
Location: Indialantic, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 403
lbridges's Tacoma Gallery
It will probably be cheaper to get another amp. The sound quality should be the same either way. Getting a 5-channel amp should result in a cleaner/simpler installation.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 03:54 PM   #3
Banned
06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Jul 2011, #60338
Location: Saskatchewan
Gender: Male
Posts: 649
06SR5canada's Tacoma Gallery
^^ agree'd

i guess it depends if you want to spend more cash or not.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 03:56 PM   #4
Member
loganlangley is on a distinguished road
Name: logan
Joined: Sep 2011, #64028
Location: south alabama
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
loganlangley's Tacoma Gallery
i have two amps in mine with a clean setup. mine sounds awesome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 04:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
dolbytone is a name known to alldolbytone is a name known to alldolbytone is a name known to alldolbytone is a name known to alldolbytone is a name known to alldolbytone is a name known to all
 
dolbytone's Avatar
Joined: May 2010, #37165
Gender: Male
Posts: 320
dolbytone's Tacoma Gallery
Careful to not buy a 4 channel amp that overpowers your 280 watts worth of sub. Of course, I'm not sure how well those Alpine door speakers hold up when you start pushing them with a little bit of sack either. Just be careful to get something that integrates well with what you already have.

I personally went with a 5 channel amp, but that's ultimately less flexible in the event you wish to upgrade to biamping components or something later on.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 07:58 AM   #6
Banned
06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Jul 2011, #60338
Location: Saskatchewan
Gender: Male
Posts: 649
06SR5canada's Tacoma Gallery
something like 75x4@ 4 ohm would work fine

what i would do, personally, is buy something like 150x2 ditch the rear speakers and buy some nice components for up front
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 09:07 AM   #7
Junior Member
Linelock4 is on a distinguished road
Name: Jared
Joined: Jul 2011, #59616
Location: New Hampshire
Gender: Male
Posts: 13
Linelock4's Tacoma Gallery
You can add an Alipine 4-channel V-power MRP-F300 to you SS series speakers and land the amp under your drivers front seat. I say this because I have done it for a customer I had. Just keep in mind there is a bracket under the seat that has a plug cliped to it. You are going to have to bend the bracket up out of the way. The reason is to allow the seat to move back and forth without getting hung up on the amp. I have used this exact amp with those exact speakers and as long as the cross overs are set right your good. Also you can just level make the gain on the amp to blend perfect with the sub.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 01:36 PM   #8
flyby08 [OP] flyby08 is offline
Senior Member
flyby08 is on a distinguished road
 
flyby08's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2008, #7233
Location: san francisco
Gender: Male
Posts: 146
flyby08's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linelock4 View Post
You can add an Alipine 4-channel V-power MRP-F300 to you SS series speakers and land the amp under your drivers front seat. I say this because I have done it for a customer I had. Just keep in mind there is a bracket under the seat that has a plug cliped to it. You are going to have to bend the bracket up out of the way. The reason is to allow the seat to move back and forth without getting hung up on the amp. I have used this exact amp with those exact speakers and as long as the cross overs are set right your good. Also you can just level make the gain on the amp to blend perfect with the sub.
that is the actual setup that I was thinking about. I was just thinking that the two amps would be messy, but is sounds like it can be done cleanly. I am currently running a 8guage power cable from the battery, if i switch to the two amps would I need to upgrade to a 4 gauge to a distribution block?

thanks for all the input everyone.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 01:45 PM   #9
Banned
06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed06SR5canada is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Jul 2011, #60338
Location: Saskatchewan
Gender: Male
Posts: 649
06SR5canada's Tacoma Gallery
8 might be small for both amps, id just do another run to the battery with 8 or 4
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:11 PM   #10
Senior Member
mattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2011, #51640
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 849
mattg43's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 06SR5canada View Post
8 might be small for both amps, id just do another run to the battery with 8 or 4
Do this. If you run 2 amps, either will be fine.

If you go to a 5 channel, still want to upgrade to a 4ga.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jbl setup with new HU and sub and amp lol Hunter500ky Audio & Video 1 07-02-2011 04:51 PM
Question on HU setup for external amp. sac130e Audio & Video 3 03-31-2011 09:04 PM
What kind of amp should I be looking at for this setup? JoshLV Audio & Video 20 01-26-2011 09:36 PM
For Sale: Brand new Sub/Amp setup MowTaco Buy / Sell / Trade 5 07-08-2010 01:36 PM
New Setup - Need amp advice (Pics) TorenApart Audio & Video 5 08-07-2008 09:09 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.