Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Avh-p4300 help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-26-2011, 05:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
Casey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant future
 
Casey05Taco's Avatar
Name: Casey
Joined: Aug 2008, #8781
Location: Penngrove, CA
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,968
Casey05Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Avh-p4300 help

Just got my new AVH-p4300 in the mail today. opened it all up and looked at the wiring, then took a look at the wiring that the people over at scoshe said i needed to buy and am kind of lost. Also i have no idea how to connect the wires to the existing ones that are already in my truck. Should be an eventful night and possible morning. Any input would be lovely. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 06:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
dolbytone is a name known to alldolbytone is a name known to alldolbytone is a name known to alldolbytone is a name known to alldolbytone is a name known to alldolbytone is a name known to all
 
dolbytone's Avatar
Joined: May 2010, #37165
Gender: Male
Posts: 320
dolbytone's Tacoma Gallery
All that stuff comes with instructions...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 06:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
lbridges will become famous soon enoughlbridges will become famous soon enough
Air Force:
Name: Lee
Joined: Mar 2011, #52434
Location: Indialantic, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 403
lbridges's Tacoma Gallery
What wiring kit did they tell you to acquire? The TA02B?

If you get that, you take the Pioneer harness, the Scosche connector, and with a bunch of crimp-on connectors (with crimping tool), connect the Pioneer and Scosche wires together using the red to red, black to black, orange to orange scheme. You plug the pioneer end into the head unit, and the Scosche end into the plugs that went into the OEM Toyota head unit, turn it on and test. No need to stress out on this one.

Should you get the TA02BCB from Scosche, it even has one end of the connectors crimped on so all you would need is a crimping tool to hook up the Pioneer end.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 06:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
Casey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant future
 
Casey05Taco's Avatar
Name: Casey
Joined: Aug 2008, #8781
Location: Penngrove, CA
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,968
Casey05Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbridges View Post
What wiring kit did they tell you to acquire? The TA02B?

If you get that, you take the Pioneer harness, the Scosche connector, and with a bunch of crimp-on connectors (with crimping tool), connect the Pioneer and Scosche wires together using the red to red, black to black, orange to orange scheme. You plug the pioneer end into the head unit, and the Scosche end into the plugs that went into the OEM Toyota head unit, turn it on and test. No need to stress out on this one.

Should you get the TA02BCB from Scosche, it even has one end of the connectors crimped on so all you would need is a crimping tool to hook up the Pioneer end.
I got the TAO2b, i just have never done anything like this before and i felt like i could do it but when all the peices arrived im starting to think im completely over my head. So i dont use the wiring that came with the pioneer deck?

edit: i feel dumb. I see where your coming from now, what i need to do is go buy the crimp-on connectors, and the crimping tool and connect the pioneer wires to the scoshe one i got. lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 07:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
lbridges will become famous soon enoughlbridges will become famous soon enough
Air Force:
Name: Lee
Joined: Mar 2011, #52434
Location: Indialantic, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 403
lbridges's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey05Taco View Post
... i feel dumb....
If you want to have a dumb contest - my guess is you might find yourself a long way down the line from me. Let me give you one example: Ever spent several hours troubleshooting a passenger side power window malfunction only to find the window lock on the driver's side was accidentally turned on? I could go on for a long time with more examples...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 07:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
Casey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant future
 
Casey05Taco's Avatar
Name: Casey
Joined: Aug 2008, #8781
Location: Penngrove, CA
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,968
Casey05Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbridges View Post
If you want to have a dumb contest - my guess is you might find yourself a long way down the line from me. Let me give you one example: Ever spent several hours troubleshooting a passenger side power window malfunction only to find the window lock on the driver's side was accidentally turned on? I could go on for a long time with more examples...
lol ok you got me on that one. Also im going to be doing the ebrake bypass and i need plugs to click in to the 12v relay. Any idea what size the wiring is and what size i could use to put in the 12v relay?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 07:25 PM   #7
Senior Member
lbridges will become famous soon enoughlbridges will become famous soon enough
Air Force:
Name: Lee
Joined: Mar 2011, #52434
Location: Indialantic, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 403
lbridges's Tacoma Gallery
I think the yellow mute wire used on the X930BT is 16 gauge, and I expect it will be the same for the 4300. As for wire to the other parts of the relay, doesn't really matter, just about anything will work as there is essentially no current draw (which is what typically drives wire sizing). As for connecting to the relay itself, I think they are just 1/4" female spade connectors.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 07:26 PM   #8
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 7,555
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
Where you at in norcal? I can install for you if you're not too far.... or we can figure something out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 07:32 PM   #9
Senior Member
Casey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant future
 
Casey05Taco's Avatar
Name: Casey
Joined: Aug 2008, #8781
Location: Penngrove, CA
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,968
Casey05Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian View Post
Where you at in norcal? I can install for you if you're not too far.... or we can figure something out.
Well i live in Rohnert Park, but currently im at college in Oklahoma. So thats a ways away lol.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 07:36 PM   #10
Senior Member
Casey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant futureCasey05Taco has a brilliant future
 
Casey05Taco's Avatar
Name: Casey
Joined: Aug 2008, #8781
Location: Penngrove, CA
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,968
Casey05Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbridges View Post
I think the yellow mute wire used on the X930BT is 16 gauge, and I expect it will be the same for the 4300. As for wire to the other parts of the relay, doesn't really matter, just about anything will work as there is essentially no current draw (which is what typically drives wire sizing). As for connecting to the relay itself, I think they are just 1/4" female spade connectors.
Whats weird about that is i see the larger yellow wire but there is another wire that has a label on it that says mute on it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 11:42 AM   #11
Senior Member
lbridges will become famous soon enoughlbridges will become famous soon enough
Air Force:
Name: Lee
Joined: Mar 2011, #52434
Location: Indialantic, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 403
lbridges's Tacoma Gallery
The larger yellow wire is for power, the mute wire is used on the X-series (I have a X930BT) for the bypass.

Sorry, but I had a brain dump

Since you have the 4300 AVH you need to do the relay thing for the bypass - wiring is at AVIC411.com Wire size comments still apply, but the whole mute wire thing can be safely ignored 'cause I'm a dummy (which I think we already established above).

Their drawing is telling you to use the wire for the parking brake sensor and the Remote On wire, both coming from off the pioneer wiring harness, then ground as shown.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 02:42 PM   #12
"I'd Rather Live, Than Live Forever"
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 10,479
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
Just Installed my p4300 a couple weeks ago. First install for me too. Don't let t get you flustered. One wire at a tike and you'll be good. As for the bypass.. its actually really easy. All I did was run a ground wire from the green parking brake wire to a toggle switch. Hook up the switch, and run the wire to a ground. Flip the switch from on to off whenever you want to watch videos.

Also, do you have the jbl system? If so it gets a little more complicated.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 03:02 PM   #13
Sconnie
mudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
mudthedoor's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Feb 2011, #50550
Location: Forestville, WI
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,188
mudthedoor's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey05Taco View Post
lol ok you got me on that one. Also im going to be doing the ebrake bypass and i need plugs to click in to the 12v relay. Any idea what size the wiring is and what size i could use to put in the 12v relay?
To bypass the parking break just ground the wire!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 05:28 PM   #14
Senior Member
lbridges will become famous soon enoughlbridges will become famous soon enough
Air Force:
Name: Lee
Joined: Mar 2011, #52434
Location: Indialantic, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 403
lbridges's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudthedoor View Post
To bypass the parking break just ground the wire!
Do you have a 4300? Some people have reported that method fails. It seems the 4300 needs a small delay between sensing power and the appearance of a grounded parking brake wire. The relay using the remote wire does that, as well as the simple but unautomated delay of simply flipping a switch as described by Moose1988 (cheapest way too).
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new pioneer avh-p4300 btacoma Audio & Video 10 03-10-2012 08:31 AM
Pioneer AVH-P4300 connect to Android?? MMazz365 Audio & Video 0 02-09-2012 08:42 AM
AVH P4300 bluetooth music? The tacoman Audio & Video 3 11-21-2011 07:48 PM
help w/ avh-p4300 concerning ipod btacoma Audio & Video 3 07-26-2011 05:26 PM
avh-p4300 help on install btacoma Audio & Video 15 04-28-2011 06:38 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.