Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

CAN I?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2011, 12:02 AM   #1
chaos316 [OP] chaos316 is offline
Senior Member
chaos316 is on a distinguished road
Name: JJ
Joined: May 2010, #36918
Location: Wichita, KS
Gender: Dude
Posts: 380
chaos316's Tacoma Gallery
CAN I?

JUST WONDERING IF I CAN MOUNT 3 10" W3S IN THIS BOX, AND IT SOUND GOOD? THE MOUNTING DEPTH FOR THE W3s SAYS IT REQUIRES 5.93 INCHES, AND THIS BOX HAS AN OPTIONAL 6". OR WOULD I BE BETTER OFF GOING WITH 3 10" W1s
http://www.supercrewsound.com/05tacomadbltriple.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 12:18 AM   #2
chaos316 [OP] chaos316 is offline
Senior Member
chaos316 is on a distinguished road
Name: JJ
Joined: May 2010, #36918
Location: Wichita, KS
Gender: Dude
Posts: 380
chaos316's Tacoma Gallery
or even 2 10" w3s in the dual box they sell
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 01:34 PM   #3
chaos316 [OP] chaos316 is offline
Senior Member
chaos316 is on a distinguished road
Name: JJ
Joined: May 2010, #36918
Location: Wichita, KS
Gender: Dude
Posts: 380
chaos316's Tacoma Gallery
??
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 01:35 PM   #4
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,288
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Well the specs show that it should fit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 01:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
lbridges will become famous soon enoughlbridges will become famous soon enough
Air Force:
Name: Lee
Joined: Mar 2011, #52434
Location: Indialantic, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 403
lbridges's Tacoma Gallery
Look on the back of the woofer. If it has a relatively square shouldered vent for the magnet pole piece, you should have a minimum of 1/2" behind the woofer (and no stuffing in that area). The new JL W3s seem to be side vented, so you could probably get within 1/8" if the box is well made (no flex).
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 01:55 PM   #6
A country boy can survive
pyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shedpyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shedpyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shedpyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shedpyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shedpyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shedpyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shedpyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shedpyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shedpyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shedpyroskier is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
pyroskier's Avatar
Name: Jacob
Joined: Mar 2011, #53622
Location: Laramie, WY
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,002
pyroskier's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos316 View Post
JUST WONDERING IF I CAN MOUNT 3 10" W3S IN THIS BOX, AND IT SOUND GOOD? THE MOUNTING DEPTH FOR THE W3s SAYS IT REQUIRES 5.93 INCHES, AND THIS BOX HAS AN OPTIONAL 6". OR WOULD I BE BETTER OFF GOING WITH 3 10" W1s
http://www.supercrewsound.com/05tacomadbltriple.html
I DON'T KNOW MUCH ABOUT AUDIO, CAN'T REALLY HELP SORRY
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 02:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
horwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shedhorwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shedhorwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shedhorwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shedhorwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shedhorwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shedhorwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shedhorwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shedhorwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shedhorwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shedhorwitzs is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
horwitzs's Avatar
Name: Seth
Joined: May 2011, #57097
Location: Dayton, WA
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 681
horwitzs's Tacoma Gallery
Not sure if it will fit, but if you are having to yell when you talk you probably have damaged your ears enough already and shouldn't continue with stereo upgrades.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 05:54 PM   #8
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 7,557
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
Quote:
Originally Posted by horwitzs View Post
Not sure if it will fit, but if you are having to yell when you talk you probably have damaged your ears enough already and shouldn't continue with stereo upgrades.

LoL! Nice.


W3's are nice, but they have pretty good travel. I'd be wary of them wearing on the back of the seats. The specs say it will fit, then try em.... just be warned.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 12:19 AM   #9
chaos316 [OP] chaos316 is offline
Senior Member
chaos316 is on a distinguished road
Name: JJ
Joined: May 2010, #36918
Location: Wichita, KS
Gender: Dude
Posts: 380
chaos316's Tacoma Gallery
haha i didnt realize my caps lock was on. but i just want to bump again. my last setup was in a single cab s10. i was running a jl audio a2150 amp with a one 10w1. i personally thought it hit pretty hard, but then again it was my first system with a tiny amp. i still have the amp and sub. what do you guys think i should do? build a new box for the 10w1 and keep the old setup? or get 1 more 10w1 and a bigger amp? i now have a 2nd gen dc
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 12:24 AM   #10
Lest We Forget
cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack
Joined: Jun 2009, #18119
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,911
cmack's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos316 View Post
haha i didnt realize my caps lock was on. but i just want to bump again. my last setup was in a single cab s10. i was running a jl audio a2150 amp with a one 10w1. i personally thought it hit pretty hard, but then again it was my first system with a tiny amp. i still have the amp and sub. what do you guys think i should do? build a new box for the 10w1 and keep the old setup? or get 1 more 10w1 and a bigger amp? i now have a 2nd gen dc
Personally, I'd run 2 10" subs and upgrade your amp. Build the box or be careful buying one. Just keep an eye on airspace specs with the box.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 12:25 AM   #11
chaos316 [OP] chaos316 is offline
Senior Member
chaos316 is on a distinguished road
Name: JJ
Joined: May 2010, #36918
Location: Wichita, KS
Gender: Dude
Posts: 380
chaos316's Tacoma Gallery
thanks man. would the box from super crew sounds work?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 12:40 AM   #12
Lest We Forget
cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack cmack
Joined: Jun 2009, #18119
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,911
cmack's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos316 View Post
thanks man. would the box from super crew sounds work?
Possibly

Biggest things to look at:

Dimensions (obv)
Airspace
Depth


Also as far as an amp goes, if you're upgrading, for 2 10" JL10w3, you'll want something that has an output of 1000w RMS @ 2Ohms. Something around that should be good. Depth should be ok, I'd DEFINITELY go with 6" on the depth front. From what I can see online, the sub is 5-7/8" from top to mount (if I'm looking at the correct one). So it will be pretty tight. And then (again if I'm looking at the correct sub), the required airspace for the sub is 0.625 cubic feet. So the box you posted would provide adequate airspace. I'd just be weary of having enough depth and also shit fitting right.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 12:42 AM   #13
.....
ColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shedColtsTRD is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ColtsTRD's Avatar
Name: Scott
Joined: May 2009, #17177
Location: AZ
Gender: Male
Posts: 17,993
ColtsTRD's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmack View Post
Possibly

Biggest things to look at:

Dimensions (obv)
Airspace
Depth


Also as far as an amp goes, if you're upgrading, for 2 10" JL10w3, you'll want something that has an output of 1000w RMS @ 2Ohms. Something around that should be good. Depth should be ok, I'd DEFINITELY go with 6" on the depth front. From what I can see online, the sub is 5-7/8" from top to mount (if I'm looking at the correct one). So it will be pretty tight. And then (again if I'm looking at the correct sub), the required airspace for the sub is 0.625 cubic feet. So the box you posted would provide adequate airspace. I'd just be weary of having enough depth and also shit fitting right.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Dt5Nf7ct5c
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.