Notices

1998 Tacoma Factory Radio Replacement

Old 01-19-2012, 05:52 AM   #1
98yoter is on a distinguished road
Marines: Sergeant 1 MAW
Name: Ash
98yoter's Tacoma Gallery
1998 Tacoma Factory Radio Replacement

I just purchased a new HU for my 1998 Tacoma and have no idea where to begin on how to install it. I did lots of research but I couldn't find much. Since I am fairly new to installing audio, pics would be awesome... Also I have had bad experiences with dash panels cracking and breaking in the past so an exact way to do everything would be nice. Any advice is much appreciated.
Old 01-19-2012, 07:15 PM   #2
98yoter's Tacoma Gallery
nobody knows anything about 1998 stereo replacement?

I have managed to get the dash apart and hook up all the wires. Then I did a test by turning the truck on and it works great, but now I am stuck I am having trouble getting the scoche mounting kit that I bought (yes its the correct one) to mount up to the new HU. I removed the locking mechanism sleeve from the new HU like the directions said in order to mount the factory metal pieces on, and the holes on the HU that line up with the Scoche mounting bracket are too small for the screws to go back in(factory screws are too big). I even tried the ones that they sent in the package of the mounting kit but they are to small. Something isnt adding up and I dont know what to do.
Old 01-19-2012, 09:31 PM   #3
Norton is one of the sharper tools in the shedNorton is one of the sharper tools in the shedNorton is one of the sharper tools in the shedNorton is one of the sharper tools in the shedNorton is one of the sharper tools in the shedNorton is one of the sharper tools in the shedNorton is one of the sharper tools in the shedNorton is one of the sharper tools in the shedNorton is one of the sharper tools in the shedNorton is one of the sharper tools in the shedNorton is one of the sharper tools in the shed