1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2012 DCSB Speaker Install

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by andrew8404, Mar 27, 2012.

1. Mar 27, 2012 at 12:19 PM
    andrew8404

andrew8404 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    ANDREW
    Albuquerque, NM
    Vehicle:
    17 DCSB TRD OR 4x4 (Sold) 19 Ford Ranger Sport XLT 4x4
    I'm a newb when it comes to stereo equipment in my truck and was wondering if I should get a professional install or not. I just ordered a 6x9 JBL GTO 938 and JBL GTO 1 inch tweeters for the front and a 6x5 JBL GTO 638 for the rear. I guess my question is do I need any mounting brackets or anything special to install? Shouldn't they just swap out if there the same size as my 2012 double cab? I'm willing to give it a go because I really don't want to pay 80 bucks for someone to install them for me. Thanks and sorry for the new question!

2. Mar 28, 2012 at 11:19 AM
    tranceporter

tranceporter Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Rishi
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    4x4, DCSB, Off Road, V6 Tow
    would using these speakers with the stock headunit make that much of a difference? I've always heard the overall quality of audio output is based on head units ability to adequately power the speakers.

3. Mar 28, 2012 at 5:37 PM
    spithead051

spithead051 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Fairfax, VA
    Vehicle:
    09 AC 4x4 OR S/C'ed!