1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Steering wheel audio and bluetooth controls for new HU

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by idgara007, Apr 2, 2012.

1. Apr 2, 2012 at 10:48 AM
    idgara007

idgara007 [OP] Active Member

Member:
    tx/CA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport double cab
    I am looking to upgrade my whole sound system from speakers to a new head unit. However, I do love and use my steering wheel controls very much. To change tracks/volume as well as the bluetooth for handsfree cell phone use. I am very new to all things car audio, so I dont know very much. but I do know if I wanted to keep my audio controls, I would get an adapter like this:

http://www.pac-audio.com/Products.aspx?CategoryId=29

would this product also work with the bluetooth steering wheel controls? Or do I need something else for bluetooth? I understand that many different head units and receivers can use the adapter for steering controls, but do I need a certain HU/receiver for the bluetooth controls? I assume the new unit needs bluetooth hands free as well, right? Any other advice, recommendations or input is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much

Info: I have a 2009 sport DC (and I think I have JBL audio)

2. Apr 6, 2012 at 5:12 PM
    baldridp

baldridp Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Paul
    Las Vegas, NV