Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

distribution block

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2012, 11:54 AM   #1
Blaise22 [OP] Blaise22 is offline
Senior Member
Blaise22 has a spectacular aura aboutBlaise22 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Blaise
Joined: May 2009, #17095
Location: California
Gender: Male
Posts: 271
Blaise22's Tacoma Gallery
distribution block

I have 4 gauge power/ground wire running to my sub right now can I use a distribution block to split the power and ground wires into 2, 8 gauge wires? and can I use 8 gauge "power wire" as my ground wire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 11:56 AM   #2
Will The Thrill
Warhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Warhorseforever's Avatar
Name: Will
Joined: May 2011, #56023
Location: Sand Lapper
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,830
Warhorseforever's Tacoma Gallery
Yes, yes, and yes but why? Do you have 2 amps?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 12:11 PM   #3
Blaise22 [OP] Blaise22 is offline
Senior Member
Blaise22 has a spectacular aura aboutBlaise22 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Blaise
Joined: May 2009, #17095
Location: California
Gender: Male
Posts: 271
Blaise22's Tacoma Gallery
Awsome thank you. Yes one for my sub and one for my new speakers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 12:14 PM   #4
Will The Thrill
Warhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Warhorseforever's Avatar
Name: Will
Joined: May 2011, #56023
Location: Sand Lapper
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,830
Warhorseforever's Tacoma Gallery
Now understand that power and ground wires do not need to be in the same distribution block they each go to their respective places.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 12:19 PM   #5
Blaise22 [OP] Blaise22 is offline
Senior Member
Blaise22 has a spectacular aura aboutBlaise22 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Blaise
Joined: May 2009, #17095
Location: California
Gender: Male
Posts: 271
Blaise22's Tacoma Gallery
I know im getting two distribution blocks, one for power and one for ground. I think thats what your talking about?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 01:01 PM   #6
Will The Thrill
Warhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shedWarhorseforever is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Warhorseforever's Avatar
Name: Will
Joined: May 2011, #56023
Location: Sand Lapper
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,830
Warhorseforever's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaise22 View Post
I know im getting two distribution blocks, one for power and one for ground. I think thats what your talking about?
I thought you were trying to put a power and ground wire on a single distribution block. You want each amp to have its own ground with a metal to metal contact.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 01:45 PM   #7
Blaise22 [OP] Blaise22 is offline
Senior Member
Blaise22 has a spectacular aura aboutBlaise22 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Blaise
Joined: May 2009, #17095
Location: California
Gender: Male
Posts: 271
Blaise22's Tacoma Gallery
Oh gotcha so I can split the one power wire into two seperate power wires with a distribution block. But I need a seperate ground from each amp. Can I ground them both in the same place.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 04:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
mattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmattg43 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2011, #51640
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 849
mattg43's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warhorseforever View Post
Now understand that power and ground wires do not need to be in the same distribution block they each go to their respective places.
Depends on the distro block. My + and - wires both go to the same block

And OP - yes, you can use a non-fused distro block for grounds, or simply ground them to the chassis. The same location is best, but not mandatory if a good ground connection is made.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:06 PM   #9
Blaise22 [OP] Blaise22 is offline
Senior Member
Blaise22 has a spectacular aura aboutBlaise22 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Blaise
Joined: May 2009, #17095
Location: California
Gender: Male
Posts: 271
Blaise22's Tacoma Gallery
right on thank you, just got all my wiring and my amp ordered. I just need to figure out what size mounting brackets I need from tacotunes, can somebody help me out? I dont want to start a third thread.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:09 PM   #10
Blaise22 [OP] Blaise22 is offline
Senior Member
Blaise22 has a spectacular aura aboutBlaise22 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Blaise
Joined: May 2009, #17095
Location: California
Gender: Male
Posts: 271
Blaise22's Tacoma Gallery
nevermind I found this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/HERTZ-HI-ENE...aaea84&vxp=mtr

I tell tacotunes 41mm mounting diameter and 15mm mounting depth for the tweeter right?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
0 Gauge Amp Kit - Distribution Block to Two Amps Commanderwiggin Audio & Video 1 01-04-2012 05:20 AM
Power distribution options sgtpepper 2nd Gen. Tacomas 11 10-31-2011 03:24 PM
Weight distribution hitch where nighthawk87 Towing 2 04-11-2011 05:44 PM
Winch/Distribution panel anethema 2nd Gen. Tacomas 10 04-04-2011 04:34 PM
difference between a big block and small block cantac09 General Automotive 2 10-01-2009 04:12 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.