Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

FYI - 2009 Tacoma VSS / Speed Sense Wire Location

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-18-2008, 04:57 PM   #1
gfisher99 [OP] gfisher99 is offline
Member
gfisher99 will become famous soon enough
Joined: Oct 2008, #10207
Location: Austin, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
gfisher99's Tacoma Gallery
FYI - 2009 Tacoma VSS / Speed Sense Wire Location

In case anyone has tried connecting the VSS wire from an in-dash Nav in a 2009 Tacoma, the location of the wire appears to be in a different location than previous models.

I was successful in connecting to the Purple/White wire at Pin #5 on the only black plug on the front of the fuse box on the driver's side.

Simply remove the change pocket (like the glove box) and you will see the fuse box. There is only one black plug. I unplugged it and pulled it back thru another harness that was blocking good access to the wires. I also cut off the electrical tape they had wrapped around it. This gave me good room to work with, its pretty tight in there. It may be easier to remove the whole bottom panel, I just didnt want to figure out how to take it off.

Next, simply tap the only Purple/White wire in the plug, Pin #5.

I tried 4 times tapping the Purple/White at the ECU behind the glove box, but it didnt work. Thats where most of the threads here tell you to tap. As stated before, it seems like it may have changed from 2008 and older trucks.

Hope this helps someone..
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 05:29 PM   #2
Sooooooper Moderator
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 24,581
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
good to know. i tried numerous wires behind the glove box as well and was going to attempt the fuse box one
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 06:31 PM   #3
Member
DNahas is on a distinguished road
 
DNahas's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2009, #13375
Location: Dallas
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 62
DNahas's Tacoma Gallery
It helped me and the search worked!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 06:49 AM   #4
Junior Member
Juggy1337 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2009, #20753
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Juggy1337's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfisher99 View Post

I was successful in connecting to the Purple/White wire at Pin #5 on the only black plug on the front of the fuse box on the driver's side.
All the connectors in that area are white in my 2009 Tacoma 4x4. Can you be more specific in which of the connectors it is? Or if possible, can you take a pic of it please?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 09:24 AM   #5
Sooooooper Moderator
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 24,581
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
there is definately only one black connector. IIRC, its the bottom left connector of the connectors on the fuse panel. it is very hard to get to as well. i had to remove some taping and pull the connector out in order to get a vap tap on it, then pop it back in and it works perfect.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 09:37 AM   #6
Junior Member
Juggy1337 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2009, #20753
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Juggy1337's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhodge83 View Post
there is definately only one black connector. IIRC, its the bottom left connector of the connectors on the fuse panel. it is very hard to get to as well. i had to remove some taping and pull the connector out in order to get a vap tap on it, then pop it back in and it works perfect.
I will again. Thank you for confirming this. Would you happen to know when the backup camera signal is would you?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 09:39 AM   #7
Sooooooper Moderator
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 24,581
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
there is another thread about that on here somewhere in th A/V section. havent attempted that one yet
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 04:27 PM   #8
Junior Member
Juggy1337 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2009, #20753
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Juggy1337's Tacoma Gallery
We found the black connector and we tried to tap into the cable to get a VSS. The head unit didn't acknowledge that there was a signal, even though we drove 20mph in the parking lot for about 10 minutes.

Are you guys sure that is the correct wire? My NAV requires VSS to function, its not optional.

I tried to call the dealership where I got my truck but they didn't want to help me. I should have asked for this information prior to giving them my money


Quote:
Originally Posted by jhodge83 View Post
there is another thread about that on here somewhere in th A/V section. havent attempted that one yet
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 07:24 PM   #9
Sooooooper Moderator
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 24,581
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
that purple/white wire is definately the right one in the only black connector when u remove that tray. i went into the options of mine and after connecting that wire, the speed sensor kicks in while only driving ad not while sitting like i it were tapped off a tach line...did that once before. how are you tapping off that line?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:01 AM   #10
Junior Member
Juggy1337 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2009, #20753
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Juggy1337's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhodge83 View Post
that purple/white wire is definately the right one in the only black connector when u remove that tray. i went into the options of mine and after connecting that wire, the speed sensor kicks in while only driving ad not while sitting like i it were tapped off a tach line...did that once before. how are you tapping off that line?
Thanks for the confirmation. We're using an electro-tap to get signal from VSS. I noticed also that I'm not getting a signal from the hand brake, and I'm not sure if its something I need or not.

In the setup manual for my deck it claims that the hand brake is a safety mechanism and that "...some functions will not operate unless connected..."

Bonus points, which is the handbrake lamp cable? I tried searching on this forum, failed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:35 AM   #11
Sooooooper Moderator
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 24,581
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
depending on the unit,if the parking brake cable is not connected, it will not allow the dvd's to play or be able to put in addresses. i wired the parking brake cable from the HU straight to the ground in the harness so the HU always thinks the brake is on and allows me to watch dvd's while driving and enter addresses whenever. u might have failed on the search as we dont have a "handbrake"
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:52 AM   #12
Junior Member
Juggy1337 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2009, #20753
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Juggy1337's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhodge83 View Post
depending on the unit,if the parking brake cable is not connected, it will not allow the dvd's to play or be able to put in addresses. i wired the parking brake cable from the HU straight to the ground in the harness so the HU always thinks the brake is on and allows me to watch dvd's while driving and enter addresses whenever. u might have failed on the search as we dont have a "handbrake"
I actually think now that we installed a toggle switch to have the ability to flip the "parking break signal", in case the cops pull me over (which happens a lot). I may just go with the grounding option.

This also makes me wonder if our electro-tap sucks, maybe I should strip the VSS and twist the pink wire onto it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:17 PM   #13
Sooooooper Moderator
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 24,581
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
i used one of the simple tire taps that u stick the 2 wires in side by side and crimp them down. i call them vamp taps, but whatever they are, as long as the wires are in those dips and get crimped together, there shouldnt be a prob. the real issue is the space to work where that connector is located
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 07:49 PM   #14
Junior Member
Juggy1337 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2009, #20753
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Juggy1337's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhodge83 View Post
i used one of the simple tire taps that u stick the 2 wires in side by side and crimp them down. i call them vamp taps, but whatever they are, as long as the wires are in those dips and get crimped together, there shouldnt be a prob. the real issue is the space to work where that connector is located
I accidentally ended up breaking the purple / white wire on the black connector, and hooked up the VSS cable to what appears to be the dome light cable (solid blue). I had to trick my head unit / deck by opening the door once, and it detected a "pulse".

Right now, I don't know what I'm going to do. The purple / white cable is severed and it so tight in there, I may not be able to fix it. If I take it to the dealer, they're probably going to charge me an arm and a leg to fix it, and possible void my warranty.

GPS seems to be working fine. I took it for a hour long drive, and it learned the area around my house pretty quickly. I hate that its 110% GHETTO, but for now I have a working GPS.

Is it possible that my purple / white wire never generated a pulse? When I had it hooked up to it, my head unit still didn't detect a pulse from it. Maybe there is a bigger problem with my truck.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 09:33 AM   #15
Sooooooper Moderator
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 24,581
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
they cant void a warranty for that, u'd just have to pay to fix it. what u did shouldnt have messed anything up. thats the wire i have tapped, so its definitely getting a pulse out. just keep in mind that the only time ur gonna get a pulse fromt hat purple/white wire is when the truck is in gear and driving down the road, not when sitting still
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 06:49 PM   #16
Junior Member
Juggy1337 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2009, #20753
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Juggy1337's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhodge83 View Post
they cant void a warranty for that, u'd just have to pay to fix it. what u did shouldnt have messed anything up. thats the wire i have tapped, so its definitely getting a pulse out. just keep in mind that the only time ur gonna get a pulse fromt hat purple/white wire is when the truck is in gear and driving down the road, not when sitting still
Yes, I tested while driving. We were going over 25mph in the parking lot and on nearby roads. I think I'm going to talk to Toyota this week and get a quote for the fix and see if they can connect the VSS properly to my GPS.

I know the deck works, if the dome light fools the sensor
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 03:34 PM   #17
Member
Tom Cecc is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2010, #33682
Location: Florida
Gender: Male
Posts: 39
Tom Cecc's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfisher99 View Post
In case anyone has tried connecting the VSS wire from an in-dash Nav in a 2009 Tacoma, the location of the wire appears to be in a different location than previous models.

I was successful in connecting to the Purple/White wire at Pin #5 on the only black plug on the front of the fuse box on the driver's side.

Simply remove the change pocket (like the glove box) and you will see the fuse box. There is only one black plug. I unplugged it and pulled it back thru another harness that was blocking good access to the wires. I also cut off the electrical tape they had wrapped around it. This gave me good room to work with, its pretty tight in there. It may be easier to remove the whole bottom panel, I just didnt want to figure out how to take it off.

Next, simply tap the only Purple/White wire in the plug, Pin #5.

I tried 4 times tapping the Purple/White at the ECU behind the glove box, but it didnt work. Thats where most of the threads here tell you to tap. As stated before, it seems like it may have changed from 2008 and older trucks.

Hope this helps someone..
I tapped into the exact wire you mentioned. The next day my check engine and VSC lights went on. Didn't know what the cause was but when I went to Toyota they hooked up a scanner and told me the lights came on because of a problem with the speed sensor.

I took the bottom panel off and accessed the wire with no problems. Used the tap that clamps the wires running parallel to each other with what I thought was no problem. I don't why it's giving me an issue. I have a 2010 but I don't know if that matters.

Has anyone else used this same connection in a 2010?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 11:33 AM   #18
Member
gcancilla is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2010, #41885
Gender: Male
Posts: 32
gcancilla's Tacoma Gallery
I have the 2010 and was thinking about attempting this. Did you ever figure out if it is the same wire on the 2010?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 07:48 PM   #19
Member
Tom Cecc is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2010, #33682
Location: Florida
Gender: Male
Posts: 39
Tom Cecc's Tacoma Gallery
It is the same wire.
- Tom
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:33 AM   #20
Junior Member
cwsenn is on a distinguished road
Air Force: Communications
Name: Carroll
Joined: Jan 2011, #49049
Location: Columbia, SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 24
cwsenn's Tacoma Gallery
VSS 2009

I also found this link:
http://wiringinstructions.com/v2/wir...p?recnum=10339

which indicates that it's pin 13 on that black connector at the dash fuse box. Violet/White wire
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed sensor wire location? CK4500 Technical Chat 1 02-09-2012 09:43 AM
1999 VSS Wire color / location dblbkb 1st Gen. Tacomas 1 08-28-2010 06:16 AM
vehicle speed signal wire location? 75thrangertaco 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 07-04-2010 12:30 AM
speed sense wire info on the 09's stang88 Audio & Video 1 08-23-2009 09:48 PM
VSS wire location 2001 Xcab avdog Audio & Video 1 09-19-2007 06:40 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.