Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

2012 "modified fit" installation

Old 07-23-2012, 08:07 PM   #1
jgorniak is on a distinguished road
jgorniak's Tacoma Gallery
2012 "modified fit" installation

Hi, Taco newbie here with a question I haven't seen answered yet (or maybe I didn't search well enough).

I'm looking to replace the factory HU with something better from Pioneer, Alpine, Kenwood, etc. I understand that there are no 2012 dash kits yet, but the 2011 kits work "okay". However, on the Crutchfield site, most of the units are tagged as "modified fit". A rep I chatted with said: "In the case of the 2012 Tacoma it is referencing the need for a mounting kit to be custom fabricated."

So my question: has anyone made this mounting kit yet, or is it included with the dash kits that aren't available yet? If you did fab one, how difficult was it? Are there any other ways to work around this for now?

Thanks for the help, and I apologize if this has been asked before.

John
Old 07-23-2012, 11:06 PM   #2
Alaskan is on a distinguished road
Name: Ryan
Alaskan's Tacoma Gallery
There is one on crutchfield but its $200 and only works with one companies nav. unit which is another $1400, supposibly scosche is coming out with one in september but who knows.
Old 07-24-2012, 04:20 AM   #3
So the mounting kit Crutchfield refers to is the dash kit? Got it; I thought they might have been two different parts, with the dash kit being what you can see on the outside.

In that case, which 2011 kits have you guys used in the 2012's? How "off" is the fit? If you're looking for a new head unit on Crutchfield, are you entering your vehicle as a 2011 Tacoma?

Sorry for so many questions; this will be my first major install.
Old 07-29-2012, 08:11 PM   #4