Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Tacoma 2001 stock stereo replacement

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2007, 11:05 PM   #1
CantCme [OP] CantCme is offline
Junior Member
CantCme is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2007, #2260
Posts: 8
CantCme's Tacoma Gallery
Talking Tacoma 2001 stock stereo replacement

Im looking to replace the stock head unit with a new one and throw in a sub and amp. I needed help with the removal of the stock unit and what im going to need for the new one. If anyone knows anything let me know. Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 02:59 AM   #2
Offroad Enthusiast
BrianPK is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2007, #1083
Location: Modesto, California
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
BrianPK's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to BrianPK
you're in luck my friend... i just so happen to have replaced the stock head unit in my 2001.

the job is pretty simple...

first, you'll want to remove the thermostat knobs... they just pull off. then, the black plate surrounding the knobs.

behind the plate, you'll see a few accessable screws... you're only going to get 2 of them for this job. the first is on the right side (they're kind of a dark brownish black color) the other is on the left going into the dash toward the windshield.

you'll be unlatching the entire molding (around the vents, thermostat, stereo, ash tray) to do this, first remove the clips on the piece of molding that houses the power outlets (right below the ashtray) you don't need to remove it, just let it loose to give yourself some slack.

next, you'll want to point the two middle vents down, put your fingers in them, and pull back/down towards the seats. the dash part should just pop out.

be careful of all the wiring attached to it, some of the clips holding it in are weak... you don't want to break them... i just set it on top of the steering wheel for the time being... all i had to unplug was the ashtray light...

this isn't the first time i've done a tacoma stereo install, so i knew what i wanted. i ordered the stock "cubby, cubby/stereo brackets and some hardware" from a 96 toyota tacoma (they came with a more traditional sized stock stereo back then, and i wanted a cubby) it came to about $35 from the dealership.

there are 4 philips-head screws holding the head unit in place. remove those, pull the assembly out and you should be good to go.

hope this helps...
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 11:56 AM   #3
CantCme [OP] CantCme is offline
Junior Member
CantCme is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2007, #2260
Posts: 8
CantCme's Tacoma Gallery
Talking

Thanks alont man. Its sounds pretty simple. Did you ever run an amp in your truck.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 03:27 PM   #4
Offroad Enthusiast
BrianPK is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2007, #1083
Location: Modesto, California
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
BrianPK's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to BrianPK
yeah, i stuck it under the driver's seat. i ran the amp outputs over the steering rod(under the dash there's a bracket with enough room to safely run the wiring without catching on moving parts), through the body panels to the spot under the seat, and then ran the speaker wires back through the body panels and through the bracket to the stock speaker wires location... maybe a little unorthodox, but i wanted to beable to quickly re-wire it when it went up for sale. i ran it like that for a year and a half... no probs.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 11:44 PM   #5
CantCme [OP] CantCme is offline
Junior Member
CantCme is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2007, #2260
Posts: 8
CantCme's Tacoma Gallery
Talking

Thanks alot man. Helped Alot.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 02:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
Lee's06Taco is on a distinguished road
 
Lee's06Taco's Avatar
Joined: May 2007, #1652
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 173
Lee's06Taco's Tacoma Gallery
do a search on this forum and you shall find the answer. it also comes w/photo to help you out. i've actually use it and replace the unit w/a pioneer Avic-D3.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 12:48 PM   #7
CantCme [OP] CantCme is offline
Junior Member
CantCme is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2007, #2260
Posts: 8
CantCme's Tacoma Gallery
Talking

Hey man about your 01 tacoma. I was trying to fit sub box right behind the passengers seat. I dont have my truck right now but wanted to know the exact dimensions of the rear room. If you could tell me how much room i have to work with with seats all the way back on their tracks. Thanks man.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:34 PM   #8
Senior Member
TacoBlitz is on a distinguished road
Name: Jake
Joined: Oct 2010, #45430
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Gender: Male
Posts: 289
TacoBlitz's Tacoma Gallery
I ended up with one left over black screw... I do not know what I missed but I triple checked everythng and it looks like all of the screws are in place.

Does anyone know the exact amount of screws there are supposed to be when doing this job??? I apparently removed a total of 5 black screws but could only find 4 places to put them when re-installing the head unit.


Thanks in advanced
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2001-04 Tacoma Frame Rust Inspection/Replacement Question palmxp3 1st Gen. Tacomas 31 09-07-2014 12:01 PM
Need help ondouble din stereo, gps for 2001 tacoma doublecab CaptainT 1st Gen. Tacomas 0 01-03-2012 06:54 PM
My 2008 Tacoma Stereo Replacement with pics lesliedp3 2nd Gen. Tacomas 17 09-26-2010 07:11 PM
2001 Tacoma in NY (frame replacement in process) dangyankee65 1st Gen. Tacomas 9 04-13-2010 11:42 AM
How do I change the stereo in my 2001 tacoma? Frank Cappelletti 1st Gen. Tacomas 3 04-13-2008 11:31 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.