LSC15's 95 Tacoma 4x4

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Alpine IVA-w205 install... 2 extra wires...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2009, 09:15 AM   #1
jwa4378 [OP] jwa4378 is offline
Junior Member
jwa4378 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2009, #12475
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
jwa4378's Tacoma Gallery
Alpine IVA-w205 install... 2 extra wires...

Hey everyone-

I am new to this board. I am working on my father's 2009 Tacoma Xtra Cab, installing an Alpine IVA-w205 head unit, and related XM Radio peripherals.

I have it installed any working great.

I need advice on 2 wires from the HU... The Parking Brake and Foot Brake signals.

Ideally, I would like to be able to watch DVD's while driving too... I know that one of the Alpine signals needs to be grounded for that...

Also, I noticed in the manual that a sequence of parking light and foot brake light are required in order to get the "General" tab in "Setup" to appear. Is there any way to bypass this effectively?

Thanks again guys!

John

ps... Here are a few pics of my Honda S2000.... I buy the work, and install it all myself.
Custom A-pillars:

Alpine MRV-F545 pushing Alpine Type-X components up front + sub:

Kenwood HU (custom 2-DIN faceplate):
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:55 AM   #2
Member
DJ@LLX is on a distinguished road
 
DJ@LLX's Avatar
Army: 203rd Trans Bat
Joined: Dec 2008, #11740
Location: Reston, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
DJ@LLX's Tacoma Gallery
I found this see if it helps you i am also trying to figure it out.

http://www.chevyavalanchefanclub.com...pic=105060.new
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:57 AM   #3
ElPhantasmo&TheChickenRunBlastarama
rutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud of
Joined: Feb 2008, #4966
Gender: Male
Posts: 816
rutherk1's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via Yahoo to rutherk1
You can wire one to the foot brake and 1 to a switch.

When I had my W505 installed I used the PAC TR7. It comes from the factory with the Alpine pulse sequence programmed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:05 AM   #4
Member
DJ@LLX is on a distinguished road
 
DJ@LLX's Avatar
Army: 203rd Trans Bat
Joined: Dec 2008, #11740
Location: Reston, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
DJ@LLX's Tacoma Gallery
found one better

http://www.egatech.com/varios/avalanche/indexe.htm
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:08 AM   #5
ElPhantasmo&TheChickenRunBlastarama
rutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud of
Joined: Feb 2008, #4966
Gender: Male
Posts: 816
rutherk1's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via Yahoo to rutherk1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ@LLX View Post
?????

Err. Get the TR7. Its 4 wires and you are done and bypasses the video lockout.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 02:25 PM   #6
jwa4378 [OP] jwa4378 is offline
Junior Member
jwa4378 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2009, #12475
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
jwa4378's Tacoma Gallery
Awesome. Yeah, I found the TR7 this afternoon at a shop locally. Picking it up tomorrow over lunch. I went to get it today after work, but the idiot gave me a TR4 when I came in... I walked in, said I had called earlier about the TR7, he walks back to the install bay, grabs a PAC module, hands it to me. I give him $15 and head out (it was a used module he was selling me, and this TR4 was used, so I did not question it was the wrong one). Check it at a redlight in traffic, DOH! Call back, he says he has the TR7 in his hand, and apologizes profusely.

While I have a few of you in this thread, can anyone recommend a spray paint to match the factory 09 silver interior (looking for a rattle-can, not straight paint)? The stupid blank from crutchfield only comes in black (or so they told my mom when she ordered). I am looking for Krylon or other major national brand names that can be found at places like AutoZone, Pep Boys, etc. Or something online (if it matches perfectly, I will order that).

Looks kind of funky being the only black panel on the dash (other than the top).

Thanks again!

John
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:44 PM   #7
Blinking Car Mod...
RedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRedruM29 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
RedruM29's Avatar
Name: Kyle
Joined: Feb 2008, #4594
Location: Nor☆Cal
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 624
RedruM29's Tacoma Gallery
just throw down for the scoshe kit it looks way better than the black, hope everything worked out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:49 PM   #8
ElPhantasmo&TheChickenRunBlastarama
rutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud ofrutherk1 has much to be proud of
Joined: Feb 2008, #4966
Gender: Male
Posts: 816
rutherk1's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via Yahoo to rutherk1
Go metra. Crutchfield doesn't ship the oem tecture kit for some reason. They have color and bumpy match silver and black at circuity city in metra. The scosche kit is flimsy. The guys at schose are mean too. I swapped it for metra recently
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 06:11 PM   #10
jwa4378 [OP] jwa4378 is offline
Junior Member
jwa4378 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2009, #12475
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
jwa4378's Tacoma Gallery
Scosche kit ordered... I don't plan on taking it in and out... Only requests from the pops were navigation, iPod, and XM. We are not running any subs, external amps, or anything like that.

If it were MY Tacoma, that would be a different answer! lol

John
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 05:44 PM   #11
Member
DJ@LLX is on a distinguished road
 
DJ@LLX's Avatar
Army: 203rd Trans Bat
Joined: Dec 2008, #11740
Location: Reston, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
DJ@LLX's Tacoma Gallery
I am waiting for spring so i can start working on the Stereo System for my Taco. too cold here to do any work outside
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alpine W205 w/ Blackbird II + extras Muy Grande Texas 0 02-10-2012 09:57 AM
Re: Alpine IVA-W203 + NVE-P1 (AKA IVA-NAV1) + Extras mattg43 Buy / Sell / Trade 6 05-19-2011 06:28 PM
FS: Alpine IVA-W205 In-Dash dvd/nav/mp3 CAMZTRD Buy / Sell / Trade 10 09-16-2009 08:11 AM
Alpine IVA-W205 Dash kit etc. help KRich Audio & Video 3 02-21-2009 09:39 AM
FS: ALPINE IVA-W205 In-dash DVD player w/touchscreen! - $650-OBO veloze Buy / Sell / Trade 10 05-11-2008 02:55 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.