Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Can you replace the HU on a JBL system?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2012, 10:45 AM   #1
JayB27 [OP] JayB27 is offline
Senior Member
JayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the rough
 
JayB27's Avatar
Name: Jason
Joined: Oct 2012, #88609
Location: Orange County, CA.
Gender: Male
Posts: 332
JayB27's Tacoma Gallery
Can you replace the HU on a JBL system?

Hi, I want to upgrade my system in my truck. I have a 2010 dc with the jbl system. Im fine with the system but i hate the head unit. Is it possible to just put a new touch screen Hu in it? Im reading mixed reviews with lots saying you can't. You lose features and cant use steering wheel controls etc.. etc...

I have a blue tooth and wheel controls and back up camera in mirror so I don't to lose any of my features replacing the HU.

If someone could link me to some things or recommend a Hu.

I'm looking for a touch screen. no nav, maybe pandora features nothin to crazy priced.

Thanks in advanced,
Jason
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 03:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
Cain has a brilliant futureCain has a brilliant futureCain has a brilliant futureCain has a brilliant futureCain has a brilliant futureCain has a brilliant futureCain has a brilliant futureCain has a brilliant futureCain has a brilliant futureCain has a brilliant futureCain has a brilliant future
 
Cain's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2012, #87336
Location: Southern California
Gender: Male
Posts: 408
Cain's Tacoma Gallery
Your In OC? Go talk to Tom at Beach Auto Sound In Huntington Beach, hes at Beach and Talbert next to Der Wienerschnitzel. I talked to him about my Stero, I too have the entune, I have gone to him for 5 previous vehicles. Tell Him Hucky, my nickname sent you, or call
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:39 PM   #3
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 7,557
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
You will need this guy to retain the stock amplifier.

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...RB-TA07SR.html


The rest of the system is very straight forward for installation. You will only need to run a power wire, ground, remote, and dimmer wire (if desired) to your head unit. The rest will run with your head units RCA pre-outs. Make sure you get a unit with 4 channel pre-out.

Lemme know if you have any other questions. I did this before.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:29 PM   #4
JayB27 [OP] JayB27 is offline
Senior Member
JayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the rough
 
JayB27's Avatar
Name: Jason
Joined: Oct 2012, #88609
Location: Orange County, CA.
Gender: Male
Posts: 332
JayB27's Tacoma Gallery
^ Nice, Thanks guys. I'm not sure exactly when I will be getting a new head unit. I just wanted to see if it was going to be possible. This will be my next thing I buy for the truck
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:35 PM   #5
2 4 LIFE!!!
TuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shedTuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shedTuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shedTuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shedTuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shedTuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shedTuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shedTuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shedTuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shedTuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shedTuFerLife is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
TuFerLife's Avatar
Name: Taylor
Joined: Apr 2012, #77564
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,467
TuFerLife's Tacoma Gallery
I took my sub/amp/head unit all out if my JBL system. Granted the whole system shut down as soon as I pulled the amp... So I had to splice into each wire and run them from the back of my cab all the way up to my head unit to run the speakers off the head unit. It kind of sucked, but I was glad to bypass that stupid system... And I got to clear up some room in the back for some subwoofers!!! Woohoo
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:04 PM   #6
JayB27 [OP] JayB27 is offline
Senior Member
JayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the rough
 
JayB27's Avatar
Name: Jason
Joined: Oct 2012, #88609
Location: Orange County, CA.
Gender: Male
Posts: 332
JayB27's Tacoma Gallery
The link you sent me says compatible with 2003-2007 I own a 2010
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:07 PM   #7
JayB27 [OP] JayB27 is offline
Senior Member
JayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the rough
 
JayB27's Avatar
Name: Jason
Joined: Oct 2012, #88609
Location: Orange County, CA.
Gender: Male
Posts: 332
JayB27's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuFerLife View Post
I took my sub/amp/head unit all out if my JBL system. Granted the whole system shut down as soon as I pulled the amp... So I had to splice into each wire and run them from the back of my cab all the way up to my head unit to run the speakers off the head unit. It kind of sucked, but I was glad to bypass that stupid system... And I got to clear up some room in the back for some subwoofers!!! Woohoo

Dude that sucks you had to go through all that. Ive never done stereo wiring like that. hope I don't have to go through all that.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:08 PM   #8
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 7,557
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayB27 View Post
The link you sent me says compatible with 2003-2007 I own a 2010

I'd put money on it being the same If you're not comfortable with my advice... here is a PAC version for more money that does the same thing AND says its for your year.

http://www.soundadvice.com/PAC-JBL-A...ATO-P3398.aspx



Its all the same though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:17 PM   #9
JayB27 [OP] JayB27 is offline
Senior Member
JayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the rough
 
JayB27's Avatar
Name: Jason
Joined: Oct 2012, #88609
Location: Orange County, CA.
Gender: Male
Posts: 332
JayB27's Tacoma Gallery
Yeah I wouldn't doubt its the same since Toyota hasn't made many changes to the tacos. Is it difficult to wire everything up for a new head unit? I've never installed a radio before.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:19 PM   #10
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 7,557
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
4 wires are all you'll need to splice. Easy as pie to do. Hardest part will be fitting all the stuff behind the head unit in the dash. The adapter takes up a decent amount of space.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 01:24 AM   #11
JayB27 [OP] JayB27 is offline
Senior Member
JayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the roughJayB27 is a jewel in the rough
 
JayB27's Avatar
Name: Jason
Joined: Oct 2012, #88609
Location: Orange County, CA.
Gender: Male
Posts: 332
JayB27's Tacoma Gallery
hmm ok. I know who to bug when I get my head unit and start my install =) i went to crutchfield.com and it gave me a list of HU that are compatible. with correct adapter of course
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 08:37 AM   #13
Bah Humshit!
brian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrian is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
brian's Avatar
Coast Guard: Work and Fly on the Four Fans of Freedom
Joined: Apr 2009, #16011
Location: Roseville, CA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 7,557
brian's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to brian
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayB27 View Post
hmm ok. I know who to bug when I get my head unit and start my install =) i went to crutchfield.com and it gave me a list of HU that are compatible. with correct adapter of course

There should be no 'compatible' and 'incompatible' radios. I don't know why crutchfield is doing this. Radios adopted the standard ISO 7736 ages ago, so all radios are meant to be the same size. The only thing that can change is the depth... but the taco's got a pretty deep dash so I still don't understand.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Full Factory Speaker System from both JBL and Non-JBL Trucks ATLHOTACO 2nd Gen Tacoma Marketplace 12 11-19-2013 06:14 PM
Looking to replace the HU in my 2009 w/ JBL & Bluetooth & Backup Cam - *confused* irshliquor Audio & Video 3 09-21-2012 10:47 PM
Aftermarket HU, wired to stock JBL system, options from there? Rock Coppus Audio & Video 10 05-02-2012 02:48 PM
Identify JBL or non JBL HU Alby9999 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 02-29-2012 10:50 AM
Aftermarket HU... eliminate JBL system? stringah Audio & Video 2 11-24-2009 09:22 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.