Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Pioneer AVHP4900 DVD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2007, 08:49 PM   #1
socko3161 [OP] socko3161 is offline
Member
socko3161 is on a distinguished road
 
socko3161's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2007, #2107
Location: Shrewsbury Pa
Age: 27
Posts: 56
socko3161's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to socko3161
Pioneer AVHP4900 DVD

Just tried to install this yesterday and The damn connection that goes into the back of the Head unit would not go in... But does anyone have an easier way to connect the E-Brake sensor wire or is there a way around it???
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 08:35 AM   #2
I dub thee malicious!
007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
007Tacoma's Avatar
Name: Mark
Joined: Jan 2007, #643
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 33
Gender: Guy
Posts: 6,706
007Tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to 007Tacoma
I don't have any experience with this unit, but if you put up some pics I could try to help you out.

I don't intend to sound demeaning in any case, but is it possible that you have the connector upside down or perhaps you have the wrong one?

As far as the E-Brake line, it is probably a ground wire, so you could ground it out. If not, you could go the other way and see if it needs a current. Just be careful. You don't want to fry your new unit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 11:32 AM   #3
Sooooooper Moderator
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 24,508
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
w/ my head unit, i believe we tied in the parking brake wire to the 12v connection to bypass the "no dvd while driving" problem. i'm not sure if the unit u have has that issue though. there's a site that has a forum dedicated to all things pioneer. its primarily for the avic units, but also has parts for other units. its avic411.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 05:00 AM   #4
socko3161 [OP] socko3161 is offline
Member
socko3161 is on a distinguished road
 
socko3161's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2007, #2107
Location: Shrewsbury Pa
Age: 27
Posts: 56
socko3161's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to socko3161
Problem Solved

ok, so I figured out what my problem was with the head Unit connection, the jackass that sold it to me on eBay must have opened the box and put another connection in it... But I pulled some trickery on Circuit City and got the right cable... and as far as the parking break issue... Apparently all the wire needs is to be grounded... Once it was grounded, I had to put in a toggle switch b/c if the unit starts up, and it is seeing a ground already, then it still pops the warning up that video mode is not available, so basically the toggle switch is just switching the ground on and off and now it is connected to a bolt on the frame and not to the parking break anymore.... But I love the head unit and it really makes the stock speakers thump, Im afraid to turn them up really b/c I dont want to blow the speakers out before I plan on replacing them... Here are some pics!!!


iPod Hook Up

Toggle Switch
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 05:30 AM   #5
I dub thee malicious!
007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
007Tacoma's Avatar
Name: Mark
Joined: Jan 2007, #643
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 33
Gender: Guy
Posts: 6,706
007Tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to 007Tacoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by socko3161 View Post
Here are some pics!!!
I fixed those pics for ya! We were just getting the code and no pics.

If you post pics on here from Photobucket, you can click on the IMG Code box, and it will copy the necessary string automaticly. Then you just paste into your post, and voila! pictures!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 11:01 AM   #6
socko3161 [OP] socko3161 is offline
Member
socko3161 is on a distinguished road
 
socko3161's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2007, #2107
Location: Shrewsbury Pa
Age: 27
Posts: 56
socko3161's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to socko3161
Yea, thanks... It was taking me a while... Im used to the HTML format from putting stuff up on myspace, and I wasn't sure about the code on here... Your Thread on how to replace the head unti was wonderful, it helped a lot... Any idea how to install one of these Steering Wheel control adapters???
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 11:12 AM   #7
I dub thee malicious!
007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
007Tacoma's Avatar
Name: Mark
Joined: Jan 2007, #643
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 33
Gender: Guy
Posts: 6,706
007Tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to 007Tacoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by socko3161 View Post
...Any idea how to install one of these Steering Wheel control adapters???
Sorry. I don't even have the steering wheel controls on my Tacoma. My limited understanding is that it is all done behind the head unit on the control wires themselves.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone with a pioneer DVD unit and bypass? 93civEJ1 Audio & Video 6 02-02-2012 10:22 AM
pioneer 4200 dvd H2447INTX Buy / Sell / Trade 10 01-18-2012 09:00 PM
Pioneer AVH-P3100 DVD Install (New Pics) thai fyter Audio & Video 2 04-26-2010 09:34 PM
Pioneer Avh 4100 Dvd sctrd09 Audio & Video 0 08-03-2009 05:50 PM
Pioneer Avh P4000 DVD Delrivpilot Audio & Video 4 08-03-2009 09:44 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.