Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Adding a 5v 3amp USB charge port - need help

Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2013, 08:22 PM   #1
Rt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shedRt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shedRt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shedRt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shedRt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shedRt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shedRt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shedRt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shedRt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shedRt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shedRt1Box92A is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Jim
Rt1Box92A's Tacoma Gallery
Adding a 5v 3amp USB charge port - need help

First disclaimer: I'm new to TW, and I searched lots of threads specific to the USB idea I have... but, I didnt find anything quite what I'm thinking.

Second disclaimer: This might not be the right forum, ... it might be close to being the right one!

Third disclaimer: I don't know a whole lot about electric, although I get real attentive when it begins to smoke and spark.

So here's the idea:

I'm trying to put together a semi-mod 'off-the-shelf' solution for a dedicated USB charging port for a Samsung Note II used for nav, mp3, and misc stuff like phone calls ... anyway, the device is a real power hog.

I've learned that 5 volts is the USB charging standard, and that many/most adapters push (at best) 1000ma. Some I have found can push 2100ma.

This panel mount device from Blue Sea (part number 1016) has a 2.1amp and a 1.0amp USB port... The square bracket is removable for a clean install. It looks like the quickest solution ($25-$30 + wire and adapt-a-fuse.)

The next option is piecing together two separate components, with the benefit of gaining 3amps total power output...