Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Wiring question for alpine hu on JBL system

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2013, 06:14 PM   #1
Paco3010 [OP] Paco3010 is offline
Junior Member
Paco3010 is on a distinguished road
Marines:
Name: Craig
Joined: Jan 2013, #94451
Location: Hanover PA
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
Paco3010's Tacoma Gallery
Wiring question for alpine hu on JBL system

I'm installing an Alpine Double din HU to my JBL system (2012 double cab). After adding the PAC wiring harness for the JBL system, my buddy doing the install says either something is missing on the harness or we have to splice all the wires (speakers) etc.. Sonic Electronics upon ordering said it was an easy install and basically plug and play. This weekend when I called the customer service guy wasn't sure and has to get back to me...so, do we have to splice the wires or did we drink too much beer and overlooked something? Btw, my buddy hooked up my old system and did a good job. But, according to him he is "old school", and not used to this high tech stuff...as for me, don't know jack about wiring! Thanks guys!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:11 AM   #3
Paco3010 [OP] Paco3010 is offline
Junior Member
Paco3010 is on a distinguished road
Marines:
Name: Craig
Joined: Jan 2013, #94451
Location: Hanover PA
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
Paco3010's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks Kevin...we are still in the process of connecting wires etc.. We only had limited time to work on it saturday. I will post some pics this evening to show our dilema and where we're at. If you could check back and give some input i would GREATLY appreciate it!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:39 AM   #4
My pee parts itch
dexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the sheddexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the sheddexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the sheddexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the sheddexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the sheddexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the sheddexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the sheddexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the sheddexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the sheddexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the sheddexterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
dexterdog's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2009, #19571
Location: Oly WA
Age: 41
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,466
dexterdog's Tacoma Gallery
If you got the correct wiring harness you shouldn't have to cut anything. I wouldn't cut my factory wiring for just a HU install.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 04:58 PM   #6
Paco3010 [OP] Paco3010 is offline
Junior Member
Paco3010 is on a distinguished road
Marines:
Name: Craig
Joined: Jan 2013, #94451
Location: Hanover PA
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
Paco3010's Tacoma Gallery
Ok, had another guy look at my set up, and he also said there is no plug for power to the head unit. The PAC Tato wiring harness is for the Toyota with JBL, so it says, so either they sent the wrong wiring harness or the Alpine I'VE-W535HD is not adaptable to this set up....thoughts??
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you replace the HU on a JBL system? JayB27 Audio & Video 12 10-28-2012 09:37 AM
Aftermarket HU, wired to stock JBL system, options from there? Rock Coppus Audio & Video 10 05-02-2012 03:48 PM
JBL Sound System Wiring Diagram calvaryg 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 02-22-2012 10:38 AM
Aftermarket HU... eliminate JBL system? stringah Audio & Video 2 11-24-2009 10:22 PM
Question about Alpine 9884 HU InaKoma08 Audio & Video 4 12-24-2008 02:00 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.