Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

CB antenna wiring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-24-2013, 06:05 PM   #1
Minnis12 [OP] Minnis12 is offline
Senior Member
Minnis12 is on a distinguished road
 
Minnis12's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Nov 2011, #67802
Location: Blanchard, La
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Minnis12's Tacoma Gallery
CB antenna wiring

Mounted my cb antenna to my toolbox so It doesn't ground properly. I tried running a ground wire from one of the mount screws to the acres on the bed liner that screw into the bed (I put the connector between the screw and the washer). It's still not working properly. Any suggestions???
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
650H1's Avatar
Law Enforcement: Police
Name: Mike
Joined: Jan 2011, #48689
Location: NH
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,131
650H1's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minnis12 View Post
Mounted my cb antenna to my toolbox so It doesn't ground properly. I tried running a ground wire from one of the mount screws to the acres on the bed liner that screw into the bed (I put the connector between the screw and the washer). It's still not working properly. Any suggestions???
wire it to a chassis ground.

how do you know its not working right?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:09 PM   #3
Minnis12 [OP] Minnis12 is offline
Senior Member
Minnis12 is on a distinguished road
 
Minnis12's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Nov 2011, #67802
Location: Blanchard, La
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Minnis12's Tacoma Gallery
Cause when I touch the antenna mount, it shocks the hell out of me. And the cb doesn't get very good reception.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
650H1's Avatar
Law Enforcement: Police
Name: Mike
Joined: Jan 2011, #48689
Location: NH
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,131
650H1's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minnis12 View Post
Cause when I touch the antenna mount, it shocks the hell out of me. And the cb doesn't get very good reception.
i wired my mount-ground to a bolt on the front of the bed behind the back of the cab.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:25 PM   #5
Minnis12 [OP] Minnis12 is offline
Senior Member
Minnis12 is on a distinguished road
 
Minnis12's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Nov 2011, #67802
Location: Blanchard, La
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Minnis12's Tacoma Gallery
Alright I'll look at it. I have a mirror mount and I just mounted it on my box cause I didn't wanna drill into my truck. Where did you run your coaxial cable into the cab?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed650H1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
650H1's Avatar
Law Enforcement: Police
Name: Mike
Joined: Jan 2011, #48689
Location: NH
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,131
650H1's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minnis12 View Post
Alright I'll look at it. I have a mirror mount and I just mounted it on my box cause I didn't wanna drill into my truck. Where did you run your coaxial cable into the cab?
there is a small rubber seal in the fl in front of the drivers seat under the carpet. i just zip tied it with the chassis all the way up. i mounted mine in the bed rail with a mirror mount.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:29 PM   #7
Minnis12 [OP] Minnis12 is offline
Senior Member
Minnis12 is on a distinguished road
 
Minnis12's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Nov 2011, #67802
Location: Blanchard, La
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Minnis12's Tacoma Gallery
Could you post a picture of how you mounted that?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:41 PM   #8
Thin Blue Line
ProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ProForce's Avatar
Name: Anthony
Joined: Oct 2009, #24205
Location: SoCal-Ontario
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,767
ProForce's Tacoma Gallery
It takes much more than a good ground to make a CB work correctly. You need a 'good' antenna, the correct cable (5ohm 58 or 59 depending on your application), a good ground, a properly powered radio, no kinks or slack in wire, and a properly tuned antenna using an SWR. Keying the mic on your radio before all this is done can severely damage your radio. Have to do things right otherwise it won't work. Its nearly impossible to know if your ground is bad without an SWR.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:51 PM   #9
Minnis12 [OP] Minnis12 is offline
Senior Member
Minnis12 is on a distinguished road
 
Minnis12's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Nov 2011, #67802
Location: Blanchard, La
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Minnis12's Tacoma Gallery
I don't have a tunable antenna but it is a decent fiberglass one. And my radio is also decent. It's all good parts I just need to get it tuned right I guess. I haven't need the mic cause I haven't picked up anyone talking. Just static and when I adjust the SQL it's just silent. And I live by a highway.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:00 PM   #10
Minnis12 [OP] Minnis12 is offline
Senior Member
Minnis12 is on a distinguished road
 
Minnis12's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Nov 2011, #67802
Location: Blanchard, La
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Minnis12's Tacoma Gallery
Never mind. To time my antenna I need an swr meter and I need to trim it 1/4" at a time until channels 1 and 40 match up on the meter.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:11 PM   #11
mmm Tacos
Swordknives is a glorious beacon of lightSwordknives is a glorious beacon of lightSwordknives is a glorious beacon of lightSwordknives is a glorious beacon of lightSwordknives is a glorious beacon of lightSwordknives is a glorious beacon of light
 
Swordknives's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2012, #89314
Location: South OC CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 184
Swordknives's Tacoma Gallery
To test for a ground use a miltimeter. You can find them at lows or home depot for $20. I would suggest taking your set up to your local radio shop for help, as they can help you tune and troubble shoot.

Google and search are your friends, google tuning a cb antenna and you will learn more than you ever thought you could.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:21 AM   #12
Thin Blue Line
ProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ProForce's Avatar
Name: Anthony
Joined: Oct 2009, #24205
Location: SoCal-Ontario
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,767
ProForce's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swordknives View Post
To test for a ground use a miltimeter. You can find them at lows or home depot for $20. I would suggest taking your set up to your local radio shop for help, as they can help you tune and troubble shoot.

Google and search are your friends, google tuning a cb antenna and you will learn more than you ever thought you could.
Yes a DMM will confirm if you have ground or not, but only an SWR will tell you if your ground is sufficient enough for good operation of the radio.

And OP, I do recommend searching for this stuff online as well. Go to the Firestick website and check out their FAQ section. Every question you could ever have plus more.

If your not comfortable or knowledgeable enough, take it too a shop as suggested. These things require special tools and knowledge otherwise you can/will destroy a brand new radio in seconds.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 05:49 PM   #13
Minnis12 [OP] Minnis12 is offline
Senior Member
Minnis12 is on a distinguished road
 
Minnis12's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Nov 2011, #67802
Location: Blanchard, La
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Minnis12's Tacoma Gallery
My great grand father has an swr that I'm gonna use when I get a day off. Doesn't seem too difficult. Just understand what it is that your looking at and what your trying to find.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 07:11 PM   #14
Minnis12 [OP] Minnis12 is offline
Senior Member
Minnis12 is on a distinguished road
 
Minnis12's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Nov 2011, #67802
Location: Blanchard, La
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Minnis12's Tacoma Gallery
I got another question if anyone is still checking, i need to run my Coax through the rear wall behind my seats. i found where to put it but the connector wont fit through the slot. if i cut it to put it through then splice it back together, will that cause any problems with my signal cause ive always heard NOT to shorten the wire but im not shortening it, just cutting it for a few minutes.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antenna cb help emilminasian Audio & Video 1 01-24-2013 01:12 PM
WTT: 4' FireFly CB antenna for 2' CB antenna Taco Man in HD Buy / Sell / Trade - Other 1 02-03-2012 08:33 AM
cb antenna ??? pinchetaco 2nd Gen. Tacomas 16 06-16-2011 07:36 AM
FS: Cobra CB radio, PA, antenna, and wiring VooDoo Buy / Sell / Trade 2 04-30-2011 05:43 AM
cb antenna ? grizzbear Audio & Video 4 01-31-2010 07:48 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.