Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Sub cuts out at low volumes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2013, 02:43 PM   #1
Member
adaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
adaptedtheory's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2012, #80596
Location: .505.
Gender: Male
Posts: 63
adaptedtheory's Tacoma Gallery
Sub cuts out at low volumes

Started experiencing this problem a LONG time ago, then blew my last Sundown, so when I got a new Sundown, I re-located my ground (which I thought was the cause of the problem).

Now, I replaced the Sundown SA-8 (w the same Kicker 500 powering it). At low volumes, the sub often won't play at all (the amp appears to be running as normal). This often happens right when starting my truck up. If I turn the volume up loud enough, it's like the sub will 'catch' and then I can even turn it down and it'll hit normally. But you can even hear a slight variation in how hard it's hitting sometimes; and if i take a sharp turn or hit a bump in the road, it'll cut out again. I really don't think it's the ground (it's definitely bolted down) but is there anyway to know for sure really? To me, the fact that bumps and turns effect whether or not the sub is hitting at all sounds like a ground issue; but i really don't think the ground is the problem.

Other things I considered include: voice coil (but if I press in on the sub it doesn't start hitting, so I figured that eliminated that idea), and also I have a STOCK battery from 2004 (but I figured if it wasn't putting out enough power then my amp wouldn't operate as normal?). I thought it was the battery on my last Sundown but we put a Multimeter to it and it was putting out adequate power. HELP!

Another note: there will also be times where it'll about "half-way hit", and you can tell it's trying to knock like usual but just doesn't have the power? Sounds like a blown sub almost but like I said, pushing on the cone doesn't effectively cause the sub to start functioning again.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:52 PM   #2
n00b
MJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
MJonAgs32's Avatar
Name: MJ
Joined: Apr 2009, #15949
Location: Union City, CA (SF Bay Area)
Age: 29
Gender: Dude
Posts: 8,027
MJonAgs32's Tacoma Gallery
I'm starting to have this very same problem!

sub'd to hear what the pros say
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 12:22 AM   #3
Member
hacklerjason is on a distinguished road
Name: Jason
Joined: Feb 2013, #97108
Location: Waikele, HI
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
hacklerjason's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to hacklerjason Send a message via MSN to hacklerjason Send a message via Yahoo to hacklerjason Send a message via Skype™ to hacklerjason
take a multimeter across the terminals of the sub, you can even do this at the amp where the wires connect the sub to the amp... i believe the coil windings should be pretty close to the spec of the sub... a 4 ohm coil may be anywhere from 3.3-4.7... ohm out your voice coil... if you get amything like "-1" "open" "-inf" they all mean open circuit or blown coils... if you get a reading that is outside the range, push your cone SOFTLY while measuring... if the numbers change in motion, likely to be bad tinsel leads behind the cone, bad connection at the wire screws, or bad coils... lmk what you find
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 03:33 PM   #4
Member
adaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shedadaptedtheory is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
adaptedtheory's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2012, #80596
Location: .505.
Gender: Male
Posts: 63
adaptedtheory's Tacoma Gallery
I'll give it a try when I get my hands at a multimeter at work, but does it seem particularly likely that this same problem would happen to the same sub twice?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:02 PM   #5
Junior Member
Solid808 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #89294
Location: Honolulu
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Solid808's Tacoma Gallery
Sounds like your RCA signal is bad
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 09:03 PM   #6
Member
hacklerjason is on a distinguished road
Name: Jason
Joined: Feb 2013, #97108
Location: Waikele, HI
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
hacklerjason's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to hacklerjason Send a message via MSN to hacklerjason Send a message via Yahoo to hacklerjason Send a message via Skype™ to hacklerjason
easy test for the rcas... get an adapter that has a 1/8 headphone jack on one end, and 2 rcas, left and right, and connect to your laptop... make a recording of the output from the rcas of your deck by connecting the 1/8 jack to your laptops line or headphone in... noise will present itself very distinctly... cutouts wont show a wave at all...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 09:05 PM   #7
Member
hacklerjason is on a distinguished road
Name: Jason
Joined: Feb 2013, #97108
Location: Waikele, HI
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
hacklerjason's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to hacklerjason Send a message via MSN to hacklerjason Send a message via Yahoo to hacklerjason Send a message via Skype™ to hacklerjason
is it hard to believe that the same exact sub would mechanically fail in the same manner as those before and after it? my opinion would be that it is not manufacturing defects, but you having found the limits of that particular sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by adaptedtheory View Post
I'll give it a try when I get my hands at a multimeter at work, but does it seem particularly likely that this same problem would happen to the same sub twice?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio cuts in and out stevetaco 2nd Gen. Tacomas 13 01-19-2014 06:04 PM
Buzz Cuts YellowDog01 Off-Topic Discussion 10 03-07-2011 09:27 PM
Volumes whippersnapper02 Entertainment 0 12-03-2010 12:48 PM
2.7 cuts out for a second while driving tacomaguy80 1st Gen. Tacomas 9 04-26-2009 09:57 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.