Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Ported Subwoofer Box Tuning. Need some help.

Old 04-12-2013, 07:36 AM   #1
KJaikaran will become famous soon enough
KJaikaran's Tacoma Gallery
Ported Subwoofer Box Tuning. Need some help.

Currently running an 8" kicker L7 in a ported box that i built. I have built other boxes in the past that I would tune at about 30hz-35hz, usually running 10"-12" subwoofers in cars with trunks. This is my first time doing a box in a truck and using an 8" sub woofer.

So, currently i am running the 8" L7 at 40hz (actually right in between 40hz-41hz) with 30hz subsonic filtering and it sounds good, but it is lacking the loudness of the lower frequencies. I like the way it sounds, but there is some songs that if you don't hear those low notes it kind of kills the song. So, i can actually close up the port a little to lower the frequencies with two different option, either 36hz or 33z. What i am really looking for is a little bit of every thing. I don't just want low pounding bass that people can hear me coming from down the street that doesn't handle the bass line very well, and i don't want only high bass notes and everything else under that sounds like crap.

Options:
1: Leave at 40HZ (Dont mind, not all songs hit low anyways.)
2: 36HZ (Not sure if i would actually notice the difference from 40HZ)
3: 33Hz (Not sure)
4: Rebuild the box with different tuning

So any opinions on the tuning would be appreciated.

Rough fitment:
Old 04-12-2013, 07:53 PM   #2
Sounds Gooooood