Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Problem with AMP power in 09 DC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2013, 02:26 PM   #1
4x4Taco09 [OP] 4x4Taco09 is offline
Senior Member
4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
4x4Taco09's Avatar
Air Force:
Name: Dane
Joined: Sep 2011, #63687
Location: Tucson
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 445
4x4Taco09's Tacoma Gallery
Problem with AMP power in 09 DC

I have 2 Kicker CVT 8s in a ported box powered by a Kicker ZX500.1. Stock head unit with just a step-down for right now

I have had this setup for about 3 years now, no problems ever, I've built MANY MANY systems (all kicker) and never had any problems. Anyway, about 3 months ago I noticed that my amp was no longer coming on? Well I figured that maybe the amp just blew something inside, wasn't mad since I've had it for a while and its not too expensive. Well I buy a new ZX500.1 amp and installed it about 30 minutes ago, the amp still doesn't come on? No blown fuses, good solid ground, ANL fuse up front is good, and all connections on the amp and behind the head unit are good.

I'm running Kicker 8GA wire, my ground lead is about 8" long (amp under the seat) grounded to a seat post. But I did notice that when I touched the ground lead every once and a while to the ground the "protection LED" would come on and go off, kind of blink once.

So maybe I need to step up to some 4GA wire? Maybe theres too much voltage drop? I've never had this problem or had anyone have this problem for me to figure out what is causing it.

Everything was working fine, nothing changed, then one day the amp stops turning on or working?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 02:29 PM   #2
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,011
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
Did you do this install while you had power connected?

Get a VM and check the 12g constant power then check the remote wire. Sounds like you got a short somewhere.

Also switch to 4g wire for that amp.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 02:46 PM   #3
4x4Taco09 [OP] 4x4Taco09 is offline
Senior Member
4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
4x4Taco09's Avatar
Air Force:
Name: Dane
Joined: Sep 2011, #63687
Location: Tucson
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 445
4x4Taco09's Tacoma Gallery
no, it was installed with the power off.
i dont have a VM here at my dorms. ill try and find one, im hoping that its just voltage drop, i figured i needed 4ga wire but o well

ill look up some bigger wire to
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 02:48 PM   #4
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,011
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
The amp will turn on with 14g speaker wire if you used it for power. You have something else going on. Typically I'd suggest to look and make sure nothing is grounding out. Frayed wire just sticking out and touching metal can cause this.

So its all hooked up, you turn on the truck, the HU kicks on, what lights come on the AMP?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 04:38 PM   #5
4x4Taco09 [OP] 4x4Taco09 is offline
Senior Member
4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
4x4Taco09's Avatar
Air Force:
Name: Dane
Joined: Sep 2011, #63687
Location: Tucson
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 445
4x4Taco09's Tacoma Gallery
Everything is hooked up. Turn the truck and HeadUnit in and nothing on the amp lights up
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 05:08 PM   #6
4x4Taco09 [OP] 4x4Taco09 is offline
Senior Member
4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
4x4Taco09's Avatar
Air Force:
Name: Dane
Joined: Sep 2011, #63687
Location: Tucson
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 445
4x4Taco09's Tacoma Gallery
Ok, it's the remote wire. For some reason now the remote wire connection on my step down isn't turning on the amp. I can jump from the power side of the amp to the remote side and it'll turn in

Where can I run this for ignition power only?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 08:12 PM   #7
4x4Taco09 [OP] 4x4Taco09 is offline
Senior Member
4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
4x4Taco09's Avatar
Air Force:
Name: Dane
Joined: Sep 2011, #63687
Location: Tucson
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 445
4x4Taco09's Tacoma Gallery
I just tapped it into my ACC fuse.
Well now my old amp works to. So now I have a mono 500 watt kicker amp for sale
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 10:22 AM   #8
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,011
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
Awesome you figured it out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 06:36 AM   #9
4x4Taco09 [OP] 4x4Taco09 is offline
Senior Member
4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed4x4Taco09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
4x4Taco09's Avatar
Air Force:
Name: Dane
Joined: Sep 2011, #63687
Location: Tucson
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 445
4x4Taco09's Tacoma Gallery
Yep. I want to upgrade my HU to a pioneer double din screen. Just have to narrow it down. I don't want GPS in it. It must be MP3, DVD, and touch screen are a must
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
09 Scion tC Urethane M Power Kit & Stock Intake ScottyP2448 Buy / Sell / Trade - Other 0 09-26-2012 09:41 PM
Thinking of getting a 2012 DC Tacoma - Should I Trade my 09 DC or sell it? Hossdawson 2nd Gen. Tacomas 23 08-09-2012 06:40 AM
Power Pop & Lock wiring problem (PL8521) bebopblues Technical Chat 0 08-21-2011 01:10 PM
New lift & wheels on 09 DC LB okietaco Wheels & Tires 17 05-24-2009 11:48 PM
Amp power problem LonghornTaco Audio & Video 13 01-02-2009 01:50 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.