Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

2013 Tacoma w/jbl&entune turns off then on by itself!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2013, 03:54 PM   #1
Senior Member
tacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud of
 
tacomalimited's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2013, #94500
Location: Northern NJ
Gender: Male
Posts: 425
tacomalimited's Tacoma Gallery
2013 Tacoma w/jbl&entune turns off then on by itself!

Anyone else have a problem with their stock stereo /nav with entune turning off by itself, then back on again??!!??
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:45 PM   #2
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Name: Colby
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Posts: 8,619
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
This issues is getting more and more common. I think you are the 3rd or 4th person I've seen with this issue. Wonder if there is a firmware update or something that can be applied. I've also heard of people saying it just changes radio stations at random as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:33 PM   #3
Member
VoyageTacoma is on a distinguished road
 
VoyageTacoma's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Jan 2013, #94173
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
VoyageTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Same exact problem here with my stereo.

I will be driving down the road listening to a song when the unit suddenly kicks off. The screen goes black, and then you see the Toyota logo from it booting up again.

I got a major run around from the dealer today saying they had to "know" what the problem was.

I had a feeling that replacing the radio would render the same issue.

It could be a line of code, or a bluetooth problem, or a power problem, I don't know. I know that they kinda shrug their shoulders like "sorry, we can't really help you."

I am glad to see there's this thread. My car is brand new (6 months) and I think that this is unacceptable.

It doesn't appear that replacing the radio with a new one is going to fix this problem.

Hmmm... really unfortunate. I can imagine getting a new stereo at some point in the future because it doesn't seem like Toyota is gonna be able to get this thing fixed.

I am hoping the dealer follows through like they said they would and sees if there's a firmware upgrade or something.

It is not acceptable. I was comparing my experience with Apple for the products I have under warranty. Apple in comparison for me has moved mountains to make things right no matter what. Toyota makes great products and they should stand behind them too.

I will keep an eye here for updates.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:38 PM   #4
Member
VoyageTacoma is on a distinguished road
 
VoyageTacoma's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Jan 2013, #94173
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
VoyageTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
(I would like to know if and how you got this problem resolved)
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 03:34 PM   #5
Member
VoyageTacoma is on a distinguished road
 
VoyageTacoma's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Jan 2013, #94173
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
VoyageTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
One more thing, when you get back to this, cool...

Can you describe when this happens?

For me, I think so far it has been when I am using bluetooth. Can you corroborate this experience?

Does your radio shut off under any other circumstances? Using regular radio? Or Satellite? Or while playing a cd?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 06:34 AM   #7
Member
VoyageTacoma is on a distinguished road
 
VoyageTacoma's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Jan 2013, #94173
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
VoyageTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
The dealership has said they will put a new radio in my car. I will keep you guys informed/posted.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
tacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud oftacomalimited has much to be proud of
 
tacomalimited's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2013, #94500
Location: Northern NJ
Gender: Male
Posts: 425
tacomalimited's Tacoma Gallery
It's mostly during blue tooth, but, if has happened during navigation once.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:26 PM   #9
Junior Member
wolfgang is on a distinguished road
Navy: Former HCU2 Salvage Diver
Joined: Feb 2010, #32173
Location: south USA
Gender: Male
Posts: 28
wolfgang's Tacoma Gallery
Yes, changes stations by itself also. The nav. system is a subject all by itself, it's just awful on all levels, entry of dest. manually or with voice input is a joke.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 04:51 AM   #10
Member
VoyageTacoma is on a distinguished road
 
VoyageTacoma's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Jan 2013, #94173
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
VoyageTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Toyota replaced my entire radio deck last week and so far I haven't had any problems.

Still, it took a while for the first problem to occur with the first radio. I'll keep you posted over the summer and winter if I have a reoccurrence.

If your radio is still under warranty, I suggest you try to get Toyota to replace it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 04:31 PM   #11
Junior Member
casahac is on a distinguished road
Name: John
Joined: Apr 2013, #102612
Location: Tollhouse, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
casahac's Tacoma Gallery
2013 Double Cab with JBL iPod problems

I've been having similar problems with my 2013 Double Cab w/JBL. About the only thing I use on the system is the iPod.

The day I drove it off the lot it started by "skipping" once in a while where the music would stop and then restart. That degenerated to where the system would freeze up completely and the only way to get it back on line was to stop the vehicle, turn off the ignition, wait a few seconds, then restart. Sometimes I also had to reboot the iPod. At first I thought my iPod was dying, but then I realized that I never have that problem when the iPod is in my Ford F-150.

I checked it out by using more than one iPod and more than one power cable and am certain that the problem is in the Tacoma. I presented this to the dealer when I took it in for the first service. They reformatted the hard drive and installed the latest software but the problem was not resolved. Now the dealer is trying to get Toyota to send them a new unit to install. It's been in the shop for over a week now.

I'm not optimistic that this will fix the problem because I've noticed that the Camry they loaned me has an even worse problem with the iPod skipping A LOT. Still no problems when I play the iPod through the cheap Sony unit in my F-150.

I'm at the point now that whenever I have a problem, I note the mileage and exact nature of the issue and present that to the dealer when I take it in. We spent an extra $2K to get a good sound system and that's what I want. (I see that Kenwood is partnered with Garmin......wonder if they plan on making a kit to adapt THAT one for the JBL system?)
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 06:40 PM   #12
NRA Endowment - Member
mwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmwc273 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
mwc273's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: May 2013, #103900
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 52
Gender: Male
Posts: 173
mwc273's Tacoma Gallery
I has issues with IPOD playback as well. But have had no problems at all with my USB stick.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:32 AM   #13
Junior Member
shad951 is on a distinguished road
Law Enforcement:
Joined: Nov 2012, #91110
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
shad951's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by casahac View Post
I've been having similar problems with my 2013 Double Cab w/JBL. About the only thing I use on the system is the iPod.

The day I drove it off the lot it started by "skipping" once in a while where the music would stop and then restart. That degenerated to where the system would freeze up completely and the only way to get it back on line was to stop the vehicle, turn off the ignition, wait a few seconds, then restart. Sometimes I also had to reboot the iPod. At first I thought my iPod was dying, but then I realized that I never have that problem when the iPod is in my Ford F-150.

I checked it out by using more than one iPod and more than one power cable and am certain that the problem is in the Tacoma. I presented this to the dealer when I took it in for the first service. They reformatted the hard drive and installed the latest software but the problem was not resolved. Now the dealer is trying to get Toyota to send them a new unit to install. It's been in the shop for over a week now.

I'm not optimistic that this will fix the problem because I've noticed that the Camry they loaned me has an even worse problem with the iPod skipping A LOT. Still no problems when I play the iPod through the cheap Sony unit in my F-150.

I'm at the point now that whenever I have a problem, I note the mileage and exact nature of the issue and present that to the dealer when I take it in. We spent an extra $2K to get a good sound system and that's what I want. (I see that Kenwood is partnered with Garmin......wonder if they plan on making a kit to adapt THAT one for the JBL system?)
My 2012 JBL/Entune has had issues from day one. My iPod skips horribly. I had this same iPod in 3 prior BMW's and never skipped 1 time. I had to fight with the dealership to get them to replace the radio. New radio installed 3 days ago. iPod still skipping UGH!!! This radio is a POS
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 01:02 AM   #14
Senior Member
MGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMGMTacolover55 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
MGMTacolover55's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2013, #96545
Location: Orygun
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,197
MGMTacolover55's Tacoma Gallery
Weird mine does not have any of these issues
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 02:19 PM   #15
Junior Member
casahac is on a distinguished road
Name: John
Joined: Apr 2013, #102612
Location: Tollhouse, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
casahac's Tacoma Gallery
Status Update

I have meticulously documented the issues with my Tacoma and the iPod.

Every time it malfunctioned, I documented the miles on the vehicle and noted in detail the problem and what I had to do to correct the problem. Toyota's first corrective action was to reformat and reinstall the latest software. That changed nothing. The last time, they installed a new USB port. So far, the defect has not re-occurred, but I only have about 40 miles on it since it came out of the shop and it was sometimes going over 100 miles between events, so I'm a long way from determining that the issue is resolved.

If need be, I'll put a camcorder in the back and video the display on the unit until it malfunctions. I paid big bucks for a good sound system and I expect it to function properly.

Will post another update if it fails again or after I've put a decent number of miles on it.

Cheers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 05:21 AM   #16
Member
VoyageTacoma is on a distinguished road
 
VoyageTacoma's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Jan 2013, #94173
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
VoyageTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
The battle for this issue was about how the dealer claimed they had to witness the problem occur themselves.

I proceeded to argue with them a long time over this and asked if they plan on driving my car around for a few days until they see it happen.

I had to argue with a series of managers. Each one put up such a wall that it was unbelievable.

My argument was solid. I had a defective radio and I wanted the same radio BUT working. They went on FOREVER about how they would have to witness the problem. I kept repeating that they would have to drive around in my car for days, so how were they ever going to find out?

In the end, they replaced my radio, but not without my having to battle with three different people who sounded like broken record employees.

I also kept referring to how apple in contrast would bend over backwards for me to fix something that's not right. I'm not kissing apple's butt, I'm saying rather that Toyota is a quality product and they need to stand behind it.

I kept telling them they need to stand behind their product and they said that they do, but I said to them if you're not replacing my radio, you're not standing behind the product.

I pointed out how this car costs $35,000 and there's a clear problem they tried extremely hard to get me just to go away about.

I was borderline yelling because they're whole position was to deny that they could do anything since they didn't witness the problem.

I have a habit of pushing people hard over such things and it paid off. However, it was waaaaay to hard to get them to relent to fix this obvious problem.

Over a month with the new radio and I have no issues thus far.

My truck is seemingly perfect now. I love it but the Toyota customer service leaves something major to be desired.

I don't believe customers should be the end testers for the products they're paying for.

The ineptitude I've had to go through just to get the problem acknowledged and addressed is way beyond reasonable.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 05:38 AM   #17
Senior Member
totmacher has a spectacular aura abouttotmacher has a spectacular aura about
 
totmacher's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2009, #22430
Location: TN (near memphis)
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 402
totmacher's Tacoma Gallery
Not a new issue.
I have 2005 with basic cd player. Since 2007 it sometimes starts scanning up and down on fm radio before stopping on static. Only once or twice per month. Dealer would never acknowledge a problem. I just ignore it since I just dial it back to a station. Still works except this random thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:43 PM   #18
Member
VoyageTacoma is on a distinguished road
 
VoyageTacoma's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Jan 2013, #94173
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
VoyageTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
After a couple months with my new radio, it is experiencing the same error with resetting as before.

I'm not so happy because they're not going to be able to fix it.

Not sure what to do. I'm gonna have to tell them that the exact same problem is the exact same problem. I've had to literally argue with them to get them to do their job.

Bummer.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 05:44 PM   #19
Junior Member
casahac is on a distinguished road
Name: John
Joined: Apr 2013, #102612
Location: Tollhouse, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
casahac's Tacoma Gallery
Not sure if it's fixed.........

After a lot of research, I bought a 32 GB memory stick and loaded it up with music and have been using that instead of the iPod. I've not had any recurrence of the issues, but don't have enough miles on it to know for sure if it's fixed. In any case, it's working better with the stick than it did with the iPod so at the very least there's an interface issue with the iPod. I've run the same iPod for years in my F-150 with NO interface issues. When using the stick it sometimes shows an "unknown" for song titles that are shown in iTunes but I think I can fix that through iTunes or with TuneUp.

In any case, it's a lot cheaper to have the memory stick at risk in the vehicle than the iPod.

Cheers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 07:35 AM   #20
Junior Member
Nicely1 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2013, #111059
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Nicely1's Tacoma Gallery
Just got my 2013 double cab with JBL radio two weeks ago. well, This radio has been a huge PITA.... Random reboots, ipod function screen became unresponsive twice and it takes a series of actions sometimes to get the radio to recognize the iPhone for internet connection. Have to cut the truck off and back on, and restart the entune app on the phone. No particular series of actions works the same every time. We were going out of town, and spent twenty minutes waiting for the phone and radio to connect. My first tacoma, and i love it, but this radio is awful.... Just started the process with the dealership this morning after finding this thread. Glad you guys are posting about these things
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entune stereo turns itself on and off by itself tacomalimited Audio & Video 2 03-16-2013 05:11 PM
Adding Amp to JBL system 2013 Taco B11 Audio & Video 2 02-12-2013 01:28 PM
Review on the jbl w/ navi and entune in my 2013 . TRD Toy85 Audio & Video 0 01-09-2013 09:44 AM
Entune JBL or Aftermarket? Cain 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 09-21-2012 05:43 PM
2012 JBL with entune problems.. Gander Audio & Video 9 07-28-2012 06:34 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.