Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Amp Noise with touchscreen head unit

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2013, 08:37 PM   #1
one35i [OP] one35i is offline
Junior Member
one35i is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #103072
Location: Troutdale, Oregon
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
one35i's Tacoma Gallery
Amp Noise with touchscreen head unit

Hello,
This is my first post. I just bought a 2013 TRD Sport with the touchscreen head unit. The sound sucked, so I visited my local stereo shop for upgraded speakers and amplifier. When I went to pick it up, an amazing amount of hum was audible through the speakers when the key is on and the stereo off. Rockford Fosgate amp and Hertz HSK 165 speakers. Had them swap the amp to a low noise variety, but 12 hours of labor later they told me the HU never really shuts totally off, and in order to get rid of the amp noise, I either have to swap out the HU or install a toggle switch for the amp. Has anyone else experienced this? Any leads or ideas on which direction I should go? I really would like to keep the stock head unit, as it is easy to operate and is nicely integrated with Bluetooth, phone, etc., but the hum is driving me crazy!

Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:35 AM   #2
Professional Window Licker
fletch97 is a splendid one to beholdfletch97 is a splendid one to beholdfletch97 is a splendid one to beholdfletch97 is a splendid one to beholdfletch97 is a splendid one to beholdfletch97 is a splendid one to beholdfletch97 is a splendid one to behold
 
fletch97's Avatar
Name: Steve
Joined: Oct 2012, #89248
Location: NJ
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 251
fletch97's Tacoma Gallery
Again, I go back to saying most humming noise occurs when the amp itself is not grounded properly. Although I am not 100% sure about the stock HU itself....they suck in my opinion!

I would check on the amp ground first, make sure it's grounded to real metal and that there is no paint on the ground point! If that's good, then I would look into a new HU.

Good Luck, let us know how it works out.



Quote:
Originally Posted by one35i View Post
Hello,
This is my first post. I just bought a 2013 TRD Sport with the touchscreen head unit. The sound sucked, so I visited my local stereo shop for upgraded speakers and amplifier. When I went to pick it up, an amazing amount of hum was audible through the speakers when the key is on and the stereo off. Rockford Fosgate amp and Hertz HSK 165 speakers. Had them swap the amp to a low noise variety, but 12 hours of labor later they told me the HU never really shuts totally off, and in order to get rid of the amp noise, I either have to swap out the HU or install a toggle switch for the amp. Has anyone else experienced this? Any leads or ideas on which direction I should go? I really would like to keep the stock head unit, as it is easy to operate and is nicely integrated with Bluetooth, phone, etc., but the hum is driving me crazy!

Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 10:27 AM   #3
one35i [OP] one35i is offline
Junior Member
one35i is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #103072
Location: Troutdale, Oregon
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
one35i's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks for the suggestion. I will do, the installer says that the stock HU never turns all the way off, it is in standby for the phone, but I still don't understand why it should hum like it is unless the ground is bad or something. Anyone out there have a similar problem when upgrading speakers and amp only? Any HU upgrade suggestions? Simple to use and integrates with the phone. Most stereos today are too damn complicated for me, that's why I like the factory one. Is the factory JBL a POS as well?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 04:56 PM   #4
Junior Member
ISpaulding is on a distinguished road
Name: Isaac
Joined: Jul 2013, #107696
Location: Central Florida
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
ISpaulding's Tacoma Gallery
Yep, I have the same truck, 2013 TRD Sport, and the same problem. I was actually troubleshooting the system today and figured out that it was noise originating from the H/U. Not from a bad ground at least in my situation. I was actually hoping to find a solution to this problem without having to change the H/U. I like the touch screen and how it integrates seamlessly with my cellphone. I was trying to keep the factory look. Perhaps there is something to filter out the noise that seems to be most prevalent through the tweeters. I am using the Audio Control LC7i to go from Hi to Lo.

Anyone with a solution without replacing the factory H/U or getting one of those expensive multi-function digital processors would be much appreciated!
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 04:59 PM   #5
I KEEEEEL YOU
Burgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Burgman's Avatar
Name: Stephen
Joined: Apr 2009, #16072
Location: Ric VA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,975
Burgman's Tacoma Gallery
Guys i would look into grounding the HU better. When adding more power draw you may be overloading the factory ground.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 05:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
Yotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Yotabilly's Avatar
Name: Connal
Joined: Oct 2012, #89984
Location: The Bluegrass
Age: 36
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,412
Yotabilly's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ISpaulding View Post

Anyone with a solution without replacing the factory H/U or getting one of those expensive multi-function digital processors would be much appreciated!
I haven't found one yet and don't think anyone else has. I have a nice system from my last truck I haven't installed yet because I like the flow of the factory HU. It would be awesome to have a stealth system, Looks stock until you crank it up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 05:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
Yotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shedYotabilly is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Yotabilly's Avatar
Name: Connal
Joined: Oct 2012, #89984
Location: The Bluegrass
Age: 36
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,412
Yotabilly's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burgman View Post
Guys i would look into grounding the HU better. When adding more power draw you may be overloading the factory ground.
I haven't heard that one yet. Makes since though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 05:13 PM   #8
Junior Member
ISpaulding is on a distinguished road
Name: Isaac
Joined: Jul 2013, #107696
Location: Central Florida
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
ISpaulding's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burgman View Post
Guys i would look into grounding the HU better. When adding more power draw you may be overloading the factory ground.
It's not adding more power draw from the H/U by adding an amp(s) downstream. Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 05:30 PM   #9
I KEEEEEL YOU
Burgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shedBurgman is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Burgman's Avatar
Name: Stephen
Joined: Apr 2009, #16072
Location: Ric VA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,975
Burgman's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ISpaulding View Post
It's not adding more power draw from the H/U by adding an amp(s) downstream. Thanks.
The HU is sending a new signal to your amps which requires power.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 06:24 PM   #10
Junior Member
ISpaulding is on a distinguished road
Name: Isaac
Joined: Jul 2013, #107696
Location: Central Florida
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
ISpaulding's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burgman View Post
The HU is sending a new signal to your amps which requires power.
No different than sending power to the factory speakers when connected directly.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 09:03 PM   #11
Member
devanb3 is on a distinguished road
Name: devan
Joined: Apr 2013, #102184
Location: hampstead
Gender: Male
Posts: 79
devanb3's Tacoma Gallery
turn the radio off via the power button all radios have a backup that keeps some power to it if it still makes the sound try to go into the radios settings and turn off the subwoofer (if thats what amp your refering) if still make sure they have it wired to the proper remote wire and not to your constant power wire.... if theres not a remote to tap into it should be tapped into the accessory power wire... does it make noise for ever when it shuts off or just a few minutes (some amps are made to run until the cool themselves off)

also what amp is it it may be turning on via a signal input so the amp turns on when it has some signal run to it not through a remote wire these work ok but sometimes take a min to shut off because it is made to keep running even when songs are paused... if you could take pics of the amp wires and settings i would be able to answer many of these q and the wiring for the back of the radio
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 05:47 PM   #12
Member
AaronK13 is on a distinguished road
 
AaronK13's Avatar
Name: Aaron
Joined: Nov 2013, #116028
Location: Nebraska
Gender: Male
Posts: 95
AaronK13's Tacoma Gallery
Try grounding the RCAs. I had this problem in a previous vehicle. I stripped a piece of speaker wire and did a figure 8 around the metal connectors. Then wrapped in electrical tape. Then grounded the other end to a solid point. Not the same as your stereo though. I will be using an LC7 and 2 amps here in about 1-2 months. Hopefully this fix works. There are some other threads on here referring to my same fix that other people have done.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 06:10 PM   #13
Senior Member
ZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ZMan2k2's Avatar
Name: Richard
Joined: Aug 2011, #62491
Location: Calgary, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 625
ZMan2k2's Tacoma Gallery
Id have to agree with devanb3 on this one. The amp is probably connected to a switched source, and is always on when the vehicle is on. You need to find a HU switched source, that shuts off the amp when the HU is off.

On a side note, hows the sound of the HSK speakers. I have the opportunity to buy some for a decent price, but I've never heard them. Specifically the tweets. Are they sharp or piercing at high volumes, or are they smooth and easy to listen to?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 10:44 AM   #14
one35i [OP] one35i is offline
Junior Member
one35i is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #103072
Location: Troutdale, Oregon
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
one35i's Tacoma Gallery
HSK's sound great. Tweeters are crisp, without being sharp or tinny. A good choice.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 11:04 AM   #15
Senior Member
ZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedZMan2k2 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ZMan2k2's Avatar
Name: Richard
Joined: Aug 2011, #62491
Location: Calgary, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 625
ZMan2k2's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by one35i View Post
HSK's sound great. Tweeters are crisp, without being sharp or tinny. A good choice.
Thanks.

Have you tried the suggestion of finding a switched source on the deck, to turn the amp off when not in use?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 03:40 PM   #16
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,688
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
Humming or hissing is almost always due to one (or more) of the following:

Bad ground (HU/AMP doesn't matter. Grounds are important)
Non-Shielded RCA/Speaker wire running next to or on top of the power wires for the amps.
Installed with crimps and not crimped correctly (I've actually seen this happen 2 times)
And.... Again, Bad grounding. (#1 cause)
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 10:53 AM   #17
one35i [OP] one35i is offline
Junior Member
one35i is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #103072
Location: Troutdale, Oregon
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
one35i's Tacoma Gallery
The stereo shop had my truck for three days, even sent it to the main shop across town to have their guru check it out. They could not eliminate the hum. So we ended up using a low noise amp and installed an OEM Toyota sub-woofer switch out of an FJ Cruiser in one of the blanks on the dashboard as a way of turning off the amp when the stereo is not in use. Looks and works nice. Heres the Part Number for the switch:

86171-35010

  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 04:02 PM   #18
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,688
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
That really doesn't say much for that stereo shops abilities. Glad you got something worked out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 04:49 PM   #20
Thin Blue Line
ProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ProForce's Avatar
Name: Anthony
Joined: Oct 2009, #24205
Location: SoCal-Ontario
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,518
ProForce's Tacoma Gallery
Upgrade the ground on your stereo, reroute the ground on your amp, reroute your power wires and RCAs to be sure they are not ran along side each other. RCAs and Power should only cross at a 90 degree angle. Make sure amp ground wire is no more tahn 12-16" long at most. Then replace your basic hi/low converter with one of the options above (Id get the LC6i as a good balance between budget and performance) and your problem should be solved.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amp with factory head unit mclovin Audio & Video 5 06-21-2012 08:43 AM
installing new sub and amp with stock head unit englem123 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 08-08-2011 03:04 PM
Wiring help for Touchscreen Head Unit Cheesycook Audio & Video 0 09-19-2009 01:53 AM
Can you amp the stock head unit? ChibbMD Audio & Video 15 05-25-2008 04:48 PM
OEM head unit amp connections ZonKs Audio & Video 4 01-02-2008 08:39 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.