Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-30-2013, 07:27 PM   #1
chrispy [OP] chrispy is offline
Member
chrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant future
Joined: Aug 2012, #84204
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Gender: Male
Posts: 92
chrispy's Tacoma Gallery
It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!

If everything plans out my install will happen saturday!

2012 toyota tacoma 4x4 SR5 access cab

Stereo upgrades:

Alpine

PDX-V9 5 channel amp
PXE-H660 Audio processor
SPR-60C 6.5 type R components
Type R 10" subwoofer
Speaker adapters for woofers and tweeters.

10" sub will go in the custom sub enclosure, which will be mounted between the two back seats. (Still in finishing stages)

Still need to pick up amp kit.

Will be posting pictures of the install and look forward to your input in every stage of the install
Attached Thumbnails
It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-winnipeg-20130430-00064.jpg   It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-winnipeg-20130429-00061.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:14 AM   #2
Member
CrazyDiamond is on a distinguished road
 
CrazyDiamond's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2013, #98956
Gender: Male
Posts: 40
CrazyDiamond's Tacoma Gallery
I always love this part - the anticipation... Looks like a nice setup.

P.S. what made you decide to keep the original head unit and go the route of the Audio Processor?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 07:41 PM   #3
chrispy [OP] chrispy is offline
Member
chrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant future
Joined: Aug 2012, #84204
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Gender: Male
Posts: 92
chrispy's Tacoma Gallery
Update: Plans didn't work out, so the install will have to wait, hopefully next weekend. I did pick up the vinyl for the sub box and was able to complete it which i'm very excited about, i like the way it turned out.

CrazyDiamond - I decided to go with the audio processor because i wanted to keep the factory look and all the functions of the factory radio. I got the processor off of ebay for $100, i have heard good and bad reviews on the unit but for the price i paid i will find out myself.
Attached Thumbnails
It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-winnipeg-20130505-00066.jpg   It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-winnipeg-20130505-00068.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:08 PM   #4
chrispy [OP] chrispy is offline
Member
chrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant future
Joined: Aug 2012, #84204
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Gender: Male
Posts: 92
chrispy's Tacoma Gallery
So after a long day of installing and pulling my hair out the system is finally installed. Everything went according to plan, ran the wire,mounted the processor under the drivers seat, mounted the amp under passenger seat, installed speakers,ran power and speaker wires, hook everything up.

The tuning for the processor was simple and straight forward, took 2 times to get it set up properly, still not perfect but still playing around with settings.

Few problems

1) I noticed that my speakers now have white noise coming from them when the stereo is on, very faint when playing music, but you put the volume to 0 and you notice it. I have ground both the processor and the amp to the seat frame bolts. Could this noise be a result of a bad ground? any suggestion on how to fix it.


2) i mounted the amp under the passenger seat but it hits on a bar located under the seat, i believe i can flip that bar around, but am unsure on how to do it and cannot find the post regarding it. anyone know of where this post is located.

3) I still have to try tuning the processor a couple more times, once i get the amp dialed in. It sounds good when using cd/ipod but seems to have a hard time with the signals from fm, i believe it's becuase the signal is crappy to begin with.

This is my first time tuning a amp, so far it's proving to be a big learning curve looking at my set up what settings (hp filter,crossover, subsonic and lp filter) would you recommend?
Attached Thumbnails
It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-sam_0036.jpg   It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-sam_0037.jpg   It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-sam_0044.jpg   It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-sam_0050.jpg   It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-sam_0043.jpg  

It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-winnipeg-20130512-00070.jpg   It's almost time, countdown to the stereo install!-winnipeg-20130512-00071.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of
 
97Blk_one's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2008, #5970
Location: Memfrica
Gender: Male
Posts: 732
97Blk_one's Tacoma Gallery
Nice set up, I would like to try that someday....
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 09:00 PM   #6
Opinions Vary...
ThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ThreeMan's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2008, #4880
Location: Charlotte, NC
Gender: Guy
Posts: 667
ThreeMan's Tacoma Gallery
I couldn't tell in the picture, but is the metal where you placed the ground sanded to bare metal? I went and grounded straight to the frame and I have no noticable white noise.

I also ran the wires separately, power down one side of the truck and signal down the other. The subject has been debated to death, but I figured why take a chance.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:50 AM   #7
Member
Highspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to behold
 
Highspeed's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2012, #74550
Location: +42° 52' 21.69", -124° 32' 8.50"
Gender: Male
Posts: 91
Highspeed's Tacoma Gallery
That ground doesn't look like bare metal to me. If that is the location you plan to use I would sand under the seat mount to expose bare metal and mount the ground under the seat mount.
The passenger seat bar can be unscrewed, turned, then bolted back into place. I just did it and took pictures. I'll post a quick DIY thing on it when I have time. With the right tool it's pretty easy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:58 AM   #8
Senior Member
Onetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shedOnetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shedOnetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shedOnetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shedOnetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shedOnetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shedOnetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shedOnetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shedOnetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shedOnetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shedOnetime27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Onetime27's Avatar
Name: Joe
Joined: May 2012, #79325
Location: Tanasbourne Area
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 204
Onetime27's Tacoma Gallery
X3 on the bare metal ground it can make a world of difference.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:23 AM   #9
Member
CrazyDiamond is on a distinguished road
 
CrazyDiamond's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2013, #98956
Gender: Male
Posts: 40
CrazyDiamond's Tacoma Gallery
Those RCA cables look pretty cheap as well. You may want to get some shielded RCA cables for the amp...

X4 - the painted bolt and seat slider caught my eye immediately as well.

I've seen guys do this with on their engines. They powder coat their alternator brackets, they bolt the ground strap back to the pretty painted bracket (s.b. Chevy) and can't figure out why the battery won't charge.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 04:25 PM   #10
chrispy [OP] chrispy is offline
Member
chrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant future
Joined: Aug 2012, #84204
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Gender: Male
Posts: 92
chrispy's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks for all the responses,

Ya i was unsure about the ground, i sanded down the bolt to bare metal and added a washer thinking that since it's bolted into the body it would be enough to ground. Are the threaded holes in the body also painted? Since i want to move the passenger bracket it would be a good time to mount the ground under the seat rail and sand the hell out of it.

ya the rcas that came with the amp kit where way to long, so i used some random 3ft ones i had lying around, i figured this might be part of the issue so i picked up some monster cable rcas today after work that i'm going to switch out.

Highspeed - that would be great if you could post a thread on moving that bar it would be very helpful.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 08:43 PM   #11
chrispy [OP] chrispy is offline
Member
chrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant future
Joined: Aug 2012, #84204
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Gender: Male
Posts: 92
chrispy's Tacoma Gallery
So got to work on the truck alittle bit tonight, i switched out the rca cables and what a difference, the sound is much cleaner and the bass hits nice and hard.

Took out the seat slider bolt, took a wire brush to it and cleaned it up to bare metal. Also used the wire brush on the inside of the bolt hole. No success sound is still there, i'll have to wait until i can get the seat removed to mount the ground under it. But hell it was worth a shot.

I have a remote bass knob (Alpine rux-knob) that i would like to install in one of the blank covers under the climate controls. Does anyone know how to remove these blanks and how to mount the remote knob to it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 04:36 PM   #13
chrispy [OP] chrispy is offline
Member
chrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant future
Joined: Aug 2012, #84204
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Gender: Male
Posts: 92
chrispy's Tacoma Gallery
Highspeed- have you had anytime to work on the quick DIY for moving the passenger seat bar?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 06:02 PM   #14
Member
Highspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to beholdHighspeed is a splendid one to behold
 
Highspeed's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2012, #74550
Location: +42° 52' 21.69", -124° 32' 8.50"
Gender: Male
Posts: 91
Highspeed's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispy View Post
Highspeed- have you had anytime to work on the quick DIY for moving the passenger seat bar?
Link to seat mod: http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/aud...ml#post6905809
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:07 PM   #15
chrispy [OP] chrispy is offline
Member
chrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant future
Joined: Aug 2012, #84204
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Gender: Male
Posts: 92
chrispy's Tacoma Gallery
So I finally got some time to tweak the system, i have elimitated about 90% of the white noise i was hearing. It was being caused by a ground loop created by having the amp and processer being grounded in two different spots. I still have to remove the seat to flip the bar (thanks Highspeed for your post), than i'll ground it directly to the body to see if i can get rid of the rest of the noise if possible.

Now that i've solved that problem for the most part, I have an new one!

My system has a turn on/off pop, I have tried adjusting the amp to see if that was the problem but it's not. Any ideas?

my system is connected as follows ACC wire(stock hu)>REM in(processor)>REM out(processor to amp).
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 07:12 PM   #17
chrispy [OP] chrispy is offline
Member
chrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant futurechrispy has a brilliant future
Joined: Aug 2012, #84204
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Gender: Male
Posts: 92
chrispy's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks for the diagram, i really have no experience with relays, other than replacing the one on my snowmobile when it screws up. What type of relay would i have to get? Do i install it between the factory head unit and the processor or between the processor and amp? How does this stop the turn on/off pop?

Again no experience with relays, your help is much appreciated.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 07:47 PM   #18
Opinions Vary...
ThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shedThreeMan is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ThreeMan's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2008, #4880
Location: Charlotte, NC
Gender: Guy
Posts: 667
ThreeMan's Tacoma Gallery
The diagram is self explanitory. Look up Bosch relays. With the relay amp remote power is self sustained. Wired separate from the HU and processor turn on. Hence, no pop.

I still cannot believe the following site is not a sticky in this Forum, but go here http://www.bcae1.com/ It has everything. I mean EVERYTHING you need to know.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stereo Install TSmalls89 Audio & Video 3 04-19-2013 07:36 AM
Time for a new stereo... astropoverty Audio & Video 3 01-05-2013 10:44 AM
Stereo install help tractng Audio & Video 1 11-20-2012 11:28 AM
Time To Do Stereo xsptaco07 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 08-25-2012 10:00 AM
Stereo Install Help Chopperness 2nd Gen. Tacomas 8 11-19-2010 09:02 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.