Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

I need help installing new head unit.

Reply
 
Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2013, 12:11 PM   #21
Senior Member
metrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmetrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmetrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmetrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmetrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmetrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmetrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmetrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmetrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmetrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmetrick1215 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
metrick1215's Avatar
EMS: Firefighter/Paramedic
Name: Chris
Joined: Apr 2013, #101943
Location: Clayton, GA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 843
metrick1215's Tacoma Gallery
Please dont tell me you cut the stock harness....
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 10:20 AM   #22
C Wills [OP] C Wills is offline
Senior Member
C Wills is on a distinguished road
 
C Wills's Avatar
Name: Cearyx aka C Gutta
Joined: Oct 2011, #65441
Location: Englewood,nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 209
C Wills's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by xguntherc View Post
post pictures once that's installed. I might get the same HU
Will do
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 10:27 AM   #23
C Wills [OP] C Wills is offline
Senior Member
C Wills is on a distinguished road
 
C Wills's Avatar
Name: Cearyx aka C Gutta
Joined: Oct 2011, #65441
Location: Englewood,nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 209
C Wills's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by metrick1215 View Post
Please dont tell me you cut the stock harness....
No, I didn't cut it. Lol. Almost, but I couldn't figure out the wiring. My cd changer isn't working so the only thing I can listen to is the radio. I ordered the harness from amazon. Can't wait for it to come in. Is that harness something I can buy at a store that sells car audio equipment?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 03:13 PM   #24
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Gender: Male
Posts: 10,321
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by metrick1215 View Post
Please dont tell me you cut the stock harness....
Nothing is wrong with cutting the stock harness as long as you know what a wires go to what and you make solid connections.

You can also put the harness plugs back on if you leave enough slack.

I don't like to cut harnesses if possible but I don't think it's that big of a deal if you do cut them as long as your connections are good.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 05:31 PM   #25
Senior Member
Toy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4me is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Toy4me's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Tom
Joined: Aug 2012, #85061
Location: NNJ
Gender: Male
Posts: 344
Toy4me's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by C Wills View Post
Is that harness something I can buy at a store that sells car audio equipment?
Yes. You could try Best Buy. They'll prob have it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 05:32 PM   #26
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Gender: Male
Posts: 10,321
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
as long as you don't have JBL system: http://www.amazon.com/Stereo-Harness.../dp/B000KL37AO
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 07:04 PM   #27
C Wills [OP] C Wills is offline
Senior Member
C Wills is on a distinguished road
 
C Wills's Avatar
Name: Cearyx aka C Gutta
Joined: Oct 2011, #65441
Location: Englewood,nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 209
C Wills's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toy4me View Post
Yes. You could try Best Buy. They'll prob have it.
Yup. You were right. The website said they have it in stores.thnx
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 10:05 PM   #28
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aw9d View Post
Nothing is wrong with cutting the stock harness as long as you know what a wires go to what and you make solid connections.
That's the problem.
The harness is barely long enough to get out far enough to cleanly solder and heat shrink without being cramped into the dash pocket... makes it a lot harder to do a good job.

Sadly, most installations, even with the adapters, are just orange wire nuts, or (shudder) twist and tape.
Wire nuts are messy and bulky, but at least they are secure.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 10:30 PM   #29
Small and Tall
tacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacobell007 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacobell007's Avatar
Name: Drew
Joined: Jun 2009, #18327
Location: Westfield, MA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,892
tacobell007's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to tacobell007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
'87 and up?

Toyota hasn't changed the harness in 25 years?
No sir! Same harness used in my '88 Toyota Pickup, as used in my '07 Scion tC
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 08:55 PM   #30
Member
SteveFaust is on a distinguished road
 
SteveFaust's Avatar
Name: Steve
Joined: Jan 2013, #94247
Location: Poway, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
SteveFaust's Tacoma Gallery
Hi Guys,
I'm replacing the head unit in my 1995.5 and someone in the past of course cut out the factory harness and direct wired the Clarion head unit. Not a problem as I have all the wires figured except the "Illumination" wire. The display on the previous unit didn't light up ( a major pain) and it appears never hooked up right. My question is I have two factory wire there that I can't ID: one is Green w/Orange stripe the other is White w/Green stripe. can't find a reference to either of these and they weren't connected to the installed unit.

I am guessing that since all the wiring diagrams (crutchfield et. al.) say illumination is "Green" that the Green/Orange stripe is Illuminiation but would like to confirm as blowing up a brand new head unit if I'm wrong is not my idea of a fun evening.

1995 Toyota Tacoma Car Radio Wiring -
Car Radio Battery Constant 12v+ Wire: Blue/Yellow
Car Radio Accessory Switched 12v+ Wire: Gray
Car Radio Ground Wire: Brown
Car Radio Illumination Wire:Green (my 1995.5 has this as Green w/Orange stripe)
Left Front Speaker Positive Wire (+): Pink
Left Front Speaker Negative Wire (-): Purple
Right Front Speaker Positive Wire (+): Light Green
Right Front Speaker Negative Wire (-): Blue
Left Rear Speaker Positive Wire (+): Black
Left Rear Speaker Negative Wire (-): Yellow
Right Rear Speaker Positive Wire (+): Red
Right Rear Speaker Negative Wire (-): White
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:35 AM   #31
Member
SteveFaust is on a distinguished road
 
SteveFaust's Avatar
Name: Steve
Joined: Jan 2013, #94247
Location: Poway, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
SteveFaust's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveFaust View Post
Hi Guys,
...My question is I have two factory wire there that I can't ID: one is Green w/Orange stripe the other is White w/Green stripe. Can't find a reference to w\either of these and they weren't connected to the installed unit.

I am guessing that since all the wiring diagrams (crutchfield et. al.) say illumination is "Green" that the Green/Orange stripe is Illuminiation but would like to confirm as blowing up a brand new head unit if I'm wrong is not my idea of a fun evening.

1995 Toyota Tacoma Car Radio Wiring -
Car Radio Battery Constant 12v+ Wire: Blue/Yellow
Car Radio Accessory Switched 12v+ Wire: Gray
Car Radio Ground Wire: Brown
Car Radio Illumination Wire: Green (my 1995.5 has this as Green w/ orange stripe)
Left Front Speaker Positive Wire (+): Pink
Left Front Speaker Negative Wire (-): Purple
Right Front Speaker Positive Wire (+): Light Green
Right Front Speaker Negative Wire (-): Blue
Left Rear Speaker Positive Wire (+): Black
Left Rear Speaker Negative Wire (-): Yellow
Right Rear Speaker Positive Wire (+): Red
Right Rear Speaker Negative Wire (-): White
So the Green w/orange stripe appears to have been the illumination. Got it all in and working great. Still don't know what the white w/green stripe wire is -- any experience with this one?

Now at some point I have to wire for rear speakers (mine only came with door speakers and rear wells have cargo doors for storage. Anyone have a Gen1 rear speaker grill in tan/oak they could part with?
Attached Thumbnails
I need help installing new head unit.-1995.5-tacoma-stereo-wiring-front-spkrs-only.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:08 PM   #32
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Alarm installation sheet indicates that (on the 2009) white/green stripe is Accessory.
Check it for power with they key off and on ACC to confirm.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 09:51 AM   #33
Member
SteveFaust is on a distinguished road
 
SteveFaust's Avatar
Name: Steve
Joined: Jan 2013, #94247
Location: Poway, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
SteveFaust's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
Alarm installation sheet indicates that (on the 2009) white/green stripe is Accessory.
Check it for power with they key off and on ACC to confirm.
I was thinking it might be an alarm interface. The truck has the TVSS (Toyota Vehicle Security System) so very likely. I'll check power with & w/o ignition. If powered with ignition would be a good lead for a second power outlet. Good call thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 08:46 PM   #34
C Wills [OP] C Wills is offline
Senior Member
C Wills is on a distinguished road
 
C Wills's Avatar
Name: Cearyx aka C Gutta
Joined: Oct 2011, #65441
Location: Englewood,nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 209
C Wills's Tacoma Gallery
Finally. I wired the hu in along with the axxes ASWC. My question now is, how do I bypass the parking brake?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 09:37 AM   #35
C Wills [OP] C Wills is offline
Senior Member
C Wills is on a distinguished road
 
C Wills's Avatar
Name: Cearyx aka C Gutta
Joined: Oct 2011, #65441
Location: Englewood,nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 209
C Wills's Tacoma Gallery
Ok, so after doing some research I found that I could connect the green wire ,coming from the HU, to ground. And it should work. Gonna give it a shot.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 11:07 AM   #36
C Wills [OP] C Wills is offline
Senior Member
C Wills is on a distinguished road
 
C Wills's Avatar
Name: Cearyx aka C Gutta
Joined: Oct 2011, #65441
Location: Englewood,nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 209
C Wills's Tacoma Gallery
Just checking itI need help installing new head unit.-imageuploadedbytapatalk1369501616.913120.jpg
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 11:08 AM   #37
C Wills [OP] C Wills is offline
Senior Member
C Wills is on a distinguished road
 
C Wills's Avatar
Name: Cearyx aka C Gutta
Joined: Oct 2011, #65441
Location: Englewood,nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 209
C Wills's Tacoma Gallery
Still no video. I connected that green wire to the ground wires( black)
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 11:27 AM   #38
Senior Member
Phil5393 has a spectacular aura aboutPhil5393 has a spectacular aura about
 
Phil5393's Avatar
Name: Phil
Joined: Nov 2012, #92123
Location: Long Island, New York
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 348
Phil5393's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by C Wills View Post
Still no video. I connected that green wire to the ground wires( black)
You can use this http://www.amazon.com/AVH-X1500DVD-A.../dp/B00A9AQPUU
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 11:59 AM   #39
C Wills [OP] C Wills is offline
Senior Member
C Wills is on a distinguished road
 
C Wills's Avatar
Name: Cearyx aka C Gutta
Joined: Oct 2011, #65441
Location: Englewood,nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 209
C Wills's Tacoma Gallery
Yea I know . I was trying to connect it without that. I tried connected the green wire the correct way and still no video. The directions say, connect to the positive side of the parking brake switch. But my switch only has 1 wire. Green w/white stripe.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 06:16 PM   #40
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Kenwood can be bypassed by simply grounding the parking brake wire.
Pioneer is too smart for that... the system looks at the parking brake, but also at the GPS computer, and if it senses motion, it will lock out.

The Camry unit that I put in my '03 Tundra was similar. I could ground the parking brake and it would work for about 500ft... but it looked at the GPS and at the Tundra's VSS and would then shut down.
There was a "maintenance mode" software bypass, but it had to be done every time the truck was restarted.

The Pioneer that I had in 2006 on my Duramax, I had to open it up and solder a jumper onto the main board, which activated the maintenance bypass. Modern units can be bypassed without voiding the warranty
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Products Discussed in this Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing new Head Unit in Overland Park Ks? rolltyd Audio & Video 0 02-05-2013 04:24 PM
Installing A Double-Din Head Unit ShawnR Audio & Video 9 10-10-2011 02:54 PM
installing new sub and amp with stock head unit englem123 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 08-08-2011 04:04 PM
Installing a head unit and speakers in an '02 Ryantacoma Audio & Video 1 01-17-2011 03:26 AM
Installing A/C unit on non A/C truck digdeep 1st Gen. Tacomas 1 06-16-2008 03:04 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.