Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

2013 Tacoma Nav/GPS totally confusing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2013, 01:22 PM   #1
cactusred [OP] cactusred is offline
Junior Member
cactusred is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2013, #103859
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
cactusred's Tacoma Gallery
2013 Tacoma Nav/GPS totally confusing

Hello all, I just bought a 2013 Tacoma DC TRD with the JBL/Entune package. I really like the sound this system puts out. But, I do have a question.

I have had 4 gps in the last 10 years, so I'm pretty familiar with how they operate but for the life of me, this system that comes on the truck, royally confuses the crap out of me.
I start to put in a destination, say the zip code, then city, then try to put in street number but the digits I might require are blanked out, with others available but not what my street address is.
So I try to another way, put in city, and it only allows city names that are in the zipcode already selected to come up. If I try to start with just streetname, it only allows streets in the city pair/zip code to be selected.

WTF!!!! Every gps I have ever used, always asked city first, then type street name, and it will come up with choices, and you select one that is in your zip code, done, end of story. Either I'm just out to lunch here, or I'm about to yank this %$&^&& GPS out of this truck, because it's useless right now. Some setting I'm missing or just over thinking it, I am clueless, but I'm surely looking for a little guidance how you guys are getting on.

Even my home address, I couldn't setup, I had to do it by selecting my present location, and saving it, naming it home. It wouldn't show the street available for my city/zip.

By the way, if somebody help me with this, for future reference, how do we update this thing. A DVD, I'm guessing. My wifes car had a sd slot, that you purchased the maps from Nissan to update it, no clue on this thing.
Thanks....
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 05:06 PM   #2
cactusred [OP] cactusred is offline
Junior Member
cactusred is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2013, #103859
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
cactusred's Tacoma Gallery
I think I can reply or answer my own post on this. I just went back out and messed with this for another hour and tried different stuff but it caught my attention that I was putting number in where it said street. I'm use to that corrolating to house number, then name of street next, but it's opposite I guess on this gps.
So I kind of figured that out then of course I put in my buddy's house that was just built, last year, and it said no such address exists, lol, I can't win..
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 05:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
TRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud of
Joined: Jul 2012, #81685
Location: CT
Gender: Male
Posts: 736
TRD Toy85's Tacoma Gallery
Ya I agree it sucks , and the entune was great my first couple of uses. Now its just annoying and always has some type of hickups and freeze ups.

I love the reverse camera, other wise the JBL is not worth it, save your money.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:19 PM   #4
Junior Member
wolfgang is on a distinguished road
Navy: Former HCU2 Salvage Diver
Joined: Feb 2010, #32173
Location: south USA
Gender: Male
Posts: 28
wolfgang's Tacoma Gallery
I have a 2012 with that POS in it also, you're correct, but don't expect Toyota to help!!! Went to arbration over that same issue, lost-they don't care, they got my $1900.00 for that unit-see ya!!!! 4th Tacoma-----BAD Radio---- OK truck.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:22 PM   #5
Old & Forgetful
Janster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Janster's Avatar
Name: Jandy
Joined: Mar 2007, #1138
Location: Lancaster, PA
Age: 46
Gender: Female
Posts: 12,864
Janster's Tacoma Gallery
I know this is their first attempt at NAV in the tacoma.... Don't they have NAV in the other vehicles? Haven't they had it for a while or no?
You'd think they'd have it figured out by now...??

For gawd sake, I hope they figure this shit out by the time the 3rd gen trucks come out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 07:34 AM   #6
Senior Member
Utard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Utard's Avatar
Name: Mark
Joined: Nov 2011, #66532
Location: Nyssa, Oregon
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,138
Utard's Tacoma Gallery
YES the nav sucks balls.

Go to the dealer and complain and make sure they give you the latest update. I got my 12 in oct of 2011 and the nav was just about unusable. I have had it updated several times. After each update it gets a little better. I would say even after all the updates it still sucks balls. If I had to do it over again I would have put in a kenwood because it uses garmins software. The jbl uses the retarded tomtom software.

It seems stupid how retarded they made this nav. Compared to a garmin it has an IQ of 50.

The biggest help is to figure out how it wants the addresses. Its different than the garmin how you put them in. And here in Utah it does not understand the addresses here.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 07:38 AM   #7
Senior Member
Utard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Utard's Avatar
Name: Mark
Joined: Nov 2011, #66532
Location: Nyssa, Oregon
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,138
Utard's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgang View Post
I have a 2012 with that POS in it also, you're correct, but don't expect Toyota to help!!! Went to arbration over that same issue, lost-they don't care, they got my $1900.00 for that unit-see ya!!!! 4th Tacoma-----BAD Radio---- OK truck.
Did they ever update the software for you?

I got them to put in a new hard drive and then had several software updates. It made it a little better but still it is a POS.

I still might end up putting in a kenwood. They have garmins software and it is way better.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 05:40 AM   #8
Member
BRUCEB is on a distinguished road
Joined: Aug 2012, #85135
Location: CENTRAL MISSOURI
Gender: Male
Posts: 40
BRUCEB's Tacoma Gallery
My nav is out of date also.Bought the truck in Aug.12;was built in June.12;but has a 4th quarter,2010 nav update in it,from the factory!Called local dealer,was told,don't have a update yet,realy don't know when they will.Hard for me to belive,that,they can't get a update more quickly than this.IF,they ever do get a new one out,going to see if I can get dealer to update for free,sounds only fair to me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 07:18 AM   #9
Member
elmerew has a spectacular aura aboutelmerew has a spectacular aura about
 
elmerew's Avatar
Name: Elmer
Joined: Aug 2012, #84488
Location: San Diego/North Lake Tahoe
Gender: Male
Posts: 35
elmerew's Tacoma Gallery
How do you know what version you have? If mine is not the latest then I would expect and update.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 08:32 AM   #10
Member
CircuitBreaker is a splendid one to beholdCircuitBreaker is a splendid one to beholdCircuitBreaker is a splendid one to beholdCircuitBreaker is a splendid one to beholdCircuitBreaker is a splendid one to beholdCircuitBreaker is a splendid one to beholdCircuitBreaker is a splendid one to behold
 
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Name: Stephen
Joined: Jan 2013, #95263
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Gender: Male
Posts: 69
CircuitBreaker's Tacoma Gallery
Reading the posts here, I'm glad I didn't spend the money to have the dealer upgrade the system that was in my 2013 DC TRD. It sounds like the $1500 I spent on the Kenwood DNN-990HD was the better route.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 07:15 AM   #11
Senior Member
Utard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shedUtard is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Utard's Avatar
Name: Mark
Joined: Nov 2011, #66532
Location: Nyssa, Oregon
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,138
Utard's Tacoma Gallery
I was just at the dealer the other day and was told I would have to pay for anyupdates. And it sounds like it will be about $250 or so for the software and install.

What a crock of shit I wish I never got it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB 2013 Tacoma OEM Radio (non Nav) - p/n 86140-04080 anarion55 2nd Gen Tacoma Marketplace 7 03-04-2013 11:18 AM
Gps/Nav/Sirius XM John43 Audio & Video 1 09-18-2012 05:05 PM
Cobra Nav One 4000 GPS chadleeper Buy / Sell / Trade 2 11-30-2010 05:49 PM
(PIC INTENSE) JVC KWNT-1 indash DVD/NAV/GPS - for 05+ tacoma + lots of other goodies lookylookitzadam Buy / Sell / Trade 16 05-28-2010 05:51 PM
GPS or Built In Nav? Kaddy08 Audio & Video 9 11-14-2008 09:29 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.