Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Sub-woofer Installation help!!!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2013, 07:13 PM   #1
osterTACO [OP] osterTACO is offline
Member
osterTACO is on a distinguished road
 
osterTACO's Avatar
Name: conley
Joined: Aug 2012, #85575
Location: Georgia
Gender: Male
Posts: 35
osterTACO's Tacoma Gallery
Sub-woofer Installation help!!!!

Hello TW,
quick question regarding sub woofer installation...
Is there any way I can install after market subs on a stock head unit?
I barely have the money for subs is there any way I can surpass the use of the after market head unit? My friend has a dodge challenger with a stock head unit that he had professionally installed therefore I know it is somehow possible but do y'all know how this could be done?
Thanks,
-osterTACO
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 07:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
NewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shedNewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shedNewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shedNewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shedNewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shedNewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shedNewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shedNewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shedNewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shedNewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shedNewRider is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NewRider's Avatar
Name: Travis, Truck: Baja
Joined: Aug 2012, #84801
Location: Harrisonburg, Va
Age: 23
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,278
NewRider's Tacoma Gallery
I feel stupid for not knowing sense i do plenty of sub installs for friends... but those are all with after market head units so i'm not really sure on a stock job... so i guess here's to a free bump!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 07:28 AM   #3
Member
CBiscuit14 is just really niceCBiscuit14 is just really niceCBiscuit14 is just really niceCBiscuit14 is just really nice
 
CBiscuit14's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2013, #107912
Location: South Dakota
Gender: Male
Posts: 67
CBiscuit14's Tacoma Gallery
I have not done it on a Tacoma, but I believe it requires an adapter that connects the amp to your stock head unit.
I'm about 95% sure it can be done... but may I suggest getting an aftermarket head unit instead. You can get some decent ones relatively cheap and it will give you a little more control. I had a buddy that wanted to do just add a sub to the factory head unit, but it was recommended to get an aftermarket head unit.
Sorry I don't have much detail, but hope this may help.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 07:33 AM   #4
All I Do Is Nguyen
gym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shedgym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shedgym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shedgym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shedgym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shedgym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shedgym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shedgym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shedgym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shedgym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shedgym_jamz is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
gym_jamz's Avatar
Name: Jimmy
Joined: Jul 2012, #82308
Location: Gainesville, GA
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,305
gym_jamz's Tacoma Gallery
Yes. You need a RCA line out converter. Those wires will tap into your stock speakers and provide you a RCA output for your amp. Looks like this:

  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 08:01 AM   #5
Member
CBiscuit14 is just really niceCBiscuit14 is just really niceCBiscuit14 is just really niceCBiscuit14 is just really nice
 
CBiscuit14's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2013, #107912
Location: South Dakota
Gender: Male
Posts: 67
CBiscuit14's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by j.nguyen View Post
Yes. You need a RCA line out converter. Those wires will tap into your stock speakers and provide you a RCA output for your amp. Looks like this:

Bingo. That's what you would need.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 05:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
TRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud ofTRD Toy85 has much to be proud of
Joined: Jul 2012, #81685
Location: CT
Gender: Male
Posts: 735
TRD Toy85's Tacoma Gallery
Yup the picture above is what you need.

For a amp turn on, I used one of these to my accessory fuse. Really easy, I spent the extra cash on a output converter that has a amp turn on built in but you have to wire 12v to it anyways, Was just easier to wire my amp with the 12 volt turn on ..

  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 06:11 PM   #7
Member
jpop8807 is on a distinguished road
Army: Bradley Crew, 1st Cav
Name: Josh
Joined: Apr 2013, #102030
Location: Fort Hood
Gender: Male
Posts: 93
jpop8807's Tacoma Gallery
Yep RCA converter and most likely some wire taps. I had to tap my audi's low speaker.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 06:42 AM   #8
osterTACO [OP] osterTACO is offline
Member
osterTACO is on a distinguished road
 
osterTACO's Avatar
Name: conley
Joined: Aug 2012, #85575
Location: Georgia
Gender: Male
Posts: 35
osterTACO's Tacoma Gallery
Ah you guys are the best thank you!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How;s my possible sub woofer setup? Phuket Audio & Video 10 07-02-2012 12:00 PM
HELP WITH MY STOCK SUB WOOFER kickers X-Runners 9 12-02-2011 06:02 PM
Sub-woofer suggestions! 06taco Audio & Video 54 09-30-2011 08:08 PM
Sound woofer twinomad 2nd Gen. Tacomas 10 03-19-2011 08:18 AM
Help Me : I want to Ad a SUB Woofer ?? Suroit Audio & Video 3 03-08-2010 10:03 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.