Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Appradio 3 ?

Reply
 
Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2013, 10:39 AM   #1
dcwhite [OP] dcwhite is offline
Senior Member
dcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of light
 
dcwhite's Avatar
Name: David
Joined: Feb 2011, #51578
Location: Liberty NC
Age: 29
Gender: Dude
Posts: 273
dcwhite's Tacoma Gallery
Appradio 3 ?

Hey guys i am looking to buy the Appradio 3 for my tacoma and just wanted yalls input on this. i have an iphone 5 and ipad esc. and thought it would be nice to be able to use the apps through the appradio i rairly listen to the actual radio or cds its all pandora for me. so i think that this headunit would be ideal for me.

does anyone have the appradio 3? how do you like it? is it worth the $ or is there anything else out there thats better? just looking for some info and your experiences with this radio
Thanks for all the help
Attached Thumbnails
Appradio 3 ?-image.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
Lil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud of
 
Lil'Taco's Avatar
Air Force: C-5 Loadmaster
Name: Scotty
Joined: Jul 2010, #39694
Location: Vacaville, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 869
Lil'Taco's Tacoma Gallery
I have the SPH-DA100 model (appradio 2) and when it works it is nice but honestly it is so hit or miss for when it actually works it has been driving me crazy. To mirror my smartphone (galaxy nexus) I had to root it and download other apps and then when the phone screen turned off so did the head unit screen. Maybe the new Appradio 3 fixed it.

I gave up trying to mirror my phone so I just use the Pandora connection with my phone now, but that is whats been hit or miss with me. The Bluetooth connection and mhl connection to do it has been crap, there has been no further updates for the firmware so I've been thinking of getting rid of it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
Agro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud of
Joined: Jan 2013, #94915
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 354
Agro's Tacoma Gallery
I bought SPH-DA110 (AR3 w no DVD) and tons of other goodies (over $2k spent this week). Tracking shows AR3 set for delivery on Wed. I may start work on Thurs if I have everything, since I work from home Thurs/Fri. I didn't find many really informative videos on YouTube about AR3, so I plan on making some to show usability. My iPhone5 cant be jailbroke due to iOS ver, but my friend has a HTC One and its rooted, so we will test his using MirrorLink and his MHL adapter too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 04:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
Agro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud of
Joined: Jan 2013, #94915
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 354
Agro's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil'Taco View Post
I have the SPH-DA100 model (appradio 2) and when it works it is nice but honestly it is so hit or miss for when it actually works it has been driving me crazy. To mirror my smartphone (galaxy nexus) I had to root it and download other apps and then when the phone screen turned off so did the head unit screen. Maybe the new Appradio 3 fixed it.

I gave up trying to mirror my phone so I just use the Pandora connection with my phone now, but that is whats been hit or miss with me. The Bluetooth connection and mhl connection to do it has been crap, there has been no further updates for the firmware so I've been thinking of getting rid of it.
AppRadio2 is the exact same hardware as AppRadio3, so not to say AR3 is the end-all be-all , but we hope it is better, and we hope that they provide an upgrade from AR2 to AR3, even if it is $99 or something.

Being able to do bluetooth A2DP is a nice feature for AR3 that should be in AR2 and hopefully will at some pt.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 11:35 AM   #6
dcwhite [OP] dcwhite is offline
Senior Member
dcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of light
 
dcwhite's Avatar
Name: David
Joined: Feb 2011, #51578
Location: Liberty NC
Age: 29
Gender: Dude
Posts: 273
dcwhite's Tacoma Gallery
does anyone know what all i will need to buy to make the appradio 3 work with my iphone 5? i have been searching and some say i dont need anything others say i need an HDMI Interface Cable Kit, and a lighting digital AV adapter WTF!!!! SOMEONE HELP!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 02:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
Riverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedRiverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedRiverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedRiverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedRiverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedRiverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedRiverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedRiverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedRiverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedRiverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedRiverdog is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Riverdog's Avatar
Name: Collin
Joined: Oct 2012, #90152
Location: Portland, OR
Gender: Male
Posts: 677
Riverdog's Tacoma Gallery
I'm pretty sure you need this. But I'm not 100% sure. If you call/chat/email Crutchfield, someone should be able to tell you for sure what is needed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 10:28 AM   #8
Senior Member
Lil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud of
 
Lil'Taco's Avatar
Air Force: C-5 Loadmaster
Name: Scotty
Joined: Jul 2010, #39694
Location: Vacaville, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 869
Lil'Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riverdog View Post
I'm pretty sure you need this. But I'm not 100% sure. If you call/chat/email Crutchfield, someone should be able to tell you for sure what is needed.
I don't think he would. Mine came with everything to hook up and iPhone (imagine that). I had to get a similar kit in order to hook up my android though, but that kit doesn't list the speeduappradrio as compatible. Check to see what iPhone the headunit is compatible with, if anything you might only need a lightning adapter to connect to the old plug. But calling never hurt either.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 04:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
Agro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud of
Joined: Jan 2013, #94915
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 354
Agro's Tacoma Gallery
Crutchfield is right. iPhone 5 requires that 119$ kit. iPhone 4/4s with the 30 pin connector is cheaper and easier.

All my AppRadio 3 gear including that iPhone 5 adapter kit is set for delivery Wednesday. I will update my experience after using it all. Gonna test MHL adapter with android HTC One too
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 05:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
tc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedtc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedtc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedtc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedtc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedtc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedtc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedtc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedtc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedtc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedtc98tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tc98tacoma's Avatar
Name: Nik
Joined: Nov 2010, #45752
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,962
tc98tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
So this is why nothing comes up on the screen with the iPhone 5? I has a galaxy s2 which Is why I bought the radio and I noticed the iPhone works so much better than any android since it requires Bluetooth connectivity to actually work
I have the 30pin to lightning adapter, I get sound but no picture
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 07:03 PM   #11
Senior Member
Lil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud of
 
Lil'Taco's Avatar
Air Force: C-5 Loadmaster
Name: Scotty
Joined: Jul 2010, #39694
Location: Vacaville, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 869
Lil'Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agro View Post
Crutchfield is right. iPhone 5 requires that 119$ kit. iPhone 4/4s with the 30 pin connector is cheaper and easier.

All my AppRadio 3 gear including that iPhone 5 adapter kit is set for delivery Wednesday. I will update my experience after using it all. Gonna test MHL adapter with android HTC One too
Hope you have better luck with the AR3, I've had about enough of mine and will probably switch back to stock till I find something better or someone makes a write up on how they put a 2013 stock touchscreen radio into a 2010.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 11:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
Agro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud of
Joined: Jan 2013, #94915
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 354
Agro's Tacoma Gallery
Lil'taco: you have ar3 or ar2? Funny you want 2012-2013 touchscreen in 2010 and I have 2013 and getting rid of it for AR. We shall see....
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 11:47 PM   #13
Senior Member
Lil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud ofLil'Taco has much to be proud of
 
Lil'Taco's Avatar
Air Force: C-5 Loadmaster
Name: Scotty
Joined: Jul 2010, #39694
Location: Vacaville, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 869
Lil'Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agro View Post
Lil'taco: you have ar3 or ar2? Funny you want 2012-2013 touchscreen in 2010 and I have 2013 and getting rid of it for AR. We shall see....
I have the AR2, I've had little issues with it ever since I installed it. It is a great idea and just what I was looking for but there are so many issues with something that seems SO simple to make. The technology that I want is already used in some OEM car stereos I just can't understand why the aftermarket stereo companies can't put it into something aftermarket. It is as if the two of them don't know the other exists.

I would really like to be able to connect my phone to a micro usb plug without turning on bluetooth and have the screen be copied on the dash without having to have the phone screen on and without having to have stupid 3rd party apps on the phone to dim the screen completely. Or a program that only allows you to use their own underdeveloped apps to do something that has already been perfected by other companies. To use the data connection on my phone to run apps on a headunit without having to have a $15-25/month subscription to something you can only use while in your car.

Appradio has just dropped support for their older models while there was still so many problems to be fixed, it has just been a constant frustration for me so I will just have to deal with the reliable AUX cord to the smartphone till something comes out that doesn't suck.


Agro: is your 2012 stereo the JBL entune touchscreen?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 02:12 AM   #14
Senior Member
kevinthefawker has a brilliant futurekevinthefawker has a brilliant futurekevinthefawker has a brilliant futurekevinthefawker has a brilliant futurekevinthefawker has a brilliant futurekevinthefawker has a brilliant futurekevinthefawker has a brilliant futurekevinthefawker has a brilliant futurekevinthefawker has a brilliant futurekevinthefawker has a brilliant futurekevinthefawker has a brilliant future
 
kevinthefawker's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2012, #70020
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 890
kevinthefawker's Tacoma Gallery
i recently installed the appradio 3 in my cousins 2010 tacoma with the jbl system. overall my opinion on the appradio is it sucks. spec wise its not all that great for sound quality.

hooked it up to his samsung galaxy s3 using the mirrorlink cable and was super disappointed in the interface and the app from samsung itself.

and if you wanted to use the appradio feature you would have to buy the 70 dollar kit with a bunch of cables and a box and then it still wont work with the newer samsung phones unless you get another adapter and even then it is still not guaranty to work.

the bluetooth streaming works great and the handsfree bluetooth interface is good also. screen resolution is nice with the dvd playback feature. the microchip bypass works great also for the ebrake bypass
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 04:00 AM   #15
Senior Member
fau8823 is a name known to allfau8823 is a name known to allfau8823 is a name known to allfau8823 is a name known to allfau8823 is a name known to allfau8823 is a name known to all
Name: Tom
Joined: Mar 2010, #32771
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 271
fau8823's Tacoma Gallery
I'm interested in this radio as well for my iPhone 5. It seems many people are having issues with phones other than the iPhone 5, so I'm curious to see how it does with the correct cables for that particular phone. Hopefully, it does well. Seems like a product with great potential.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 12:37 PM   #16
Senior Member
Agro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud of
Joined: Jan 2013, #94915
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 354
Agro's Tacoma Gallery
I installed SPH-DA110 in my 2013. The metra bezel is beautiful. painted just like the tacoma, it really looks nice. Honestly without my phone being Jailbroke yet and using "Activator" and "AR Extensions" this is still pretty dang nice. Waze works beautifully. The capacitive touch screen is so nice. I will play more with it this week... Steering wheel control setup too, etc.

kevinthefawker is using android, so I cant speak to that really, but with iPhone 5 it did work pretty well.

Let me post up a video in a few minutes. I'll edit and add.

Here is a quick video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7lECmOeCc6I
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 12:52 PM   #17
Son of Most High
esizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shedesizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shedesizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shedesizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shedesizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shedesizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shedesizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shedesizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shedesizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shedesizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shedesizzle777 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
esizzle777's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2009, #16416
Location: Laredo, TX
Gender: Dude
Posts: 419
esizzle777's Tacoma Gallery
Let me know if you decide to get rid of the stock 2013 touchscreen...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agro View Post
I installed SPH-DA110 in my 2013. The metra bezel is beautiful. painted just like the tacoma, it really looks nice. Honestly without my phone being Jailbroke yet and using "Activator" and "AR Extensions" this is still pretty dang nice. Waze works beautifully. The capacitive touch screen is so nice. I will play more with it this week... Steering wheel control setup too, etc.

kevinthefawker is using android, so I cant speak to that really, but with iPhone 5 it did work pretty well.

Let me post up a video in a few minutes. I'll edit and add.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 02:13 PM   #18
Junior Member
MacDougl is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2013, #113949
Location: Goddard Kansas
Gender: Male
Posts: 23
MacDougl's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinthefawker View Post
i recently installed the appradio 3 in my cousins 2010 tacoma with the jbl system. overall my opinion on the appradio is it sucks. spec wise its not all that great for sound quality.

hooked it up to his samsung galaxy s3 using the mirrorlink cable and was super disappointed in the interface and the app from samsung itself.

and if you wanted to use the appradio feature you would have to buy the 70 dollar kit with a bunch of cables and a box and then it still wont work with the newer samsung phones unless you get another adapter and even then it is still not guaranty to work.

the bluetooth streaming works great and the handsfree bluetooth interface is good also. screen resolution is nice with the dvd playback feature. the microchip bypass works great also for the ebrake bypass
Anything new on this? I am thinking about the same set up with Android. But saw all the cables needed (Mirrorlink, App Radio, adapter and Axxess). After your experience, I am a little worried about buying all the extras.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 02:20 PM   #19
dcwhite [OP] dcwhite is offline
Senior Member
dcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of light
 
dcwhite's Avatar
Name: David
Joined: Feb 2011, #51578
Location: Liberty NC
Age: 29
Gender: Dude
Posts: 273
dcwhite's Tacoma Gallery
I haven't been on here in awhile but I literally had the radio in my truck for 2hrs b4 it had to go!!! I was very disappointed with this radio I have the iphone5 and had to buy $100 worth of cables and still couldn't get the damn thing to work right so to say the least I have my stock radio back in my truck and I'm happy I will wait another few years b4 I try the appradio again
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 02:24 PM   #20
dcwhite [OP] dcwhite is offline
Senior Member
dcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of lightdcwhite is a glorious beacon of light
 
dcwhite's Avatar
Name: David
Joined: Feb 2011, #51578
Location: Liberty NC
Age: 29
Gender: Dude
Posts: 273
dcwhite's Tacoma Gallery
Also I couldn't find a way to permanently bypass the break to be able to use the radio while the truck is in motion... I spent $ buying the eBay bypass only worked about 3 times. Tried a switch and never worked also tried a few other things found on forums with no luck
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Products Discussed in this Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pioneer SPH-DA02 AppRadio bigbarlo Audio & Video 5 07-11-2013 04:16 PM
Pioneer SPH-DA100 AppRadio 2 FLtaco24 Audio & Video 18 03-22-2013 12:08 PM
APPRADIO 2 benbacher 2nd Gen. Tacomas 67 02-12-2013 02:06 PM
AppRadio muddymedic Buy / Sell / Trade 9 04-11-2012 09:40 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.