Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Factory head unit swap?

Reply
 
Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2013, 05:38 PM   #1
Greyyota12 [OP] Greyyota12 is offline
Member
Greyyota12 will become famous soon enoughGreyyota12 will become famous soon enough
Name: Sean
Joined: Feb 2013, #97479
Location: Richmond Ky
Gender: Male
Posts: 61
Greyyota12's Tacoma Gallery
Factory head unit swap?

I have a kind of odd question. I like the look of stock equipment when it comes to the interior of my truck and want to keep it that way. That being said, I want to upgrade my head unit. I have a 2012 base model tacoma. My question is, does anyone know if it is possible to swap in the new 2013 touchscreen without hacking my wiring harness to bits? Another option I was considering was adding the factory satellite radio however I can't find any concrete information on what all I would need to do. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 08:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
Agro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud ofAgro has much to be proud of
Joined: Jan 2013, #94915
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 329
Agro's Tacoma Gallery
I thought 2012 and 2013 stock non-JBL were identical headunits.
a 2012 or 2013 with entune is different as it is a different harness w/ GPS antenna, etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 08:40 PM   #3
I'll be your huckleberry!
Millertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Millertime187's Avatar
Army: Iraq vet
Name: David
Joined: Sep 2012, #87698
Location: Clay City, KY
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,903
Millertime187's Tacoma Gallery
its not to bad, i just done it. you will need a USB wire harness and a Atennna harness, but no cutting, fits perfect!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:06 AM   #4
Greyyota12 [OP] Greyyota12 is offline
Member
Greyyota12 will become famous soon enoughGreyyota12 will become famous soon enough
Name: Sean
Joined: Feb 2013, #97479
Location: Richmond Ky
Gender: Male
Posts: 61
Greyyota12's Tacoma Gallery
Unless I am mistaken, the 2012 base stereo is the standard stereo mostly unchanged. The base model 2013 stereo is standard touch screen.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:09 AM   #5
Greyyota12 [OP] Greyyota12 is offline
Member
Greyyota12 will become famous soon enoughGreyyota12 will become famous soon enough
Name: Sean
Joined: Feb 2013, #97479
Location: Richmond Ky
Gender: Male
Posts: 61
Greyyota12's Tacoma Gallery
Millertime
Is that right? I have the same truck with an auto. What all did you have to do for the swap? Do you know part numbers? I would really like to do this. I have seen the back plugs of both and they appeared to be different. Any info you could give me would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:52 AM   #6
Greyyota12 [OP] Greyyota12 is offline
Member
Greyyota12 will become famous soon enoughGreyyota12 will become famous soon enough
Name: Sean
Joined: Feb 2013, #97479
Location: Richmond Ky
Gender: Male
Posts: 61
Greyyota12's Tacoma Gallery
Millertime, I also just realized something haha
You live all of 30 mins from me! I live in Berea
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 01:36 PM   #7
I'll be your huckleberry!
Millertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Millertime187's Avatar
Army: Iraq vet
Name: David
Joined: Sep 2012, #87698
Location: Clay City, KY
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,903
Millertime187's Tacoma Gallery
Factory head unit swap?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greyyota12 View Post
Millertime
Is that right? I have the same truck with an auto. What all did you have to do for the swap? Do you know part numbers? I would really like to do this. I have seen the back plugs of both and they appeared to be different. Any info you could give me would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...d=111124031840

http://www.amazon.com/Metra-40-LX21-...=lexus+antenna

This is the things I bought, this will make the radio work and allow you to have a USB port. Everything else will plug in. Only thing I don't have working on mine is the telephone part, I don't have a Bluetooth Mic! But it is plug and play for the most part. If you wanna I can help when you get the stuff!!! Since your so close!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:13 PM   #8
Greyyota12 [OP] Greyyota12 is offline
Member
Greyyota12 will become famous soon enoughGreyyota12 will become famous soon enough
Name: Sean
Joined: Feb 2013, #97479
Location: Richmond Ky
Gender: Male
Posts: 61
Greyyota12's Tacoma Gallery
So I'm clear the only items I will need the the '13 touchscreen and those two adapters? Is the mic something that I can plug in and run through the dash? Also what did you do for the hole by the aux port where the USB comes out?
Yah man that would be awesome!
Where around here is there to go 4x4? I don't want anything crazy since my truck is not modified and I don't want to trash it. I noticed in your build pics there were some pretty cool places that seemed somewhat mellow especially that cave pic.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:15 PM   #9
Greyyota12 [OP] Greyyota12 is offline
Member
Greyyota12 will become famous soon enoughGreyyota12 will become famous soon enough
Name: Sean
Joined: Feb 2013, #97479
Location: Richmond Ky
Gender: Male
Posts: 61
Greyyota12's Tacoma Gallery
Oh and one more thing what about satellite radio?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:33 PM   #10
I'll be your huckleberry!
Millertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Millertime187's Avatar
Army: Iraq vet
Name: David
Joined: Sep 2012, #87698
Location: Clay City, KY
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,903
Millertime187's Tacoma Gallery
Factory head unit swap?

The touch screen I got doesn't have NAV. So of you get the regular touch screen those are the only two things you need. I ran my UsB to my glove box, I have a old school iPod I leave hooked up. But you can put a USB port in, that would be something else you need but I do have one of those I bought but don't use. Yea I go up to slade/south fork alot to 4-wheel

Edit- on the satellite I'm not sure. Didn't do that
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:10 PM   #11
Greyyota12 [OP] Greyyota12 is offline
Member
Greyyota12 will become famous soon enoughGreyyota12 will become famous soon enough
Name: Sean
Joined: Feb 2013, #97479
Location: Richmond Ky
Gender: Male
Posts: 61
Greyyota12's Tacoma Gallery
Ok last thing I swear haha where did you pick up the head unit? Thank you for all your help I feel so much better about the project and my truck. I desperately wanted a '13 for that stereo since nothing else changed but settled for a '12 since I only found 2 '13 one sold and one would not negotiate lol I will have to check out slade and south fork. I am new to the world of 4x4 since my previous trucks have been for work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:19 PM   #12
I'll be your huckleberry!
Millertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMillertime187 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Millertime187's Avatar
Army: Iraq vet
Name: David
Joined: Sep 2012, #87698
Location: Clay City, KY
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,903
Millertime187's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greyyota12 View Post
Ok last thing I swear haha where did you pick up the head unit? Thank you for all your help I feel so much better about the project and my truck. I desperately wanted a '13 for that stereo since nothing else changed but settled for a '12 since I only found 2 '13 one sold and one would not negotiate lol I will have to check out slade and south fork. I am new to the world of 4x4 since my previous trucks have been for work.
I bought mine for 200$ here on TW. If you watch the buy/sell forums people sell them sometimes. You just have to be patient, people want crazy prices and the cheaper ones go quick. I seen ONE sell for 50$ on here but usally between 2-400$
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Products Discussed in this Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reinstallation of factory head unit. west Audio & Video 0 05-02-2013 03:03 PM
Bluetooth factory head unit be compatible? Janster 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 12-11-2012 02:19 PM
amp with factory head unit mclovin Audio & Video 5 06-21-2012 08:43 AM
Head Unit Swap ryanr623 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 01-17-2011 08:03 AM
Components using factory head unit? bendbolden Audio & Video 13 08-22-2010 05:41 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.