Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Amp and door speakers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2013, 02:40 PM   #1
4byota [OP] 4byota is offline
Junior Member
4byota is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #98755
Location: Upstate NY
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
4byota's Tacoma Gallery
Amp and door speakers.

I just received the MA6004 JBL for a real good price and need to know if a harness kit would be needed here using the original head unit? Also, has anyone installed eight inch component speakers in the front doors? -Cheers
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:45 AM   #2
Junior Member
Prim3sTacoma is on a distinguished road
Name: John
Joined: Feb 2013, #96742
Location: Long Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
Prim3sTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
I dont know what your referring to but I can say that I just replaced my entire system and it needs wires and adapters for everything. I suggest doing some good reading as I did before diving into a project. Hope this helped a little bit
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
Tommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shedTommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shedTommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shedTommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shedTommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shedTommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shedTommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shedTommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shedTommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shedTommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shedTommiet is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Tom
Joined: Jun 2013, #105990
Location: Charlotte Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 141
Tommiet's Tacoma Gallery
Using the factory HU, your only option is using the factory harness. Sharpen your soldering skills. Also, if your amp does not have line level (speaker inputs,) your SOL.

You can use the factory speaker wires for a single speaker, but for component speakers, you will need to run 2 sets of speaker wires from the amp to the speakers.

8 inch speakers may be an issue.... or plan on a very custom install.

Good luck
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 08:11 AM   #4
4byota [OP] 4byota is offline
Junior Member
4byota is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #98755
Location: Upstate NY
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
4byota's Tacoma Gallery
I just installed my Sony first. It was a lot easier than I though it would be. Soldered in a harness and the snap connectors for the panels were real easy if you take your time with prying the right spots.... ("that's what she said")
Attached Thumbnails
Amp and door speakers.-imag1757.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 10:19 AM   #5
Because 4R
Wishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedWishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedWishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedWishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedWishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedWishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedWishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedWishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedWishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedWishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedWishbone Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Wishbone Runner's Avatar
Name: James
Joined: Sep 2012, #86546
Location: CO
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,847
Wishbone Runner's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommiet View Post

You can use the factory speaker wires for a single speaker, but for component speakers, you will need to run 2 sets of speaker wires from the amp to the speakers.
Not true, most (if not all) components will run a single +\- from the amp and the have a crossover to split high and low frequencys to each component.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 02:09 PM   #6
4byota [OP] 4byota is offline
Junior Member
4byota is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #98755
Location: Upstate NY
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
4byota's Tacoma Gallery
Speakers are on the way....

Looks like I will have to post a new thread for the new 8" door speaker install since I don't see anyone has done this before...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 04:21 PM   #7
Member
MARKDESMO will become famous soon enough
Name: Mark
Joined: Jan 2013, #94666
Location: Southern California
Gender: Male
Posts: 58
MARKDESMO's Tacoma Gallery
You can check yourself to see if the speaker will fit. Just remove the door panel on either side. it is very easy and there are many diy threads here that will show you how.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: 2003 double cab prerunner audio equipent; subs, enclosure; door speakers; amp partime 1st Gen Tacoma Marketplace 3 05-14-2013 08:47 PM
new door speakers dayNnite4 Audio & Video 4 07-27-2011 07:55 PM
Four channel amp / door speakers vs sub Endurozw Audio & Video 9 03-29-2010 07:41 PM
Benefits of Speakers & Sub Having Their Own Amp vs A Single Amp? (Alpine PDX5) IrishPilot Audio & Video 5 01-30-2010 09:51 PM
Kenwood Door Speakers and Profile Amp FOR SALE!! bsmith4293 Buy / Sell / Trade 11 09-21-2009 04:55 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.