LSC15's 95 Tacoma 4x4

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

AVIC-Z1 Install

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2006, 05:29 PM   #1
Avarice [OP] Avarice is offline
Junior Member
Avarice is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2006, #344
Age: 44
Posts: 4
Avarice's Tacoma Gallery
AVIC-Z1 Install

I have posted this on some other toyota related sites, but haven't really gotten the kinds of answers I need, so I thought I would try here and see if I get any better results.

I recently installed the Pioneer AVIC-Z1 navigation unit in my 2004 Tacoma Double Cab. I haven't done a stereo install since my high school days and this took me most of my turkey holiday .

I have everything connected except 3 wires. Two of the wires (speed & reverse) aren't strictly necessary for operation of the unit, but they make the nav more accurate in cases where it cannot get a good satellite signal (underground, etc). The last wire (parking break) is necessary for most of the nav & configuration functions to be operational.

Here are the wires I need to find out where they go:

Speed Signal Input (pink wire)
Reverse Gear Signal Input (violet/white wire)
Parking Break - Power supply side (light green wire)

I need diagrams, pictures, or very very good descriptions of where I can find the connections I need to make. If you could help me, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Brandon
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 05:34 PM   #2
The TW 1%
ForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Coast Guard: Chief Petty Officer, ITC
Name: Drunken Sailor
Joined: Sep 2006, #7
Location: East Bay, CA
Age: 36
Gender: Dude
Posts: 5,970
ForeRunner's Tacoma Gallery
I have a link to the 2001-2004 Tacoma FSM (Factory Service Manual)

Whole manual

Wiring Schematics

I hope this helps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 09:44 PM   #3
Avarice [OP] Avarice is offline
Junior Member
Avarice is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2006, #344
Age: 44
Posts: 4
Avarice's Tacoma Gallery
I don't really know how to read these manuals, but I will give it a shot. Thanks for your help, I have something to go on now.

Brandon
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 10:01 PM   #4
The TW 1%
ForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Coast Guard: Chief Petty Officer, ITC
Name: Drunken Sailor
Joined: Sep 2006, #7
Location: East Bay, CA
Age: 36
Gender: Dude
Posts: 5,970
ForeRunner's Tacoma Gallery
I'll see what I can do for you, audio installs aren't my fortay but I can read a schematic.

For the parking brake

Well I've found this

And a post in the thread links to this

And page 68 for the instument cluster wiring schematic.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 12:26 AM   #5
Junior Member
darrellabaker is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2007, #679
Posts: 2
darrellabaker's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks for the link!!! I just completed my AVIC-D1 install thanks to you, Banshee!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 10:11 PM   #6
The TW 1%
ForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Coast Guard: Chief Petty Officer, ITC
Name: Drunken Sailor
Joined: Sep 2006, #7
Location: East Bay, CA
Age: 36
Gender: Dude
Posts: 5,970
ForeRunner's Tacoma Gallery
Glad to help out!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 08:05 PM   #7
Senior Senile Member
sunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to behold
 
sunruner19's Avatar
Navy: Seabees 27th Battalion
Name: Bill
Joined: Dec 2006, #546
Location: Great Sacandaga Lake region Northville NY, South Yarmouth, Cape Cod Ma.
Age: 67
Gender: Male
Posts: 319
sunruner19's Tacoma Gallery
For those that are installing a avic z1 in '05 to '07, here is some helpful info that i got from pb for the parking brake wire, reverse wire, and speed sensor wire connections with pics
http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/t138609.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 10:01 PM   #8
Junior Member
darrellabaker is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2007, #679
Posts: 2
darrellabaker's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks sunruner19
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 12:44 PM   #9
Junior Member
ScottTRD is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2007, #1968
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 20
ScottTRD's Tacoma Gallery
I am having problems with the VSS wire....

I have a 07 Tacoma 4x4 Sport and hooked the wire to the same one shown in the post (pink and white wire with insulation cut off) and I get no speed pulses. Is the speed wire different in the 07s? I am hooking up a AVIC-D3.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 02:05 PM   #10
Sometimes I drink water...
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 30
Gender: Guy
Posts: 25,909
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
check out avic411they have tons of info on the n's, z's, d's, and other pioneer products including the bluetooth, xm, sirius...etc
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 04:13 PM   #11
Senior Senile Member
sunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to behold
 
sunruner19's Avatar
Navy: Seabees 27th Battalion
Name: Bill
Joined: Dec 2006, #546
Location: Great Sacandaga Lake region Northville NY, South Yarmouth, Cape Cod Ma.
Age: 67
Gender: Male
Posts: 319
sunruner19's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottTRD View Post
I have a 07 Tacoma 4x4 Sport and hooked the wire to the same one shown in the post (pink and white wire with insulation cut off) and I get no speed pulses. Is the speed wire different in the 07s? I am hooking up a AVIC-D3.
Wrong wire, it should be purple/ white.

Location is second plug from bottom, #8 cavatity is a purple wire which is the speed sensor.
wire code is the same for 05 thru 07 regardless of body style or engine tranny config.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 07:06 AM   #12
Junior Member
ScottTRD is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2007, #1968
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 20
ScottTRD's Tacoma Gallery
I found it. Don't know how I got thinking it was a pink and white wire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 02:35 PM   #13
Senior Senile Member
sunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to behold
 
sunruner19's Avatar
Navy: Seabees 27th Battalion
Name: Bill
Joined: Dec 2006, #546
Location: Great Sacandaga Lake region Northville NY, South Yarmouth, Cape Cod Ma.
Age: 67
Gender: Male
Posts: 319
sunruner19's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottTRD View Post
I found it. Don't know how I got thinking it was a pink and white wire.
Glad to hear that you found it. Was hoping that pic helped also. My problem is that I am color blind and had to get someone to pick the right wire for me, lol.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 09:39 AM   #14
Junior Member
captainsav is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2007, #3867
Posts: 4
captainsav's Tacoma Gallery
z2 won't power up

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated... checked all connections, can't get power...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 10:35 AM   #15
Senior Senile Member
sunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to behold
 
sunruner19's Avatar
Navy: Seabees 27th Battalion
Name: Bill
Joined: Dec 2006, #546
Location: Great Sacandaga Lake region Northville NY, South Yarmouth, Cape Cod Ma.
Age: 67
Gender: Male
Posts: 319
sunruner19's Tacoma Gallery
Loss Of Power On Z2

First thing to check is the fuse under the hood. For some reason, this can pop when changing radios. Are you using adapter cables between radio and original radio connectors or did you splice directly into original radio harness?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 10:53 AM   #16
Junior Member
captainsav is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2007, #3867
Posts: 4
captainsav's Tacoma Gallery
So there is a fuse in abox under the hood? I will explore that ASAP... I am currently spliced directly in, using some wiring diagrams I found through this site...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 12:08 PM   #17
Junior Member
captainsav is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2007, #3867
Posts: 4
captainsav's Tacoma Gallery
That was it, my friend... thanks so much for your help... I didn't find any other reference to that fuse in my searches. Have a great holiday
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 12:44 PM   #18
Senior Senile Member
sunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to beholdsunruner19 is a splendid one to behold
 
sunruner19's Avatar
Navy: Seabees 27th Battalion
Name: Bill
Joined: Dec 2006, #546
Location: Great Sacandaga Lake region Northville NY, South Yarmouth, Cape Cod Ma.
Age: 67
Gender: Male
Posts: 319
sunruner19's Tacoma Gallery
z2 install

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainsav View Post
That was it, my friend... thanks so much for your help... I didn't find any other reference to that fuse in my searches. Have a great holiday
glad to be of help on this. I myself blew that fuse when I installed my avec-z1
Are you subscribed to the real traffic reports? I left a few links as far as wiring photos in this thread earlier. Its a great system. Dont use any alcohol based window cleaners on the screen and definetly use a micro towel with the radio off.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avic Z-1 Install 2Kings920 Audio & Video 7 10-17-2012 04:26 PM
FS/trade Pioneer AVIC Z1 with extras!!! matt45648 Buy / Sell / Trade 26 02-15-2010 02:26 PM
FS: Pioneer AVIC Z1 (upgraded to Z3 HDD) mr.ernst Buy / Sell / Trade 19 12-14-2009 11:44 AM
HELP! Avic Z1 VSS Wire??? slimcubby Audio & Video 2 12-09-2008 09:56 PM
FEELER: Pioneer Avic Z1 for sale + More! slimcubby Buy / Sell / Trade 25 12-02-2008 01:06 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.