Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

steering wheel control adapter Tacoma issue?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2009, 07:18 AM   #1
Joe B [OP] Joe B is offline
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
steering wheel control adapter Tacoma issue?

Anyone have one installed?
I was told by my shop installer that some vehicles don't match up plug din wise,cable or something and he can't guarantee the steering wheel control adapter will work and won't know until it's hooked up.
He said he recently tried to install one on a Sequoia and it wouldn't match up somehow.
I'm getting my unit install monday but would like the buttons on the steering wheel to work remote or not.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:05 AM   #2
Senior Member
stang88 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2009, #14001
Location: Kansas City MO
Gender: Male
Posts: 233
stang88's Tacoma Gallery
well it depends on what brand of head unit you are getting and if it will accept steering wheel controls. i have a pioneer avic- f900bt and i am using the pac piece for the steering wheel controls and it works just fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:22 AM   #3
Joe B [OP] Joe B is offline
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang88 View Post
well it depends on what brand of head unit you are getting and if it will accept steering wheel controls. i have a pioneer avic- f900bt and i am using the pac piece for the steering wheel controls and it works just fine.
The Kenwood does say it will be compatible with a steering wheel adapter.
Yet,the shop says it depends on the vehicle manufacturer's cable or plug or something.
I guess I'll find out Monday.If it doesn't work,there's always the remote.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:33 AM   #4
Senior Member
stang88 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2009, #14001
Location: Kansas City MO
Gender: Male
Posts: 233
stang88's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe B View Post
The Kenwood does say it will be compatible with a steering wheel adapter.
Yet,the shop says it depends on the vehicle manufacturer's cable or plug or something.
I guess I'll find out Monday.If it doesn't work,there's always the remote.
pac makes a piece for the kenwood too. ur factory harness has the wire the pac piece splices into.. if they tell you differntly.. take it to another shop. i am an installer and had my complete double din in and working in 45 min..
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:45 AM   #5
Joe B [OP] Joe B is offline
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang88 View Post
pac makes a piece for the kenwood too. ur factory harness has the wire the pac piece splices into.. if they tell you differntly.. take it to another shop. i am an installer and had my complete double din in and working in 45 min..
Thanks,Stang.
I just called the shop,he uses Pac and he says it probably will work unless the truck has a data cable.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:49 AM   #6
Senior Member
MTL Tacoma is a splendid one to beholdMTL Tacoma is a splendid one to beholdMTL Tacoma is a splendid one to beholdMTL Tacoma is a splendid one to beholdMTL Tacoma is a splendid one to beholdMTL Tacoma is a splendid one to beholdMTL Tacoma is a splendid one to behold
 
MTL Tacoma's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2008, #5655
Location: Montreal, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 256
MTL Tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe B View Post
Thanks,Stang.
I just called the shop,he uses Pac and he says it probably will work unless the truck has a data cable.
I think he is just covering his ass!! Maybe he's never done it before.
I have a Kenwood DNX8120 with a Pac and no problems with my controls....been 8 months since the install.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:49 AM   #7
Nor*Cal
norcalbb11 has a spectacular aura aboutnorcalbb11 has a spectacular aura about
 
norcalbb11's Avatar
Joined: May 2008, #6753
Location: Cali
Age: 27
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,090
norcalbb11's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to norcalbb11 Send a message via Yahoo to norcalbb11
i just got the kenwood dnx 6140 and my steering wheel controls work for it
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:52 AM   #8
Joe B [OP] Joe B is offline
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalbb11 View Post
i just got the kenwood dnx 6140 and my steering wheel controls work for it
Excellent!
Thanks.
I'm happy to read that because the unit has like 7 functions on the dial and is said to be a bit difficult navigating,especially while driving.
I probably would rely on the remote if I found that dial to be a pain in the ass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:55 AM   #9
Joe B [OP] Joe B is offline
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTL Tacoma View Post
I think he is just covering his ass!! Maybe he's never done it before.
I have a Kenwood DNX8120 with a Pac and no problems with my controls....been 8 months since the install.
It's a busy shop I've passed on the highway many times and saw plenty of Benz,BMW and other expensive vehicles having things installed.
They also have another shop about 8 miles away.The shop is modern and spotless.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:21 AM   #10
Nor*Cal
norcalbb11 has a spectacular aura aboutnorcalbb11 has a spectacular aura about
 
norcalbb11's Avatar
Joined: May 2008, #6753
Location: Cali
Age: 27
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,090
norcalbb11's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to norcalbb11 Send a message via Yahoo to norcalbb11
yeah the kenwood goes through all the different modes when you push mode and theres like 7 different options...btw im jealous you have a supercharger!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:33 AM   #11
Joe B [OP] Joe B is offline
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalbb11 View Post
yeah the kenwood goes through all the different modes when you push mode and theres like 7 different options...btw im jealous you have a supercharger!

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:37 AM   #12
Nor*Cal
norcalbb11 has a spectacular aura aboutnorcalbb11 has a spectacular aura about
 
norcalbb11's Avatar
Joined: May 2008, #6753
Location: Cali
Age: 27
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,090
norcalbb11's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to norcalbb11 Send a message via Yahoo to norcalbb11
i know this is off subject but i think you got the answers you wanted already haha, but how are you liking the supercharger and have you had any problems with it? i plan on getting one installed on my truck with my tax return haha
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:42 AM   #13
Joe B [OP] Joe B is offline
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalbb11 View Post
i know this is off subject but i think you got the answers you wanted already haha, but how are you liking the supercharger and have you had any problems with it? i plan on getting one installed on my truck with my tax return haha
No problems.I like the performance and the whine though $4530 is a chunk of $$$.
Toyota says no maintenance till 100K miles but I'll go with Gadget's mainienance recommendation.
30K on the SC oil and 60K on the nose drive.
I'll do a belt replacement at 50K.


http://www.gadgetonline.com/SuperNose.htm
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:50 AM   #14
Nor*Cal
norcalbb11 has a spectacular aura aboutnorcalbb11 has a spectacular aura about
 
norcalbb11's Avatar
Joined: May 2008, #6753
Location: Cali
Age: 27
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,090
norcalbb11's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to norcalbb11 Send a message via Yahoo to norcalbb11
yeah it is a big chunk if you keep it at a steady pace and not get on it so much do you get better gas mileage or is it worse? And do you get an even flow of power even when your not full throttle?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:54 AM   #15
Joe B [OP] Joe B is offline
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalbb11 View Post
yeah it is a big chunk if you keep it at a steady pace and not get on it so much do you get better gas mileage or is it worse? And do you get an even flow of power even when your not full throttle?

MPGs are about the same but if you play you pay.
Premium is a must.You should have premium in the tank when your SC is installed.
Yes,even power.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:56 AM   #16
Nor*Cal
norcalbb11 has a spectacular aura aboutnorcalbb11 has a spectacular aura about
 
norcalbb11's Avatar
Joined: May 2008, #6753
Location: Cali
Age: 27
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,090
norcalbb11's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to norcalbb11 Send a message via Yahoo to norcalbb11
lol very nice, im sure i wouldnt get to great of gas mileage since i drive a mountain for my daily commute but i sure would like to have that extra power, its so tempting haha
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 10:04 AM   #17
Joe B [OP] Joe B is offline
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalbb11 View Post
lol very nice, im sure i wouldnt get to great of gas mileage since i drive a mountain for my daily commute but i sure would like to have that extra power, its so tempting haha
Do it only if you really can!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 10:09 AM   #18
Nor*Cal
norcalbb11 has a spectacular aura aboutnorcalbb11 has a spectacular aura about
 
norcalbb11's Avatar
Joined: May 2008, #6753
Location: Cali
Age: 27
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,090
norcalbb11's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to norcalbb11 Send a message via Yahoo to norcalbb11
yeah true true, man you even have remote start, haha your killin me man! thanks for all the info i appreciate it, sorry i derailed your thread here haha
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 10:11 AM   #19
Joe B [OP] Joe B is offline
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalbb11 View Post
yeah true true, man you even have remote start, haha your killin me man! thanks for all the info i appreciate it, sorry i derailed your thread here haha


I don't want to lift so think I'm about done with Mods now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 10:15 AM   #20
Nor*Cal
norcalbb11 has a spectacular aura aboutnorcalbb11 has a spectacular aura about
 
norcalbb11's Avatar
Joined: May 2008, #6753
Location: Cali
Age: 27
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,090
norcalbb11's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to norcalbb11 Send a message via Yahoo to norcalbb11
why not put a lift on it? im thinking of doing the 3" toytec coilover lift which comes with the 5100's seems like everyone likes that setup, the 3" gives it a nice mean look to it i think.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FEELER PAC Steering wheel controls adapter JStradaXR Group Buys 0 02-10-2012 02:49 AM
cant find an adapter for momo steering wheel hub michaels Wheels & Tires 0 01-01-2011 09:00 AM
FS: 03+ Tacoma WIRED Steering Wheel Control Interface REMPIOTOY ryhi Buy / Sell / Trade 4 05-27-2010 04:11 AM
steering wheel control wcm608 Audio & Video 1 11-19-2008 09:10 PM
05' tacoma Steering wheel adapter tacoma83 Technical Chat 0 06-09-2008 09:59 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.