Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

2014 Navigation Unit in 2013

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2014, 10:33 AM   #241
Member
tacotacoburrito is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2013, #104694
Gender: Male
Posts: 62
tacotacoburrito's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiting1977 View Post
I have read most but not all of this thread in hopes of finding answers to a couple of my questions. I have a 2014 and recently purchased the Nav unit from FLTrucks. I have not yet installed it but have the following questions. Given that my truck did not come with the Nav unit (Entune Plus) will the 28 pin connecter still have the speed sensor hooked up? And I understand that the shark fin is for both GPS and Sat Radio. Even thought my truck did not come with Nav should I expect to find an unused GPS connection hanging behind the radio ready to plug into the new Nav unit or will I have to use the antenna FLTrucks sent me?
Speed wire should be there. Have to use supplied GPS receiver.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 05:18 PM   #242
Member
InducedComa is on a distinguished road
Army: MP VAARNG
Name: Paul
Joined: Dec 2013, #118522
Location: Northern VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 71
InducedComa's Tacoma Gallery
Can anyone tell me the secret to pulling wires out of the S8 connector? Apparently I butchered it pretty bad and need to replace it. I got the new connector from te.com just need to swap the wires from one to the other. Thanks in advanced for any useful responses.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 09:23 AM   #243
Member
tacotacoburrito is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2013, #104694
Gender: Male
Posts: 62
tacotacoburrito's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by InducedComa View Post
Can anyone tell me the secret to pulling wires out of the S8 connector? Apparently I butchered it pretty bad and need to replace it. I got the new connector from te.com just need to swap the wires from one to the other. Thanks in advanced for any useful responses.
There is a small rectangular bar. I think it has arrows on it that clicks down and locks in the contacts. To release it look at the sides of the S8 connector. You should see some small squarish holes where some tabs pop out. They are angled so that they "pop" out into the square hole to lock the keeper bar. You can use a dental pick to carefully press the locking tabs in and work the lock bar up. Once the bar is up you can pull the connector straight out the back. It does take a bit of force.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 05:41 PM   #244
Member
notinparadise is on a distinguished road
 
notinparadise's Avatar
Air Force: Desk Aviator
Name: Pat
Joined: Sep 2013, #111666
Location: Hampton, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 46
notinparadise's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by InducedComa View Post
Can anyone tell me the secret to pulling wires out of the S8 connector? Apparently I butchered it pretty bad and need to replace it. I got the new connector from te.com just need to swap the wires from one to the other. Thanks in advanced for any useful responses.
I destroyed mine trying to re-pin the original S8. I also found that the pins from TE where a lot harder to get to click into place than the original stock pins. I ended up taking a picture of the old harness for memory, cut the wires, sat at my bench and did all the work, then spliced and soldered the wires together after all the pins were in the correct spots and relocked. I found it easier then bending under my steering wheel trying to re-pin.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 07:19 PM   #245
Member
metal4130 is on a distinguished road
Name: Eric
Joined: Nov 2013, #116263
Location: Central IL
Gender: Male
Posts: 64
metal4130's Tacoma Gallery
I FINALLY finished this job on my truck. I used 22 gauge wire and I think 20 gauge is the thickest you would want to go. I got my pins from TE.com using their sample request. I also ordered a spare S8 connector so I could test my pins before doing it for real on the truck. Everything works perfectly now and I'm very happy I did this mod to my 2013.

There is a large ground cable that mounts to the steering column with a phillips screw and that is where I grounded the illumination circuit using a crimp on eyelet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 10:26 AM   #246
Junior Member
NWI DON is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2014, #127648
Location: Highland,Indiana
Gender: Male
Posts: 15
NWI DON's Tacoma Gallery
You guys are amazing! Thanks for all your work and research!! Looks like I'll have to make my own harness though (wheel to HU). All I have is 1 green wire coming out S8. So Just for clarification--Only wanna do this once (Knowing me,I'll probably F'up somewhere anyways). This is on a 2014 taco.

S8 to N25 is Pin 6 to 21...5 to 22...4 to 23...3 to 24...( 9 to ground for illumination).

Connectors from TE are 1717115 for N25 plug
1717106 for S8 plug
1674311 for pins
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 08:27 PM   #247
Senior Member
toofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Jun 2014, #132087
Location: Somewhere in time.....
Gender: Male
Posts: 305
toofish2's Tacoma Gallery
Hi Guy's,

If all goes well I will have my new 2014 White Toyota Tacoma double cab Off-Road Friday as it it's the dock on the 18 June 2014 in Baltimore….

I am wanting to up grade my Entune w/out Nav to a Nav and I see everyone here talking about FLTrucks would anyone have a link?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 07:57 AM   #248
Senior Member
toofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtoofish2 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Jun 2014, #132087
Location: Somewhere in time.....
Gender: Male
Posts: 305
toofish2's Tacoma Gallery
Installing the Nav

Hello guys I am installing a 2014 Nav HU into my 2014 Off Road double cab are these basically plug and play or am i in for some challenges of installation?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 08:02 AM   #249
Member
fergsonfire is on a distinguished road
Navy: Former Ensign, USN
Name: Kyle
Joined: Apr 2013, #102348
Location: Grovetown, GA
Gender: Male
Posts: 63
fergsonfire's Tacoma Gallery
I would go aftermarket before I went stock nav
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 07:55 AM   #250
Junior Member
raffy4x4 is on a distinguished road
Name: raffy
Joined: Jun 2014, #132914
Location: toronto
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
raffy4x4's Tacoma Gallery
nav

Hi Yogster

can I install nav in to car system on tacoma trd 2014?

thanks

raffy
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 12:07 PM   #251
Member
whiting1977 is on a distinguished road
 
whiting1977's Avatar
Name: Steve
Joined: Apr 2014, #127682
Location: Sacramento CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 57
whiting1977's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofish2 View Post
Hello guys I am installing a 2014 Nav HU into my 2014 Off Road double cab are these basically plug and play or am i in for some challenges of installation?
I put a 2014 Nav unit in my 2014 Tacoma and it was total plug and play. I had to remove the Sat Radio from the old HU and attach it to the new one but other then that it was a piece of cake. The Shark Fin handled the GPS so I didn't even need the Nav antenna that came with the Navigator.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 10:16 PM   #252
Remember?
sr5vic is a splendid one to beholdsr5vic is a splendid one to beholdsr5vic is a splendid one to beholdsr5vic is a splendid one to beholdsr5vic is a splendid one to beholdsr5vic is a splendid one to beholdsr5vic is a splendid one to beholdsr5vic is a splendid one to behold
 
sr5vic's Avatar
Name: Bret
Joined: Jan 2013, #94619
Location: Victoria BC
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 396
sr5vic's Tacoma Gallery
Can ANYONE help me. I've been spending countless hours searching and researching and can find no answer. WHAT is this connector called? I don't have a factory SAT antenna and im trying to use a SIRUSXM antenna in its place.



I ordered this by accident and now am thinking its the wrong connector
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/151116660067?...84.m1497.l2648

ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 01:23 PM   #253
Junior Member
DunkinDal is on a distinguished road
Army:
Joined: Apr 2014, #126778
Location: South of Boston
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
DunkinDal's Tacoma Gallery
I could never find that connector but it's a SMB female connection you could use this with the adapter you just got then remove the plastic housing around the other end and it will push onto the radio just need to secure it with tape glue ETC

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Fakra-SMB-B-...item337bdec50a
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 09:53 PM   #255
Junior Member
DunkinDal is on a distinguished road
Army:
Joined: Apr 2014, #126778
Location: South of Boston
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
DunkinDal's Tacoma Gallery
yes
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 10:03 PM   #256
Junior Member
kbraz88 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jul 2014, #133760
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
kbraz88's Tacoma Gallery
I hope this isn't an annoying question. Im trying to hook up a 2013 nav screen in my 2012 trd sport. Everything matches except the Antenna, Steering wheel, and Nav connections... are these easily converted?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 01:47 PM   #257
Member
notinparadise is on a distinguished road
 
notinparadise's Avatar
Air Force: Desk Aviator
Name: Pat
Joined: Sep 2013, #111666
Location: Hampton, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 46
notinparadise's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by notinparadise View Post
Thank you for the info, works like a charm, I got lights & left and right to work today. I still cannot get the back up camera to work. I will have to dig into that issue another time. Nothing like taking out my HU for the 100th time...
Okay I finally figured it out. The green wire(power) going to the camera needed to be moved to the gray wire(12v) on the other harness. Once I moved the wire the camera worked fine. I guess some non-OEM after market cameras require a bit more voltage to turn on, hope this helps someone else.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 09:19 AM   #258
Junior Member
u2knetworks is on a distinguished road
Navy:
Name: Thomas
Joined: Aug 2013, #110769
Location: New Mexico
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
u2knetworks's Tacoma Gallery
Thank you for the HU and XM mode FLTrucks! It was easy to install and setup. The one thing I have a question if anyone can answer is, on my '13 taco I already had headsfree and I have a mic above in the light console. I don't have the voice button on my controls. Which means I have to get new controls for the streering wheel, but do I need need another mic or can I use the same one?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 09:55 AM   #259
Senior Member
FawkQ is on a distinguished road
Royal Canadian Air Force: MCpl - Avionics Technician
Joined: Oct 2009, #23797
Location: Alberta, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 105
FawkQ's Tacoma Gallery
2014 Navigation Unit in 2013

Quote:
Originally Posted by u2knetworks View Post
Thank you for the HU and XM mode FLTrucks! It was easy to install and setup. The one thing I have a question if anyone can answer is, on my '13 taco I already had headsfree and I have a mic above in the light console. I don't have the voice button on my controls. Which means I have to get new controls for the streering wheel, but do I need need another mic or can I use the same one?

All you need is the steering control and run 2 wires (for the directional pad and enter button that the '14 has) and you'll have fully functional 2014 HU and steering. I'll see if I can find the thread that they proved this on.

Here it is, post #190...
http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/aud...2013-a-10.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 12:12 PM   #260
Junior Member
u2knetworks is on a distinguished road
Navy:
Name: Thomas
Joined: Aug 2013, #110769
Location: New Mexico
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
u2knetworks's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by FawkQ View Post
All you need is the steering control and run 2 wires (for the directional pad and enter button that the '14 has) and you'll have fully functional 2014 HU and steering. I'll see if I can find the thread that they proved this on.

Here it is, post #190...
http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/aud...2013-a-10.html

Thank you FawkQ. I saw that and I was thinking I was right on the wires. but wanted to make sure I didn't need a separate mic. I send sr5vic a pm asking if he still had the wire he made for that. I haven't heard from him yet.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM 2014 Tacoma Navigation Radio FLTrucks 2nd Gen Tacoma Marketplace 1025 12-23-2014 08:07 AM
2014 Navigation Unit in 2013 - works yogster 2nd Gen. Tacomas 28 08-19-2014 05:23 AM
WTB - OEM 2014 Tacoma Navigation Radio FawkQ Buy / Sell / Trade - Canada 4 04-11-2014 05:16 PM
looking to buy a 2013 stock navigation unit AndWho 2nd Gen Tacoma Marketplace 8 03-04-2013 01:30 PM
New JVC Navigation unit aliamber 2nd Gen. Tacomas 0 03-26-2012 06:01 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.