Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

How to limit power to sub from amp?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2014, 08:38 AM   #1
96Taco [OP] 96Taco is offline
Senior Member
96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
96Taco's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2011, #48827
Location: Alberta
Gender: Male
Posts: 717
96Taco's Tacoma Gallery
How to limit power to sub from amp?

Quick question..

I was wondering if there is a way to limit the power send from my amp to the sub. Basically when a louder song comes on or a really low loud part of a song comes on it maxes the sub out causing it to buzz and sound like its maxing out. As I do not have a sub level remote control I just have to turn the song down on the head unit. My amp is an Alpine MRP-M500 so once you set the levels its impractical to change it for every song.

I would want some device to install after the amp which doesn't allow any more than a set max amount of power to the sub. So whatever volume I have the head unit cranked to the sub will be safe and within its range.

I only got a 8" pioneer shallow mount sub installed in the stock location.

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 09:05 AM   #2
cuz my life is dope and I do dope shit
TurdTaco13 is on a distinguished road
 
TurdTaco13's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2014, #122415
Location: Abq
Age: 34
Gender: Male
Posts: 275
TurdTaco13's Tacoma Gallery
Turn the gain down man. Pretty simple.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 03:54 PM   #3
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,836
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
It's not tuned right. Fix that first.

The buy the remote bass knob for it. Or use the HU's settings to adjust subwoofer gain.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 05:05 PM   #4
Member
SlowComa666 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2012, #90408
Location: San Antonio TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 72
SlowComa666's Tacoma Gallery
i haven't used these http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...xess-AALC.html

but it looks like it is an answer, maybe no the best one though

as Aw9d said, tune your stuff first.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 05:07 PM   #5
Member
adrenalnjunky will become famous soon enough
Name: Chris
Joined: Aug 2014, #135728
Location: West Monroe, Louisiana
Gender: Male
Posts: 37
adrenalnjunky's Tacoma Gallery
Also sounds like your sub itself might be in the wrong box or ported wrong if it is drastically louder in sections of the song and not in the others. Unless, there just isn't much bass then. Not all portions of all songs have a 45hz beat going on.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 09:50 AM   #6
96Taco [OP] 96Taco is offline
Senior Member
96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
96Taco's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2011, #48827
Location: Alberta
Gender: Male
Posts: 717
96Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurdTaco13 View Post
Turn the gain down man. Pretty simple.
Gain is almost at zero. It takes the high line in. The JBL 4runner package has an amplified signal going to the stock sub, i took that signal and put it to the alpine amp..
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 09:52 AM   #7
96Taco [OP] 96Taco is offline
Senior Member
96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
96Taco's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2011, #48827
Location: Alberta
Gender: Male
Posts: 717
96Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aw9d View Post
It's not tuned right. Fix that first.

The buy the remote bass knob for it. Or use the HU's settings to adjust subwoofer gain.
Thanks but the HU doesn't have a sub output control. Its just the stock 4runner hu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowComa666 View Post
i haven't used these http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...xess-AALC.html

but it looks like it is an answer, maybe no the best one though

as Aw9d said, tune your stuff first.
I think I might give this a shot. thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 11:04 AM   #8
Member
adrenalnjunky will become famous soon enough
Name: Chris
Joined: Aug 2014, #135728
Location: West Monroe, Louisiana
Gender: Male
Posts: 37
adrenalnjunky's Tacoma Gallery
a lot of those factory systems have a bass boost and cut through the volume range, or even speed sensitive at times. That might be why the bass is louder at times versus others.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 12:25 PM   #9
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,836
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96Taco View Post
Thanks but the HU doesn't have a sub output control. Its just the stock 4runner hu.



I think I might give this a shot. thanks!
So buy the remote bass knob for the amp and that will give you the freedom to adjust the sub gain on the fly.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 12:52 PM   #10
Member
adrenalnjunky will become famous soon enough
Name: Chris
Joined: Aug 2014, #135728
Location: West Monroe, Louisiana
Gender: Male
Posts: 37
adrenalnjunky's Tacoma Gallery
The OP appears to be driving his amp using the output of the factory JBL system amp. Which I can't help but wonder if that's part of the issue - HL inputs are typically only good up to about 30w of input power before things get flaky.

If this is how everything is wired up, then he doesn't have any RCA's to connect that universal bass knob to.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 08:17 AM   #11
96Taco [OP] 96Taco is offline
Senior Member
96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed96Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
96Taco's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2011, #48827
Location: Alberta
Gender: Male
Posts: 717
96Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrenalnjunky View Post
The OP appears to be driving his amp using the output of the factory JBL system amp. Which I can't help but wonder if that's part of the issue - HL inputs are typically only good up to about 30w of input power before things get flaky.

If this is how everything is wired up, then he doesn't have any RCA's to connect that universal bass knob to.
Thats right. I would probably have to get a LOC. Bit of a f around but if that what it takes...

Interesting that you said HL get flakey after about 30w. I have heard others say that some amps have a crappy inbuilt HL to low converter..so you are better off to get a good quality LOC. Does that make sense?

You are correct the HL is coming from my stock JBL amplifier. So likley in excess of 30w.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 08:29 AM   #12
Member
adrenalnjunky will become famous soon enough
Name: Chris
Joined: Aug 2014, #135728
Location: West Monroe, Louisiana
Gender: Male
Posts: 37
adrenalnjunky's Tacoma Gallery
Entirely possible. I dunno about how it would work with a LOC cause I've been out of the industry for a while honestly. Back in my installer days, there was the PAC units, and none of today's fancier units. I'd bet something like the audiocontrol LC2 is the ticket, takes up to 400ish watts input signal, and has some intelligence around how it processes your subwoofer signal output. You also have the option for a remote level control.

I'm sure other brands and pieces can do the same.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chip McCormick 1911 Power Mags in 10rd & 8rd New & Used .45acp Ostrichsak Buy / Sell / Trade - Other 6 08-13-2014 11:07 AM
Amp power steps Guess2010 2nd Gen Tacoma Marketplace 0 11-26-2012 11:53 AM
How much power without an amp? Moving4ward Audio & Video 8 08-10-2012 09:03 AM
Power Pop & Lock for 2005 & Up Toyota Tacoma semirgdj 2nd Gen Tacoma Marketplace 7 10-09-2011 02:48 PM
Can this amp power my sub??? bowhuntingaddict Audio & Video 11 08-11-2010 12:35 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.