1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

What Head Unit? Need advice for my 2006 Taco

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by jpachard, Sep 8, 2014.

1. Sep 8, 2014 at 9:20 AM
    jpachard

jpachard [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2006 4WD 4.0L Tacoma 6spd TRD
    Sooo, I want to get a new head unit for my truck and I'm a complete noob in this subject matter so here goes... Below I have listed my needs etc. What would the collective wisdom recommend? I need something that has navigation, the ability to charge and play music from my iPhone(5s) and mirror apps if possible. I'd also like to be able to view topo maps if that's even available. I don't need tons of fancy stuff like play DVD's etc.

I'm looking at the
    Blaupunkt San Diego 530 and was wondering if there are any other units I should be considering? The budget is 500.00 or less if at all possible.

Thanks in advance!

James

2. Sep 15, 2014 at 3:03 PM
    Aw9d

Aw9d That one guy

Member:
    Most of the stuff you want is going to get you over the $500 tag really fast.

Blaupunkt used to be good in the 80's. I'm really not sure if they are good or not anymore. I've not seen anyone use one in ages.

I'd look at Pioneer, Alpine and Kenwood. It's just going to be a budget concern after that.

3. Sep 16, 2014 at 11:48 AM
    adrenalnjunky

adrenalnjunky Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Chris
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner SR5 DCSB
    billie 5100's front @ .85"
    I think for your price range, you're going to probably need something that can mirror your phone, and use it for the map viewing/navigation.