Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

What Head Unit? Need advice for my 2006 Taco

Old 09-08-2014, 09:20 AM   #1
jpachard is on a distinguished road
EMS:
jpachard's Tacoma Gallery
What Head Unit? Need advice for my 2006 Taco

Sooo, I want to get a new head unit for my truck and I'm a complete noob in this subject matter so here goes... Below I have listed my needs etc. What would the collective wisdom recommend? I need something that has navigation, the ability to charge and play music from my iPhone(5s) and mirror apps if possible. I'd also like to be able to view topo maps if that's even available. I don't need tons of fancy stuff like play DVD's etc.

I'm looking at the
Blaupunkt San Diego 530 and was wondering if there are any other units I should be considering? The budget is 500.00 or less if at all possible.

Thanks in advance!

James
Old 09-15-2014, 03:03 PM   #2
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
Most of the stuff you want is going to get you over the $500 tag really fast.

Blaupunkt used to be good in the 80's. I'm really not sure if they are good or not anymore. I've not seen anyone use one in ages.

I'd look at Pioneer, Alpine and Kenwood. It's just going to be a budget concern after that.
Old 09-16-2014, 11:48 AM   #3
adrenalnjunky will become famous soon enough
Name: Chris
adrenalnjunky's Tacoma Gallery
I think for your price range, you're going to probably need something that can mirror your phone, and use it for the map viewing/navigation.