1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amp to power door speakers Q's

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by NCtaco914, Nov 24, 2014.

1. Nov 24, 2014 at 8:57 AM
    NCtaco914

NCtaco914 [OP] MALLIN'CRAWLIN'

Member:
    First Name:
    NEIL
    NORTH CAROLINA
    Vehicle:
    17' DCSB TRD O/R
    I am completely new to audio so please don't be offended :eek:

What I want to do is power my 4 door speakers with an amp and keep the stock headunit (I know).

My question is since the amp I want to by has speaker level inputs. Can I run speaker wire from the existing wiring (extend the wires to the amp) and then run new wire back to the speakers? Then I would need to find a power source from the back of the headunit to the amp?

Seems to simple in my mind so im thinking there is more to it..Please correct me if im wrong. Also I will be using Alpine 6.5" components along with an Alpine MRX-F35

2. Nov 24, 2014 at 12:33 PM
    3rail

3rail Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Donald
    Amish Country
    Vehicle:
    17 Tacoma Sport AC (Inferno Orange)
    TRD wheels and Nitto tires, TRD Pro grille, exhaust, CAI, skid PL & shift knob. OEM Audio Plus 450Q sound system upgrade.
    I am by no means an expert on your question but will offer what I know. Depending on your amp, you can run your speaker wires out the back of the HU directly to it AS LONG as your amp has a HI / LO switch for input. Even though the HU puts out weak power, the amp still sees it as a high level input. In this case the switch would be set to HI.