Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Question about line out converter

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-21-2009, 01:03 PM   #1
rod11 [OP] rod11 is offline
Senior Member
rod11 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2009, #15517
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 158
rod11's Tacoma Gallery
Question about line out converter

I'm getting ready to connect an amp to my factory HU and have already bought a Scoshe line out converter from Wal Mart for $17. I just found this at Best Buy for $25 and am wondering if it's better...



What I have is just the blue converter box. For only $8 more I get this kit with the harness. I don't have much experience with audio installs, so I'm just going to be learning as I go. If the best buy kit makes it any easier at all for me it'll be worth the $8.

Thanks for any advice!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 02:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
4x4Taco will become famous soon enough4x4Taco will become famous soon enough
 
4x4Taco's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2007, #976
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 153
4x4Taco's Tacoma Gallery
They are pretty much going to be the same....I am not a fan of line out converters as I have never seen one that dosent introduce alot of signal to noise esp on high power amps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 02:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
4x4Taco will become famous soon enough4x4Taco will become famous soon enough
 
4x4Taco's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2007, #976
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 153
4x4Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Also...if you do go that route...make sure you place it somewhere as to not get engine noise coming through the converter. Put it as far away as you can and insulate the wiring.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 11:31 PM   #4
rod11 [OP] rod11 is offline
Senior Member
rod11 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2009, #15517
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 158
rod11's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks for that info. I don't know much about these things, just know it's my only option if I want to keep my factory HU. If a new HU didn't increase the chance of theft so much I'd get one and enjoy the better sound.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 08:15 AM   #5
1/2 man 1/2 amazing
sooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: A A Ron
Joined: Feb 2008, #4783
Location: Killeen, Texas
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,390
sooner07's Tacoma Gallery
I'd go with the LOC versus the harness. It adds flexibility with the adjustable gains (but be careful as they tend to add a lot of noise).

Another, albeit expensive, method is the use of some of AudioControl's electronics or JL's clean sweep. AC makes the Epic, which acts as a LOC and works to counteract the stock HU's equalization. The JL Clean Sweep does the same thing, but has slightly different method of doing this. Both are good products to the best of my knowledge. However, the biggest detractor is that they both cost as much or more than a pretty nice HU.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 08:38 AM   #6
rod11 [OP] rod11 is offline
Senior Member
rod11 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2009, #15517
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 158
rod11's Tacoma Gallery
Yeah I considered one of those devices to clean up the signal, but as you say they're just too expensive.

Oh also, with the Best Buy package you get the LOC box and the harness. The one I got from Wal Mart is just the box. So I'm wondering if getting the harness along with the box would make for easier installation? Or will I have to end up buying a harness anyway? I feel like I'm not making sense, but I guess that's b/c I know so little about them I don't even know how to ask questions
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 07:42 PM   #7
1/2 man 1/2 amazing
sooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: A A Ron
Joined: Feb 2008, #4783
Location: Killeen, Texas
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,390
sooner07's Tacoma Gallery
No, the harness is not a must have. It makes it a little easier and keeps you from cutting stock wires, but either way, you will be fine.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
line converter LBtaco Buy / Sell / Trade 4 10-10-2012 12:44 PM
Installing a in line converter for rca??? tacoany1? Audio & Video 11 04-03-2012 05:42 PM
out line converter help blueNCtaco Audio & Video 2 09-15-2011 01:52 PM
line out converter TexasIslandBoy Audio & Video 3 10-17-2010 08:17 PM
Line out converter placement rb11701 Audio & Video 9 07-25-2010 09:44 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.