Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Zune/MP3 interface

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2007, 08:18 PM   #1
Junior Member
groundpounder is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2007, #3395
Posts: 8
groundpounder's Tacoma Gallery
Zune/MP3 interface

Sup guys, I am new to the Forum. Just trying to find answers to interface Zune with my stock JBL 6 disk changer. I have seen some post but I think all I need/all I can do is the PIE to CD attachment. Would that work? Any ideas? Thank you.

gp
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 08:35 PM   #2
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
Welcome to TW, groundpounder. For those with an Ipod I usually suggest the USA-Spec adapter. But for those of us without an Ipod I suggest the Metra adapter, part# AIPTY02ID. It is way cheaper, at $49, from Circuit City. They simply plug into a jack already on the back of your existing head unit. Using 007Tacoma's tutorial on this site it is very easy to remove the head unit. You can simply run a cable to your glove box from the Metra. It plugs into your headphone jack on the Zune and away you go. It took me less than 30 minutes to install.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 08:52 PM   #3
Junior Member
groundpounder is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2007, #3395
Posts: 8
groundpounder's Tacoma Gallery
Thank you very much. I thought it would be multiple step process, but it turned out to be a pretty simple solution. Thank you again

gp
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 09:00 PM   #4
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
By the way, if you ever do trade "up" to an Ipod, you can still use the Metra. It has an Ipod connector also. This is the link to the tutorial that includes instructions for removing the head unit...

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/aud...w-2nd-gen.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 09:23 AM   #5
Unapologetic Texan
sawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to behold
 
sawdust's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2007, #2802
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 1,294
sawdust's Tacoma Gallery
If the Metra is cheaper and works fine with an ipod, why recommend USA-spec? Does it offer more functionality?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 08:14 PM   #6
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
Yes, I believe it has greater functionality, but it is WAY more expensive. I haven't had a chance to use the Metra with an Ipod yet. I am waiting for my sons friend to bring his over so I can test it out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 11:21 AM   #7
gsm gsm is offline
Senior Member
gsm will become famous soon enoughgsm will become famous soon enough
 
gsm's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3426
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 143
gsm's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoppas View Post
Welcome to TW, groundpounder. For those with an Ipod I usually suggest the USA-Spec adapter. But for those of us without an Ipod I suggest the Metra adapter, part# AIPTY02ID. It is way cheaper, at $49, from Circuit City. They simply plug into a jack already on the back of your existing head unit. Using 007Tacoma's tutorial on this site it is very easy to remove the head unit. You can simply run a cable to your glove box from the Metra. It plugs into your headphone jack on the Zune and away you go. It took me less than 30 minutes to install.
Is the head unit the same with the factory single CD setup?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 11:42 AM   #8
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
I have no personal experience with the single CD head unit. However, I am fairly certain that it is the same with any 2nd generation Taco factory head unit.

By the way, I finally got my hands on an Ipod this weekend. The Metra works great with the Ipod, however you cannot control the Ipod from the radio controls. You must use the Ipod to switch songs, etc (what do you expect for $49). Interestingly the volume was much louder using the Ipod than it was using my mp3 player.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 12:52 PM   #9
gsm gsm is offline
Senior Member
gsm will become famous soon enoughgsm will become famous soon enough
 
gsm's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3426
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 143
gsm's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoppas View Post
I have no personal experience with the single CD head unit. However, I am fairly certain that it is the same with any 2nd generation Taco factory head unit.

By the way, I finally got my hands on an Ipod this weekend. The Metra works great with the Ipod, however you cannot control the Ipod from the radio controls. You must use the Ipod to switch songs, etc (what do you expect for $49). Interestingly the volume was much louder using the Ipod than it was using my mp3 player.
A quick look at the Circuit Cit
y web site doesn't say much about it. But in Bold print at the bottom of the page stated:

Note: Installation may require disconnection of factory CD changer or satellite tuner in order to access your iPod.

Does your CD player still work normally? i.e. a separate location that you can plug this thing in or some type of Y-connector?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 12:16 PM   #10
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
Sorry for taking so long to get back to you. You do not have to disconnect your CD player. It all works fine. The "Disk" button toggles between your CD player and your mp3 player.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 11:01 PM   #11
Luc Luc is offline
Junior Member
Luc is on a distinguished road
 
Luc's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3542
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 16
Luc's Tacoma Gallery
When I look up the Metra adapter, part# AIPTY02ID, on circuit city web site it says for Ipod. Is the connection on the bottom of the Ipod the same as the one on the bottom of the Zune? I just got a zune for Christmas and dont want to order the wrong thing.

Thanks,
Luc
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 11:11 PM   #12
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
I am not familiar with the Zune but I doubt that the connections are the same as the Ipod. The Metra has 2 connections. One is specifically for the Ipod, the other one plugs into the headphone jack built into any device such as a Sansa mp3 player or, I suspect, your Zune.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 06:04 PM   #13
Junior Member
groundpounder is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2007, #3395
Posts: 8
groundpounder's Tacoma Gallery
I dont think you will be able to hook up your zune the same as the ipod. You will have to use the 3.5 mm aux input to connect to your vehicle.

I just read in Popular Mechanics that Ford will have a small onboard computer to sync with Zune. I is a version of Windows called Windows Auto. It will cost $395 as an option. It says the technology will be available in less than 2 years. So, oh well for the Zune owners like us.

Ed
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 05:56 PM   #14
spp spp is offline
Senior Member
spp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Dec 2006, #442
Location: OC California
Gender: Male
Posts: 683
spp's Tacoma Gallery
Just installed the correct Metra for my wifes '03 Corolla. Pretty sure I'm plugged into the correct spot on the back of the Toyota factory Head unit.
Can't get it to work.
For those who have installed one does the power light come on with or without a player plugged in?
We are using the 3.5mm plug for the Zune we have. Tried everything I could think of to get some sort of reaction fron the headunit but nothing.
Could it be a defective Metra unit or something missing from my stereo?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 11:45 PM   #15
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
What power light are you refering to? On the Tacoma I have a CD player built into the headunit. I have to press the Disk button to toggle between the CD player and the Metra adapter. Which model# of Metra did you use? I believe the older Toyotas require a different Metra adapter than the one specified in this thread.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 08:21 AM   #16
spp spp is offline
Senior Member
spp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Dec 2006, #442
Location: OC California
Gender: Male
Posts: 683
spp's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoppas View Post
What power light are you refering to? On the Tacoma I have a CD player built into the headunit. I have to press the Disk button to toggle between the CD player and the Metra adapter. Which model# of Metra did you use? I believe the older Toyotas require a different Metra adapter than the one specified in this thread.
I DO have the correct model Metra and it is not the one in this thread. On the Metra there is a red led with power printed next to it. The Corollas H/U has a built in CD player also and a plug in the back for an external changer. Hitting the CD button has done nothing. Would help if someone knows about the power light on the Metra.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 03:13 PM   #17
Junior Member
groundpounder is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2007, #3395
Posts: 8
groundpounder's Tacoma Gallery
It would probably help if you have pictures of the H/U, the set up connections and the Metra. As I understand the Metra should pull power from the H/U? How do u switch to use the CD Shuttle Changer?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 04:53 PM   #18
spp spp is offline
Senior Member
spp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Dec 2006, #442
Location: OC California
Gender: Male
Posts: 683
spp's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by groundpounder View Post
It would probably help if you have pictures of the H/U, the set up connections and the Metra. As I understand the Metra should pull power from the H/U? How do u switch to use the CD Shuttle Changer?
Don't have a changer, but from the owners manual info it should be able to be added. From what I've read you should just be able to toggle the one CD button and pull up either source. As for connections it is just a plug on the end of the metra that plugs into the CD changer port on the back of the HU.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2007, 09:24 PM   #19
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
I don't recall if my Metra unit had a red power light on it. If it did, I didn't pay any attention to whether it came on. I just put everything back together and it worked. I would think that if you have the correct unit for your vehicle, and the plug is the same and fully connected, you should have a power light on. Unfortunately, I suspect you have a dead unit...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 07:20 AM   #20
spp spp is offline
Senior Member
spp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to beholdspp is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Dec 2006, #442
Location: OC California
Gender: Male
Posts: 683
spp's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoppas View Post
I don't recall if my Metra unit had a red power light on it. If it did, I didn't pay any attention to whether it came on. I just put everything back together and it worked. I would think that if you have the correct unit for your vehicle, and the plug is the same and fully connected, you should have a power light on. Unfortunately, I suspect you have a dead unit...
My thoughts too. Going to pull everything apart and double check stuff before I take it back to CC.
I never completely remove H/U firstime. Just reached behind and plugged Metra in the only hole in the back. Maybe I did something wrong but I doubt it. I've been putting sound systems in my cars since my first one in 1971.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zune adapter/interface help request T.J. 2nd Gen. Tacomas 0 12-24-2010 01:41 PM
MP3 or Ipod Interface SMG26 2nd Gen. Tacomas 32 06-14-2009 07:21 PM
mp3 interface army9403 Audio & Video 15 08-28-2008 10:24 AM
Zune MP3 Player Interface Tanka Suka Audio & Video 1 03-10-2008 09:51 AM
Zune MP3 Player Interface Tanka Suka 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 03-09-2008 05:05 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.