1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Novice installation guide of ********* 10" sub and Rockford Fosgate Amp

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by bebopblues, Jun 8, 2009.

1. Jun 8, 2009 at 3:35 AM
    bebopblues

bebopblues [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC/SB
    This is my novice attempt at installing an aftermarket subwoofer and amplifier into the 2009 Tacoma standard stock stereo. I have very little experience doing these kind of stuffs so this is by no means a professional job. It's just to show if a novice like me can do it in a few hours, then anyone can do it also.

Note: all pictures were taken with an iPhone so they are not great.

I purchased a ********* Subwoofer enclosure 10" plus a Rockford Fosgate Prime R150-2 amplifier. I also bought an amp wiring kit and a Scosche line out converter (LOC).

First up is installing the ********* subwoofer. This is probably the hardest part. You have to remove the plastic panel behind the driver side rear seat. And also you have to remove driver side rear seat in order to fit the subwoofer box into it's spot. Then you have to pry out three brackets (pictured below) that was welded into the truck back panel. Once all that is done, you can place the subwoofer behind the rear seat.

[​IMG]

It was a b*tch to pry these suckers out.

[​IMG]

The subwoofer sits too close to the back seat when it is folded down, even with the plastic removed from the back seat.

[​IMG]

Closer look at the tight spacing.

[​IMG]

But when the seat is upright, there's plenty of space inbetween.

[​IMG]