Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Understanding amps?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-19-2009, 06:13 PM   #1
Jpf8653 [OP] Jpf8653 is offline
Senior Member
Jpf8653 is on a distinguished road
 
Jpf8653's Avatar
Name: Justin
Joined: Jan 2009, #13073
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 250
Jpf8653's Tacoma Gallery
Understanding amps?

I cant ever seem to figure amps and wiring out. I thought i understood but may have confussed myself.

Ok If u have 2 dual 4ohm subs and your wiring up to a mono amp would wiring it to 1 ohm load be the most efficient or 4 ohms?
\
Next same subs. Rated for 400 watts RMS each. Would a 500 mono amp be enough? Or would u want to run an 800 or more?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:31 PM   #2
Jpf8653 [OP] Jpf8653 is offline
Senior Member
Jpf8653 is on a distinguished road
 
Jpf8653's Avatar
Name: Justin
Joined: Jan 2009, #13073
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 250
Jpf8653's Tacoma Gallery
Also what amps can be wired to .5 ohms?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
stang88 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2009, #14001
Location: Kansas City MO
Gender: Male
Posts: 233
stang88's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpf8653 View Post
I cant ever seem to figure amps and wiring out. I thought i understood but may have confussed myself.

Ok If u have 2 dual 4ohm subs and your wiring up to a mono amp would wiring it to 1 ohm load be the most efficient?
\
Next same subs. Rated for 400 watts RMS each. Would a 500 mono amp be enough? Or would u want to run an 800 or more?
yes.. 1 ohm is the best load for a 1 ohm stable monoblock amp.

i would choose the 800 watt amp.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
stang88 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2009, #14001
Location: Kansas City MO
Gender: Male
Posts: 233
stang88's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpf8653 View Post
Also what amps can be wired to .5 ohms?
many old cheater amps can. you dont find too many nowadays that go to 1/2 ohm.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:38 PM   #5
Lets Go State!
PSUnick is a splendid one to beholdPSUnick is a splendid one to beholdPSUnick is a splendid one to beholdPSUnick is a splendid one to beholdPSUnick is a splendid one to beholdPSUnick is a splendid one to beholdPSUnick is a splendid one to behold
 
PSUnick's Avatar
Joined: May 2009, #17556
Location: MA
Gender: Male
Posts: 152
PSUnick's Tacoma Gallery
You have two subs that are 400W, 4 ohm each, each dual coils. To hook them up to a mono amp, you need to wire them in parallel. This will drop the effective impedance to 1 ohm.

Look at the specifications for the output power of your amp at 1 ohm. If the amp is rated for 800W at 1ohm, then you will be providing 400W to each sub. If the amp is rated for 500W at 1 ohm, then you will be providing 250W to each sub.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:41 PM   #6
Jpf8653 [OP] Jpf8653 is offline
Senior Member
Jpf8653 is on a distinguished road
 
Jpf8653's Avatar
Name: Justin
Joined: Jan 2009, #13073
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 250
Jpf8653's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang88 View Post
yes.. 1 ohm is the best load for a 1 ohm stable monoblock amp.

i would choose the 800 watt amp.
I thought the 800 also, guy at the audio shop said 500.
/
I didnt realize not all monos could handle the 1 ohm. thanks all makes since
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:42 PM   #7
Jpf8653 [OP] Jpf8653 is offline
Senior Member
Jpf8653 is on a distinguished road
 
Jpf8653's Avatar
Name: Justin
Joined: Jan 2009, #13073
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 250
Jpf8653's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUnick View Post
You have two subs that are 400W, 4 ohm each, each dual coils. To hook them up to a mono amp, you need to wire them in parallel. This will drop the effective impedance to 1 ohm.

Look at the specifications for the output power of your amp at 1 ohm. If the amp is rated for 800W at 1ohm, then you will be providing 400W to each sub. If the amp is rated for 500W at 1 ohm, then you will be providing 250W to each sub.
That i understood thanks for the reassurance!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:57 PM   #8
Jpf8653 [OP] Jpf8653 is offline
Senior Member
Jpf8653 is on a distinguished road
 
Jpf8653's Avatar
Name: Justin
Joined: Jan 2009, #13073
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 250
Jpf8653's Tacoma Gallery
So pretty much i had my last setup all wrong?

(1) Dual 2ohm wired to a mono block that didnt do 1 ohm. had one positive to the opposing negative and the other two run to the amp.
thats a 4ohm load and gives less watts. had a 500 watt RMS sub on a 600 block and wasnt giving it enough watts with this setup Correct???
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 07:22 PM   #9
Best Hack I Know
KAPendley is on a distinguished road
 
KAPendley's Avatar
Army: Sergeant, 63B...Honorable Discharge
Name: Andy
Joined: Jul 2009, #20407
Location: Hickory, NC
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 127
KAPendley's Tacoma Gallery
The question I have is what subs do you have? And if you already have an amp, what amp is it.

A 1 ohm load WILL produce more power, but the efficiency of the amplifier falls off dramatically, and it will also require more current. Here is an example...with a twist.
The Arc Audio 500.1. The reason is you can download the tech sheet on the amplifier and it gives you the efficiency rating at the ohm load it is receiving, but this amp does the same power at 1 AND 2 ohm, and does not lose much more power at 4 ohm, yet the efficiency of the amp, and the current draw is much, much better.

Power output @ 4 ohms 450 watts RMS @ 44 Amps 75% eff.
Power output @ 2 ohms 600 watts RMS @ 65 Amps 68% eff.
Power output @ 1 ohm 600 watts RMS @ 78 Amps 53% eff.

Now if you notice the current draw, on a stock charging system, at 1 ohm, the amp WILL NOT produce 600 watts. It would be more around 475-500 (VERY rough guess, could be more) because it is doubtful your car would be running more than 60 amps to power ALL your electronic systems. The amp is also rated to do this at 14.4 volts, so that, of course, is when the vehicle is running at optimum, not at idle, when the battery is only 12.3-12.6 volts (more or less, on a good battery)

Arc amps are a bit underrated though. When tested the output is usually 30-50 watts more. So you get more for your money.

Sorry I am so biased, but it is good to use them for a reference as I am very familiar with the product. lol.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 07:30 PM   #10
Jpf8653 [OP] Jpf8653 is offline
Senior Member
Jpf8653 is on a distinguished road
 
Jpf8653's Avatar
Name: Justin
Joined: Jan 2009, #13073
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 250
Jpf8653's Tacoma Gallery
ok lets forget what i had i already sold it.

Im getting a rockford fosgate p3 shallow. It is one thats preloaded. comes in the rockford marked box. It has been prewired for 4ohms. The speaker is a dual 2 ohm. 400 watts rms. I was going to get it and get a Punch 500.1. Then rewire for 1 ohm since it only buts out like 200 watts at 4 ohms. and the sub cant be wired to 2 ohms.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 07:31 PM   #11
Best Hack I Know
KAPendley is on a distinguished road
 
KAPendley's Avatar
Army: Sergeant, 63B...Honorable Discharge
Name: Andy
Joined: Jul 2009, #20407
Location: Hickory, NC
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 127
KAPendley's Tacoma Gallery
http://www.arcaudio.com/product-pdf/KS_mono_manual.pdf

Read page 2 of the PDF file. It answers alot of your questions as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 07:35 PM   #12
Best Hack I Know
KAPendley is on a distinguished road
 
KAPendley's Avatar
Army: Sergeant, 63B...Honorable Discharge
Name: Andy
Joined: Jul 2009, #20407
Location: Hickory, NC
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 127
KAPendley's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpf8653 View Post
ok lets forget what i had i already sold it.

Im getting a rockford fosgate p3 shallow. It is one thats preloaded. comes in the rockford marked box. It has been prewired for 4ohms. The speaker is a dual 2 ohm. 400 watts rms. I was going to get it and get a Punch 500.1. Then rewire for 1 ohm since it only buts out like 200 watts at 4 ohms. and the sub cant be wired to 2 ohms.
Try running the sub at both ohm loads. You may be surprised by the output. Amps get hot at 1 ohm.....so its worth the try at 4 ohm...IMO.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 07:36 PM   #13
Jpf8653 [OP] Jpf8653 is offline
Senior Member
Jpf8653 is on a distinguished road
 
Jpf8653's Avatar
Name: Justin
Joined: Jan 2009, #13073
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 250
Jpf8653's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAPendley View Post
Try running the sub at both ohm loads. You may be surprised by the output. Amps get hot at 1 ohm.....so its worth the try at 4 ohm...IMO.
Were u going for let the professional do it? They are the ones that confused me. They want to run 2 P3s on only a 500.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 07:51 PM   #14
Best Hack I Know
KAPendley is on a distinguished road
 
KAPendley's Avatar
Army: Sergeant, 63B...Honorable Discharge
Name: Andy
Joined: Jul 2009, #20407
Location: Hickory, NC
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 127
KAPendley's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpf8653 View Post
Were u going for let the professional do it? They are the ones that confused me. They want to run 2 P3s on only a 500.
Not at all. If you get the sub, and it is a dual 2, you can wire it for a 4 or 1 ohm load. If it was dual 4, you can only get 8 or 2 ohms.

You could run 2 of them at 2 ohms, because 4 and 4 parallel equals a 2 ohm load.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 07:55 PM   #15
Jpf8653 [OP] Jpf8653 is offline
Senior Member
Jpf8653 is on a distinguished road
 
Jpf8653's Avatar
Name: Justin
Joined: Jan 2009, #13073
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 250
Jpf8653's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAPendley View Post
Not at all. If you get the sub, and it is a dual 2, you can wire it for a 4 or 1 ohm load. If it was dual 4, you can only get 8 or 2 ohms.

You could run 2 of them at 2 ohms, because 4 and 4 parallel equals a 2 ohm load.
Right, but now im only putting 200 watts to each speaker with my 500 watt amp. cause at 2ohms it rated at 400 watts RMS

Im sorry but the earlier response was the only thing i found on page 2 referring to what were talking. " let the professional do it"
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:02 PM   #16
Best Hack I Know
KAPendley is on a distinguished road
 
KAPendley's Avatar
Army: Sergeant, 63B...Honorable Discharge
Name: Andy
Joined: Jul 2009, #20407
Location: Hickory, NC
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 127
KAPendley's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpf8653 View Post
Right, but now im only putting 200 watts to each speaker with my 500 watt amp. cause at 2ohms it rated at 400 watts RMS

Im sorry but the earlier response was the only thing i found on page 2 referring to what were talking. " let the professional do it"
Oh yeah, forgot that part. Also forgot to go back and edit and say pages 2-4. LOL. Sorry. The Arc manual simplifies things, and thats is what I was hoping would help you out. I guess you know more about what you are doing than I had previously thought.
Doing my best bro, bare with me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:09 PM   #17
Jpf8653 [OP] Jpf8653 is offline
Senior Member
Jpf8653 is on a distinguished road
 
Jpf8653's Avatar
Name: Justin
Joined: Jan 2009, #13073
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 250
Jpf8653's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAPendley View Post
Oh yeah, forgot that part. Also forgot to go back and edit and say pages 2-4. LOL. Sorry. The Arc manual simplifies things, and thats is what I was hoping would help you out. I guess you know more about what you are doing than I had previously thought.
Doing my best bro, bare with me.
Well i was fine with what i know until yesterday when the guy wanted to do what i said a min ago and put 500 on two 400 speakers. I saw u use to own a shop so i figured id try and get all the help i could before i go back and called the guy i talked to a stupid MTF.
I do thank you though for the help. keep it coming though i like knowledge.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:26 PM   #18
Best Hack I Know
KAPendley is on a distinguished road
 
KAPendley's Avatar
Army: Sergeant, 63B...Honorable Discharge
Name: Andy
Joined: Jul 2009, #20407
Location: Hickory, NC
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 127
KAPendley's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpf8653 View Post
Well i was fine with what i know until yesterday when the guy wanted to do what i said a min ago and put 500 on two 400 speakers. I saw u use to own a shop so i figured id try and get all the help i could before i go back and called the guy i talked to a stupid MTF.
I do thank you though for the help. keep it coming though i like knowledge.
I wasnt a RF dealer, so I had to check their site for the specs. According to RF, the sub is 300 RMS, 600 Max. So I would NOT push 500 watts to ONE sub. You would really be pushing the limits of what it can handle. That guy was actually keeping you in a pretty safe zone, and it would not be a bad idea to slightly under power a shallow mount sub. You would not want to reach its excursion limits, and a shallow sub just does not have much throw to it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:33 PM   #19
Jpf8653 [OP] Jpf8653 is offline
Senior Member
Jpf8653 is on a distinguished road
 
Jpf8653's Avatar
Name: Justin
Joined: Jan 2009, #13073
Location: Baton Rouge,LA
Gender: Male
Posts: 250
Jpf8653's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAPendley View Post
I wasnt a RF dealer, so I had to check their site for the specs. According to RF, the sub is 300 RMS, 600 Max. So I would NOT push 500 watts to ONE sub. You would really be pushing the limits of what it can handle. That guy was actually keeping you in a pretty safe zone, and it would not be a bad idea to slightly under power a shallow mount sub. You would not want to reach its excursion limits, and a shallow sub just does not have much throw to it.

Not sure we are looking at the same thing.


http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/produ...en_US&p_status=
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:44 PM   #20
Best Hack I Know
KAPendley is on a distinguished road
 
KAPendley's Avatar
Army: Sergeant, 63B...Honorable Discharge
Name: Andy
Joined: Jul 2009, #20407
Location: Hickory, NC
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 127
KAPendley's Tacoma Gallery
You are correct sir. We never discussed what size, so I just assumed it was the 10.
Yeah, I would want AT LEAST 600-700 watts rms. My apologies again. HAHA.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Understanding relays... chadderkdawg Technical Chat 5 09-24-2011 10:10 AM
Understanding Off sets badguybuster Wheels & Tires 5 08-31-2010 09:02 PM
Got Alignment. Need help understanding. redrum430 Suspension 11 03-22-2009 12:38 AM
Need help understanding weights PropJet Towing 14 03-10-2009 09:34 PM
understanding sizes stratton Wheels & Tires 8 08-17-2007 02:36 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.