Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Stereo Upgrade BASIC How To... (2nd Gen)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2007, 05:48 AM   #61
007Tacoma [OP] 007Tacoma is offline
I dub thee malicious!
007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed007Tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
007Tacoma's Avatar
Name: Mark
Joined: Jan 2007, #643
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 33
Gender: Guy
Posts: 6,707
007Tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to 007Tacoma
We talked about theft on another thread a few months back (a member had his 1st gen Tacoma stolen from a parking lot in CA). Unfortunately if a theif wants your truck or what's in it, he is going to get it. The best thing you can do is make it difficult to steal (engine disabler, locking braces on your deck, alarm system, etc...), make it easier to recover (GPS tracking, VIN etching, etc...), or make it less appealing to steal (like you can do that to a Tacoma).

I would go with what you want (double DIN) and just be careful. That is what I do (plus the upgraded security system and the engine disabler ).
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 04:46 PM   #62
Junior Member
acbaccus@hotmail.com is on a distinguished road
Joined: Sep 2007, #2751
Posts: 3
acbaccus@hotmail.com's Tacoma Gallery
Jvc Xg-500

Thak you guys! for all that information, but I bought this JVC XG-500 double din on e-bay with the Scosche dash kit, without the harness. So what do I do to install it? The colors that come with the original harness on the JVC don't match. What do I do?
I appreciate any infromation to help me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 12:04 AM   #63
Member
biorunner1 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Sep 2007, #2674
Location: San Diego
Posts: 43
biorunner1's Tacoma Gallery
1st Are you sure you have the correct harness? If you have to, go to your local stereo shop or even a Best Buy and see what harness they have for your truck. It should come with a color code or some sorta schematic. 2nd if you dont already have the system manual make sure you get it so you can match up the signals from both documents (not necissarily colors) to the harness. Good luck.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 06:02 AM   #64
Junior Member
acbaccus@hotmail.com is on a distinguished road
Joined: Sep 2007, #2751
Posts: 3
acbaccus@hotmail.com's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks a lot!

I appreciate you taking your time to help me out!
I will try.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 10:39 PM   #65
Member
biorunner1 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Sep 2007, #2674
Location: San Diego
Posts: 43
biorunner1's Tacoma Gallery
No Sweat

By the way here is a picture of my Harness, the color code with the signals are on the package. This is how yours should be. Then the harness you have that came with the unit should plug right into to this. Its even easier than I thought. I got mine at Circuit City. Let me know how it goes.
Attached Thumbnails
Stereo Upgrade BASIC How To... (2nd Gen)-col.jpg   Stereo Upgrade BASIC How To... (2nd Gen)-harn.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 08:42 AM   #66
Junior Member
acbaccus@hotmail.com is on a distinguished road
Joined: Sep 2007, #2751
Posts: 3
acbaccus@hotmail.com's Tacoma Gallery
Thank you!

I went to Circuit City this morning and I got the harness.
Thank you!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 03:19 PM   #67
"Living life in the FAST lane..."
05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed05PreRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
05PreRunner's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2007, #2675
Location: <-(714)-> SO-CAL
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,968
05PreRunner's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to 05PreRunner
Cool write-up

Thanks i'll be using this in a couple days to install my new headunit. Once again, thanks for the awesome write -up!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 02:35 PM   #68
Member
bbarian333 is on a distinguished road
 
bbarian333's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2007, #919
Location: SoCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 97
bbarian333's Tacoma Gallery
Here's my question regarding stereo upgrade. I have the factory 6 disc cd player, with controls on the steering wheel. Does anybody know if there's a system i can install where the steering wheel controls will work?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 04:30 PM   #69
Junior Member
RockinP is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2007, #3143
Posts: 9
RockinP's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbarian333 View Post
Here's my question regarding stereo upgrade. I have the factory 6 disc cd player, with controls on the steering wheel. Does anybody know if there's a system i can install where the steering wheel controls will work?
There are a couple of threads dedicated to this topic, within the audio video area, search for them if necessary. From what I understand you have 2 options. You can go with an Eclipse deck. Most of them have connectors that are directly compatiable with the steering wheel controls. You just splice 2 wires. Seems like the best option, direct connections are always the best.

Your other option is an IR repeater like the PAC SWI-X from Crutchfield for $70. It is basically an infrared device that relays the steering wheel control buttons into your new deck. I have heard good and bad reviews of this device, guess it depends on the setup.

Hope this helps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 10:22 AM   #70
gsm gsm is offline
Senior Member
gsm will become famous soon enoughgsm will become famous soon enough
 
gsm's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3426
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 143
gsm's Tacoma Gallery
Aux inputs to factory Radio?

007Tacoma or whomever may be able to answer:

I have a standard radio with single CD player (not MP3 compatable). I don't have numerous CD's but I do have a large collections of MP3's, a portable CD/MP3 player and a PDA/MP3 player that I'd like to be able to attach via a Aux input.

Anyone know of a kit or a add-on that can be wired to the factory setup so that I may be able to plug these in? And maybe which wire to attach this possible jack too?

I know I could replace the actual radio system with one built in but prefer to just add a jack/plug-in with the existing system.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 06:38 AM   #71
Member
isusww is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jun 2007, #1860
Posts: 81
isusww's Tacoma Gallery
I am going to be installing THIS from USA Spec. There are several threads about this device and can give you more information if you'd like. I've even seen this items for sale in the forums here. Hope this helps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 12:15 AM   #72
Member
jdubh is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2008, #4058
Posts: 39
jdubh's Tacoma Gallery
I'm looking for pics of how to get an XM antenna on the roof. I've searched the forum and read that some have ran it up the headliner and out the back light and to the roof, others have removed a plug in the firewall and routed it up. Pics of any would be great.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 12:21 PM   #73
Junior Member
next is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2008, #4978
Posts: 1
next's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdubh View Post
I'm looking for pics of how to get an XM antenna on the roof. I've searched the forum and read that some have ran it up the headliner and out the back light and to the roof, others have removed a plug in the firewall and routed it up. Pics of any would be great.
Were you ever able to find this info? I am looking for the same thing.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 10:19 PM   #74
Junior Member
calyork2 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2008, #4658
Posts: 11
calyork2's Tacoma Gallery
I'm installing my audio system and I'm wondering where is the best place to route my power wire into the cabin?? Anyone know?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 12:17 AM   #75
Member
biorunner1 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Sep 2007, #2674
Location: San Diego
Posts: 43
biorunner1's Tacoma Gallery
I ran mind on the drivers side under the trim. There is a rubber plug in the firewall under the dash way up in there behind your pedals. You can run it through there if you seal it up water tight. Keep that power cable away from any audio signals or you will get that irratating alternator noise.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 09:31 PM   #76
Junior Member
bfriatc is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2008, #6969
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 19
bfriatc's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingtaco View Post
Whats up fellas? Thats good info. Does anyone know where the factory amp is located? Can I use it with a aftermarket stereo?
isn't the factory amp built into the factory stereo? any aftermarket stereo will have a built in amp. and you could always buy and wire your own.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 12:49 PM   #77
Wave rider
BlueSilver will become famous soon enough
Joined: Jun 2008, #7136
Location: Seattle
Posts: 75
BlueSilver's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007Tacoma View Post
I guess Toyota didn't think we would need to be under the hood enough to justify putting on gas shocks.
Just a way to help keep cost down. plus they become dangerous missiles during engine fires.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 12:53 PM   #78
Wave rider
BlueSilver will become famous soon enough
Joined: Jun 2008, #7136
Location: Seattle
Posts: 75
BlueSilver's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfriatc View Post
isn't the factory amp built into the factory stereo? any aftermarket stereo will have a built in amp. and you could always buy and wire your own.
An aftermarket stereo will not have an amp built in. Your toyota stock system should have it built into the bass tube. make sure your new stereo supports the stock equipment.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 08:09 PM   #79
Senior Member
burnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedburnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedburnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedburnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedburnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedburnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedburnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedburnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedburnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedburnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedburnt_tiger is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
burnt_tiger's Avatar
Army: Retired
Joined: Jun 2008, #7342
Location: Bakersfield CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 178
burnt_tiger's Tacoma Gallery
whats the difficulty on this (1-10)
would pulling out a aftermarket double din go about the same way?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 12:19 PM   #80
Spark Chaser
Dirtbag is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2008, #6978
Location: Enterprise, AL
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Dirtbag's Tacoma Gallery
XM antenna

I found ONE plug in the firewall, I ran the wire down the windsheild weather stripping ( I used one of my daughters plastic toy butter knives, ran it down in front of the wire to open the channel up and pushed the wire in behind it. Then you can remove the little trim piece at the bottom corner of the windshield to route the wire under the hood, then I cut a slot in the rubber plug put the plut on the wire, used some black tape to seal it and pushed it back in. The hole comes out behind the A/C box inside, then I took the glove compartment out to route it. I bought a xm fm modulator and installed it ( had to remove the radio) and double side taped it next to the glove compartment. I have attached some pix, let me know if you can view them. I don't know how to insert them.
Attached Thumbnails
Stereo Upgrade BASIC How To... (2nd Gen)-100_1204.jpg   Stereo Upgrade BASIC How To... (2nd Gen)-100_1203.jpg   Stereo Upgrade BASIC How To... (2nd Gen)-100_1205.jpg   Stereo Upgrade BASIC How To... (2nd Gen)-100_1206.jpg   Stereo Upgrade BASIC How To... (2nd Gen)-100_1207.jpg  

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY: Basic Speaker Upgrade- 2nd Gen Access Cab maverick491 Audio & Video 289 10-27-2014 01:29 AM
New 2nd gen stereo upgrade what ya got ? 2011BlackTaco Audio & Video 1 12-01-2011 06:12 PM
Newbie with gen 1 tacoma wanting to upgrade to 2nd Tdubliture 2nd Gen. Tacomas 9 03-26-2011 10:21 PM
2nd gen fabtech 6 inch basic help!?!?!?! LILFURR Suspension 1 02-24-2011 07:40 AM
2nd gen brake upgrade Mr.Fahrenheit 2nd Gen. Tacomas 42 06-08-2009 08:23 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.