Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

1ohm load vs 4ohm load

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-16-2009, 03:45 PM   #1
Bourbon
EquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
EquinsuOcha's Avatar
Name: Casey
Joined: Mar 2008, #5368
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,610
EquinsuOcha's Tacoma Gallery
1ohm load vs 4ohm load

I just got a new Kicker Solobaric L5 and have it wired to a 4ohm load paired to an Elemental Designs NINe.2 amp. Would there be any benefit to wiring it to 1ohm?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 05:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
PatheticJoe will become famous soon enough
 
PatheticJoe's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2007, #2943
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 299
PatheticJoe's Tacoma Gallery
Assuming the amp is stable to 1 ohm (most aren't) you could put a lot more power (likely too much) to the sub.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 05:13 PM   #3
Sounds Gooooood
ItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ItalynStylion's Avatar
Name: Steven
Joined: Jun 2009, #18467
Location: DFW, Tx.
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,351
ItalynStylion's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by EquinsuOcha View Post
I just got a new Kicker Solobaric L5 and have it wired to a 4ohm load paired to an Elemental Designs NINe.2 amp. Would there be any benefit to wiring it to 1ohm?
The benefit is that your amp would blow up. THe NINe.2 is not stable at 1ohm like the NINe.1 is. The most power you'll get out of the amp is by bridging the channels in a 4ohm load like I think you've done already.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 05:15 PM   #4
Bourbon
EquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shedEquinsuOcha is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
EquinsuOcha's Avatar
Name: Casey
Joined: Mar 2008, #5368
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,610
EquinsuOcha's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItalynStylion View Post
The benefit is that your amp would blow up. THe NINe.2 is not stable at 1ohm like the NINe.1 is. The most power you'll get out of the amp is by bridging the channels in a 4ohm load like I think you've done already.
Yeah, the channels are bridged. Thanks for letting me know before I blew my ass up!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:38 PM   #5
Dealer/Sales Rep for Sundown Audio.
atsaubrey is just really niceatsaubrey is just really niceatsaubrey is just really niceatsaubrey is just really niceatsaubrey is just really nice
Joined: Apr 2008, #6087
Location: california
Posts: 418
atsaubrey's Tacoma Gallery
Typically 1ohm ohm will always sound less then....good. That is from a SQ stand point. Remember guys, power is NOT everything.

Lets try something here. Something I havent suggested on this forum before. When your at a concert or a live perfomance, the "bass" is in front of you. Correct? Ok, how do we make it sound as if all the bass if up front in a car with rear mounted subwoofers? That is a serious question. First point is, more power on the substage wont do it.

I am not being and ass here, just trying to get some of the newer guys thinking about it a bit.

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 07:29 PM   #6
Sounds Gooooood
ItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ItalynStylion's Avatar
Name: Steven
Joined: Jun 2009, #18467
Location: DFW, Tx.
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,351
ItalynStylion's Tacoma Gallery
^Is right. Each time you half the impedance you double the distortion by the amp. It is important to note though that you likely wont hear the difference.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 10:22 PM   #7
Senior Member
dreamnz is a splendid one to beholddreamnz is a splendid one to beholddreamnz is a splendid one to beholddreamnz is a splendid one to beholddreamnz is a splendid one to beholddreamnz is a splendid one to beholddreamnz is a splendid one to behold
 
dreamnz's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2009, #15964
Location: SoCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 150
dreamnz's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by atsaubrey View Post
Typically 1ohm ohm will always sound less then....good. That is from a SQ stand point. Remember guys, power is NOT everything.

Lets try something here. Something I havent suggested on this forum before. When your at a concert or a live perfomance, the "bass" is in front of you. Correct? Ok, how do we make it sound as if all the bass if up front in a car with rear mounted subwoofers? That is a serious question. First point is, more power on the substage wont do it.

I am not being and ass here, just trying to get some of the newer guys thinking about it a bit.

ok, I'll bite. I've been obsessed with my system for a almost a year now, so I'm slightly less than completely clueless.

My thought would be to to HP the front woofs as low as possible and and set the LP on the sub as close to that as sounds right. I've been playing with my HAT L6s HPed as low as 80 and the sub LPed @ 80. I can only pick out the sub when it hits really hard. If there's a better way that I'm missing, please tell. :-)

And I know,...You run the xs69s and you're probably crossed reeeally low while being backed up with dual IDQs. I'd still like to try those xs69s, but I can't seem to find anyone willing to part with a used set.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 10:45 PM   #8
Sounds Gooooood
ItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ItalynStylion's Avatar
Name: Steven
Joined: Jun 2009, #18467
Location: DFW, Tx.
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,351
ItalynStylion's Tacoma Gallery
^80hz is a good crossover frequency if you've got some decent midbass's. If you go lower than that you need some really good midbass's; but it can really bring the stage to the front in a big way. If you cross over much higher than 80-100hz you risk being able to completely localize the sub.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 10:57 PM   #9
The Little Truck That Could
Yoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Yoytoda's Avatar
Name: Roland
Joined: Oct 2009, #23690
Location: Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,002
Yoytoda's Tacoma Gallery
The 8, 4 or 1 ohm resistance of speakers is so you can match the impedence levels. If the amp is set to 4ohm (car audio) then the 1ohm on the speaker would not provide enough impedence and you could over power the sub blowing it. 1 ohm is usually for indoor home entertainment use. 4ohm is usually car audio. 8ohm is for outdoor speakers/ marine speakers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 04:19 AM   #10
Junior Member
cranky is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2009, #15440
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
cranky's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoytoda View Post
1 ohm is usually for experimental designs and marketing hype
fyp
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 04:46 AM   #11
Senior Member
msaniac is a glorious beacon of lightmsaniac is a glorious beacon of lightmsaniac is a glorious beacon of lightmsaniac is a glorious beacon of lightmsaniac is a glorious beacon of light
Joined: Apr 2009, #15896
Location: Clemson, SC
Age: 27
Gender: Guy
Posts: 90
msaniac's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItalynStylion View Post
^80hz is a good crossover frequency if you've got some decent midbass's. If you go lower than that you need some really good midbass's; but it can really bring the stage to the front in a big way. If you cross over much higher than 80-100hz you risk being able to completely localize the sub.
x2
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 07:28 AM   #12
Sounds Gooooood
ItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ItalynStylion's Avatar
Name: Steven
Joined: Jun 2009, #18467
Location: DFW, Tx.
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,351
ItalynStylion's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoytoda View Post
The 8, 4 or 1 ohm resistance of speakers is so you can match the impedence levels. If the amp is set to 4ohm (car audio) then the 1ohm on the speaker would not provide enough impedence and you could over power the sub blowing it. 1 ohm is usually for indoor home entertainment use. 4ohm is usually car audio. 8ohm is for outdoor speakers/ marine speakers.
No offense but this really isn't how things work.

It boils down to the way electricity works. Every time you cut the impedance in half you get double the power. Think of it like a water faucet, opening it reduces the impedance to the water so you get more flow. So if you have an amp that makes 250watts at 8ohms you get the following.
8ohms=250watts
4ohms=500watts
2ohms=1000watts
1ohm=2000watts

It's important to note though that amps have a minimum impedance (ohm) rating. Most car audio amps will handle a 2ohm load in a normal wiring configuration. However, bridging two channels usually only handles a 4ohm load.

Most home audio equipment is actually 8ohms with some amps being able to handle 4ohm loads and a rare few will go lower.

Please remember that the ohm rating is set by the sub and not the amp. The amp is the source of the power (where the water comes from) and the speaker is how open the faucet is.

I know we talked about how the distortion is doubled when the impedance is cut in half but for a subwoofer it's really not that big of a concern. It wont likely have any audible difference. In my IS300 I ran 4xTang band 6.5" subs off an Elemental Designs NINe.5 amp. The sub channel was 1ohm stable and made something like 600RMS at that load. I ran it like that all the time and it was beautiful.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:19 AM   #13
Lets Do It!
wiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shedwiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shedwiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shedwiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shedwiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shedwiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shedwiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shedwiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shedwiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shedwiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shedwiscdave is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
wiscdave's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2008, #5392
Location: Northern Wisconsin
Gender: Dude
Posts: 2,552
wiscdave's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItalynStylion View Post
No offense but this really isn't how things work.

It boils down to the way electricity works. Every time you cut the impedance in half you get double the power. Think of it like a water faucet, opening it reduces the impedance to the water so you get more flow. So if you have an amp that makes 250watts at 8ohms you get the following.
8ohms=250watts
4ohms=500watts
2ohms=1000watts
1ohm=2000watts

It's important to note though that amps have a minimum impedance (ohm) rating. Most car audio amps will handle a 2ohm load in a normal wiring configuration. However, bridging two channels usually only handles a 4ohm load.

Most home audio equipment is actually 8ohms with some amps being able to handle 4ohm loads and a rare few will go lower.

Please remember that the ohm rating is set by the sub and not the amp. The amp is the source of the power (where the water comes from) and the speaker is how open the faucet is.

I know we talked about how the distortion is doubled when the impedance is cut in half but for a subwoofer it's really not that big of a concern. It wont likely have any audible difference. In my IS300 I ran 4xTang band 6.5" subs off an Elemental Designs NINe.5 amp. The sub channel was 1ohm stable and made something like 600RMS at that load. I ran it like that all the time and it was beautiful.
Yep, in building a system you need to consider the amp and the wiring of the subs to max your performance.

I always look at this link on Fosgate's site beforing buyin or recommending.

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftech/woofer_wizard.asp

ROCK ON!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:58 AM   #14
The Little Truck That Could
Yoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Yoytoda's Avatar
Name: Roland
Joined: Oct 2009, #23690
Location: Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,002
Yoytoda's Tacoma Gallery
I think thats kind of what i was trying to say but i was drunk off my ass and realize how stupid what i said was...lol sorry. Dont listen to the drunkass addicted to TW late at night lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 09:01 AM   #15
The Little Truck That Could
Yoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shedYoytoda is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Yoytoda's Avatar
Name: Roland
Joined: Oct 2009, #23690
Location: Big Bear,CA / Upstate NY(Saratoga)
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,002
Yoytoda's Tacoma Gallery
bottom line match the power of the speaker to the power of the amp. ex. 500w amp at 4ohm with 500w at 4ohm sub
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 11:10 AM   #16
Sounds Gooooood
ItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ItalynStylion's Avatar
Name: Steven
Joined: Jun 2009, #18467
Location: DFW, Tx.
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,351
ItalynStylion's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiscdave View Post
Yep, in building a system you need to consider the amp and the wiring of the subs to max your performance.

I always look at this link on Fosgate's site beforing buyin or recommending.

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftech/woofer_wizard.asp

ROCK ON!!
Their wiring config diagrams are a a nice resource.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoytoda View Post
I think thats kind of what i was trying to say but i was drunk off my ass and realize how stupid what i said was...lol sorry. Dont listen to the drunkass addicted to TW late at night lol
ROFL, we've all done it! Maybe we should make a thread JUST for that. That would be fun as hell.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BFG Load range C better than a load range E? TenaciousTaco 2nd Gen. Tacomas 16 07-26-2010 07:40 PM
BFG C load vs E load...too rough? mtmtx 2nd Gen. Tacomas 23 03-30-2010 10:54 PM
2010 Prerunner Over Load/Load Leveling LynHad 2nd Gen. Tacomas 6 11-03-2009 06:47 PM
Should i get c load or e load goodyear 09tacomg 2nd Gen. Tacomas 8 08-01-2009 08:51 AM
load index,,,and max load linkfeeney Wheels & Tires 3 12-22-2008 06:55 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.