Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

07 Taco Cd AUX mod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2010, 08:55 PM   #1
wljohns [OP] wljohns is offline
Junior Member
wljohns is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2010, #29920
Location: Alabama
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
wljohns's Tacoma Gallery
07 Taco Cd AUX mod

Do the mod at you OWN RISK if u screw up u could lose your CD ability. If you can't take it apart and solder with confidence then by all means buy a USA spec or something. This is just my way.
With this mod there is NO need for any relays or switches. When a external audio device is plugged in and powered on the onboard sound processor senses the slightly higher mA and cuts the sound from the CD. So no need for a silent cd or anything you can play ony ole cd just so the unit knows ther is a cd in and plays. I will post more pics tomorrow and mayber even a vid of the performance..

Good LUCK

If the pics are to small I will try to redo.. I tried it and the writing is tooo small I will redo tomorrow and redo but anyway you can gets the jist of it now...


Here is mu HU


Here is the inside with the CD player removed. BE CAREFUL WITH THE RIBBON.
This is the points of contact


here is the back of the unit showing placement of the 1/8 jack

here is the 1/8 jack installed with the common or ground soldered

This is the wires soldered to the cd player that go to the 1/8 jack on the back of the HU

Back of HU 1/8 jack installed and labeled

Back of HU after putting it back together..
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:57 PM   #2
wljohns [OP] wljohns is offline
Junior Member
wljohns is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2010, #29920
Location: Alabama
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
wljohns's Tacoma Gallery
Here is the actual back

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 03:40 PM   #3
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
did you actually get this to work? What I am understanding is you directly connected a female end mini 3.5 inpute directly to the cd player? I am confident in my soldering ability and this has got me all interested, but I would like some more clarification. I actually have a 2009 dash in my 2005 Tacoma (Long story) but I have the factory aux input from a 2009 tacoma. The problem is that my 2005 radio is not design to take an aux input so I would like to try your method; but instead of mounting the input in the back I will simply have it where the OEM input is on my 2009 dash.

P.S. your text in the picture is a little hard to read. can you e-mail your actually pictures to me?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 03:47 PM   #4
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,289
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
The last post was on: 01-24-2010, 08:57 PM

The OP's last activity was on: Last Activity: 12-02-2010 05:25 PM

I don't think you are going to get an answer right away but he might magically log on one day.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 03:57 PM   #5
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Yeah I saw that... I am hoping it sends an e-mail update. Either way I am going to try this when I get home I think I understand it well enough. I will be sure to document it... My worry is that I have a 6 disc jbl, so hopefully they are similar.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 06:34 PM   #6
It works if you work it.
fbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant futurefbconvert has a brilliant future
 
fbconvert's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2011, #55535
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 357
fbconvert's Tacoma Gallery
Solved! I just tested it with my truck. It works better than I hoped. Give me some time I took lots of pictures and I will make a step by step write up and call it something like "how to wire an aux input for under $5". I am stoked though, just in time before my big road trip.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 05:43 PM   #7
Junior Member
CrazyMike is on a distinguished road
Name: Mike
Joined: Aug 2012, #84299
Location: Canada , Aldergrove
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
CrazyMike's Tacoma Gallery
Great mod guys , I just did it on my truck , works perfect
I took my sweet time to do it , about 2 hr , but is nice and neat , everything ty wraped in place and double checked . took me some time to figure the proper channels orientation on my wires but is good now

thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 11:57 AM   #8
wljohns [OP] wljohns is offline
Junior Member
wljohns is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2010, #29920
Location: Alabama
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
wljohns's Tacoma Gallery
Sorry guys I have moved on to a Tundra. But yes this did work. And worked great. The only thing I changed was I actually moved to jack to the front panel and added a switch to change between cd and aux.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 01:50 PM   #9
Junior Member
CrazyMike is on a distinguished road
Name: Mike
Joined: Aug 2012, #84299
Location: Canada , Aldergrove
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
CrazyMike's Tacoma Gallery
Good idea dude , dont have to unplug all the time
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 02:10 PM   #10
Junior Member
NoLimits is on a distinguished road
 
NoLimits's Avatar
Marines: 1st/3rd Marine Logistics Group
Name: Barry
Joined: May 2011, #57192
Location: Tulsa
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
NoLimits's Tacoma Gallery
Oh I am so happy this works, just installed it. I was about to dig myself a hole because I thought it didnt work at first, but apparently I have to run a cd in there but it plays just fine, going to sound great with the two 12s im putting in today. Thank you TW!!!!

*The cd I put in there which is the only cd I have in the apt right now, is a motherboard bios driver cd so it just reads "error" so Im not sure what an actual music cd would do, probably nothing different Im just letting you guys know.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:40 PM   #11
LRGRNR
Sandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Sandman614's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2010, #45273
Location: Boone, NC\Cary, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,710
Sandman614's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoLimits View Post
Oh I am so happy this works, just installed it. I was about to dig myself a hole because I thought it didnt work at first, but apparently I have to run a cd in there but it plays just fine, going to sound great with the two 12s im putting in today. Thank you TW!!!!

*The cd I put in there which is the only cd I have in the apt right now, is a motherboard bios driver cd so it just reads "error" so Im not sure what an actual music cd would do, probably nothing different Im just letting you guys know.
Lol never thought of putting a data cd in it.. Lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:41 AM   #12
Senior Member
tsilliker is a glorious beacon of lighttsilliker is a glorious beacon of lighttsilliker is a glorious beacon of lighttsilliker is a glorious beacon of lighttsilliker is a glorious beacon of light
 
tsilliker's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2006, #523
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 203
tsilliker's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via MSN to tsilliker
I just performed this mod on my 2005 with the single disc non-JBL head unit. Incidentally, the label on top of this unit identifies the manufacturer as Panasonic.

Instead of wiring up a jack on the dash, which then requires a jumper to go from player to the jack, I used a cable which had the headphone jack on one end, and right/left phono plugs on the other. This had the advantage of identifying which was right and which was left as the phonos were white and red. (Red=Right) I then routed the cable out from underneath the dash to a place near my right knee with enough length to use it while sitting in the driver's seat.

The mod works quite well. The audio seems full range and clear from my Sony MP3 player, but I have to use a higher volume level than I would when listening to a CD - this could be due to the Sony output levels being a bit lower.

Plugging in and playing the MP3 player does not override an audio CD with my unit as the original poster indicates. To solve this issue, I did what NoLimits did, and put a data CD in the slot. In my case, it was a blank CD-R. As he reported, ERROR comes up on the display. No worries, as the radio switches the amplifier over to the CD source anyway and the whole rig works as planned.

Here is a photo of the solder point. The cell phone camera focused on the plug and not the circuit board, unfortunately. For grounding, I left enough from the ground braid to solder to the holes that are visible in the photo near the tip of the plug. While I used a fine tip soldering iron for the circuit board, I used a big ol' Weller soldering gun to solder these ground wires to the chassis.

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: PIONEER DEH 2000MP CD MP3 w/ AUX IN freshman Buy / Sell / Trade 0 12-28-2010 09:02 PM
Does the stock 2007 CD player have AUX in? dougmays 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 10-19-2010 12:17 PM
AUX port on a Stock single CD HU Lentsnh Audio & Video 7 09-13-2009 02:29 PM
cd, aux outlets all shot! anyone ever have this? jonny_jard 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 09-06-2009 03:40 PM
WTB: '05+ stock CD player with aux input. Lemmysports Buy / Sell / Trade 2 09-04-2009 05:34 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.